Lance Franklin

Pick 5, courtesy of Richmond and Bulldogs preferring dime a dozen skinny midfielders.

Could you give us a run down of tonights match mate? What did Franklin do that impressed you and who else played well for the hawks? I hear Crawf played alright which is encouraging.

Yeah I'll second that. Looked a player. Tall, athletic, good leap, good pace, ground skills also good. Tidy package.

Got a couple of big tall ruckmen down Glenferrie too. Can't remember their names now, but fair size.

Port by around 36 as I recall. 15.16 to 10.10, something like that. The last 1/4 was less than memorable.

He is awesome - I have read that he is a bit of a loose cannon, but I tell u what huge call but if he gets his head right and realises his potential - Id say he is mor epowerful verion of Riewolt in the making... Nowhere near him yet, but he out sprinted S burg at one stage - Out muscled primus and can kik beautifully on both sides..

Hel be a gem

Yeah very impressive. Wouldnt be too out of line by saying he has the potential to be the no.1 key forward in the game later on down the track.

The part that impressed me about him the most was his pace. Hes bloody quick. Not many players can outrun Matty Bishop yet Lance stretched Bish all night. Pretty good skills. Good mark. Great size and you can tell he can fill out and be pretty big if he wants to be. Definately Riewoldt-esque in movement and agility.

I reckon youve got yourselves a true gun in the making here. If he can maintain the majority of that pace whilst putting on some muscle in his arms then he could become an extremely powerful player.

Arsene Wenger said:
spot on macca

but hes already huge -

anyone know his weight - Itd be high 90s id say ??

Is he of maori descent?

From memory, hes 196cm (still growing) and around 88kg's
He is of Aboriginal heritage

So many good reports on Franklin, its fantastic! Not often we get hyped up about a youngster......
Thurgood was apparently also good, and Miller looks to be coming along, which is very encouraging....

Franklin would be my tip for rising star this year. It was probably the best first year performance by a key position player I have seen, against quality opposition. Crawford played pretty well in the second half. Lewis looked alright. Big body and nice kick. Reminded me a lot of Josh Carr. Don't know his name but there was a skinny bloke, with a stupid hair cut who played quite well for you as well.

PowerKop said:
Franklin would be my tip for rising star this year. It was probably the best first year performance by a key position player I have seen, against quality opposition. Crawford played pretty well in the second half. Lewis looked alright. Big body and nice kick. Reminded me a lot of Josh Carr. Don't know his name but there was a skinny bloke, with a stupid hair cut who played quite well for you as well.

Cheers for that, and i think you would be refferring to Thurgood....

Went to the game last night and as others have said Franklin was impressive coming on the lead out of the goalsquare, ended up kicking two, one from a mark and one after getting the advantage after Williams got a free kick, although he still had some work to do to kick the goal. Also had a mark from about 40 out straight infront where he could have had a shot but gave it off to Miller for to kick one of his three last quarter. As others have said his movement for such a big guy is the really impressive thing. Could probably play seniors for a lot of the year but I wouldn't have playing as the main target up forward, needs to be eased into it and not getting belted around week in week out as the number one target.
Not sure what his right side is like he didn't really have to use it last night, but as he plays more games opposition teams will become more weary of his left-sideness. Having said that he could be more than adequate on his right side he never had to use it last night. Plays to his strengths - every stoppage he'd run through so that if he got the ball he'd be on his left side.

Some of the other players

Thurgood - Like the way this kid goes about it, not just because he got a bit of the ball of half-back, but he shows great body language on the field. Looks like he's excited to be out on the ground, demands the ball when he's in space and plays with plenty of passion.

Lewis - Made a couple of mistakes when he came on in the second quarter such as going to ground to easily and taking his eyes off the ball at one stage. But got involved in the last quarter, good second effort after stuffed up a kick, didn't drop his head chased and got involved in the next contest.

Bateman - After starting on the bench managed to do the hard work and get the ball but would then make some basic skill errors such as fumbling the ball and missing some targets. Also one ridiculous attempted checkside pass, rather hard to describe, we'll just say Richo would've been proud of it. He did kick a nice left-foot goal in the last quarter under a fair bit of pressure.

Smith - Played all over the place wing, HB and in the middle. Found plenty of the ball and tried to run and create in typical Smith style didn't always find targets. To be fair though throughout the night there weren't many options to kick to when going through half-forward.

Williams - After kicking 7 last week was hardly sighted I can remember him taking one mark for the match, had Walsh playing on him for most of the night.

Jacobs - Had a shocker. Thurstans kicked four on him in the first half.

Miller - Was on for about ten minutes in the second quarter before he got dragged, he wasn't real happy when he got taken off at the time I thought he might have had a slight niggle. Looked alright when he came back in the last quarter and kicked three goals.

Nightwolf_69 said:
Cheers for that, and i think you would be refferring to Thurgood....

Yeah he looked alright too (in a footy sense ;) ). Good dash from defence.

Choota said:
Pick 5, courtesy of Richmond and Bulldogs preferring dime a dozen skinny midfielders.

Could you give us a run down of tonights match mate? What did Franklin do that impressed you and who else played well for the hawks? I hear Crawf played alright which is encouraging.
Were very happy with tambling thank you very much.

Nbrown7 said:
Were very happy with tambling thank you very much.
No need to thank me.

Dime-a-dozen skinny flanker versus bottom age 196cm athletic freak who is being objectively compared to Riewoldt by Port fans. I know which one i'd rather build a side around. Perhaps you should stop frequenting the Hawthorn board if you're so happy with your selections.

I reckon Joshy Thurgood is going to be a damn fine player in time also.

Choota said:
No need to thank me.

Dime-a-dozen skinny flanker versus bottom age 196cm athletic freak who is being objectively compared to Riewoldt by Port fans. I know which one i'd rather build a side around. Perhaps you should stop frequenting the Hawthorn board if you're so happy with your selections.
Well said.

I know this has nothing to do with Franklin but did Hodgey play against Port?
I've heard and read nothing so he either didn't play or he had a forgettable night (soon to be called "had a Jacobs" ;)).
Can anyone enlighten me?

binxy24 said:
I know this has nothing to do with Franklin but did Hodgey play against Port?
I've heard and read nothing so he either didn't play or he had a forgettable night (soon to be called "had a Jacobs" ;)).
Can anyone enlighten me?

Was 2nd best for Hawks in the write up of the game. I didn't really notice him much, but it was a trial game and I was focusing on Port players. Knew he was out there tho.

Well done Hawks. Looks like you've picked up a player there.

Admire the way you've drafted for the long term. Essendon drafted around Lloyd and Lucas and I reckon Hawthorn are going down the same path.

You'll end up having the last laugh on those Richmond fans when looking back on the 04 draft.

Lance Franklin

Write your reply...