Player Watch #21: Callum Coleman-Jones - out for season after suffering Achilles rupture vs CFC on GoodFriday - go well CCJ

He's kicked 1 goal in 4 matches. Averages 8 disposals and 11 hitouts. It's nothing to write home about. Especially when he's playing alongside McKay and Curnow so he's getting a third tall playing on him.

If CCJ was pulling those numbers this board would be calling him useless and wanting Rawlings' head...oh, some are already doing that :drunk:
I didn’t realise the numbers were that low , I’ve seen a few games and he looked ok.

That's how it goes mate. Most players look better when the team is going well.

A complex trade made by a Bozo that Nonna Francesca could run rings around. There was no need for us to cough up pick 40 and get pick 42 back. Bottom Line. :stern look
But it was also meaningless. Because between pick 40 and pick 42 was a pick belonging to Collingwood or Footscray that was going to disappear as they matched early bids for Daicos or Darcy. It essentially doesn't matter that we swapped 40 for 42, or 41 as it became and in the end the difference between those picks was nothing anyway. When we had pick 42 and 47, before any draft night trading was happening they effectively became picks 39 and 40 or 38 and 39 or something and the two before our earliest pick disappeared into the Daicos match or a trade or something.

It was a pretty weird draft tho because of the Daicos and Darcy picks. There was alot of trading to cover their points. Seriously that particular thing didn't matter, I'm more worried about other aspects of the deal. well not worried but puzzled. Like why trade Taz? Just let him go and do the CCJ deal separately. They can sort their own Chol compo bullshit out. I also wonder about the narrative of us having Richmond over a barrell. WE needed a ruck and there was the possibility Goldy and X would be gone during the trade period. i think we were the ones who were desperate to get a ruckman in and that's why we gave up what seemed like alot.

So I am wondering myself whether the CCJ trade was worth it but at the same time can't separate it from the Bergman and Curtis picks and they were both excellent in the VFL on the weekend.

If we finish last this season. which in all likelihood we will, our 3rd rounder this year will be pick 37. Prior to bidding and that. When you take that into account is Rawling the mastermind you think he is? :stern look
If Curtis kicks 20 goals in the AFL this season he is.

Every year Rawling has done some trading bullshit that has resulted in better picks than we'd otherwise have had access to. Don't see why that would change this year seeing as its happened regularly here and its one of the things people said he did well at the Eagles. Last year we got pick one and three second round picks at a crucial point in the rebuild.

Snoz has only ****ed up one trade (don't say Brown, he's kicked 30 goals since we traded him, that's less than half a season's output when he was playing well with us. Even his three goals in the GF weren't match winners, more nice bonuses. He was interchangable with Weideman.) If its even a **** up, its really too early to say. We might have a very different attitude after CCJ kicks 3 goals in the 2025 Premiership side. He's not some genius, he's just very competent. If you don't think our recruitment is shitloads better since we got rid of your good mate Joyce and Snoz came over (ie nearly every draft pick has something to get excited about and even speculative trades have some useful attributes,) then I dunno what to say to you ... other than gobble gobble gobble.

But it was also meaningless. Because between pick 40 and pick 42 was a pick belonging to Collingwood or Footscray that was going to disappear as they matched early bids for Daicos or Darcy. It essentially doesn't matter that we swapped 40 for 42, or 41 as it became and in the end the difference between those picks was nothing anyway. When we had pick 42 and 47, before any draft night trading was happening they effectively became picks 39 and 40 or 38 and 39 or something and the two before our earliest pick disappeared into the Daicos match or a trade or something.

It was a pretty weird draft tho because of the Daicos and Darcy picks. There was alot of trading to cover their points. Seriously that particular thing didn't matter, I'm more worried about other aspects of the deal. well not worried but puzzled. Like why trade Taz? Just let him go and do the CCJ deal separately. They can sort their own Chol compo bullshit out. I also wonder about the narrative of us having Richmond over a barrell. WE needed a ruck and there was the possibility Goldy and X would be gone during the trade period. i think we were the ones who were desperate to get a ruckman in and that's why we gave up what seemed like alot.

So I am wondering myself whether the CCJ trade was worth it but at the same time can't separate it from the Bergman and Curtis picks and they were both excellent in the VFL on the weekend.
No, it was not meaningless that picks 40 and 42 were swapped around as it highlights Rawling's inability to haggle. It was the most laughable part of the trade. Why swap those picks? The only benefit in doing so was to assist Richmond. Not us. As you mention we also did Richmond a favour by including Taz into that trade as well. I'm sorry but Nonna Francesca is still shaking her head at this deal. :stern look

As for us needing a ruck? Please Ferbs. X always had one year left on his deal and it was only when CCJ came to the club that he wanted out. Plus big Tommy C could've been retained. Eventhough a battler he was a back up on our list as a ruck. Plus Goldy was always staying at Hardon St. Sorry brother we had Richmondson over a barrel and Nozs did not capitalise. Bottom Line. :stern look

If Curtis kicks 20 goals in the AFL this season he is.

Every year Rawling has done some trading bullshit that has resulted in better picks than we'd otherwise have had access to. Don't see why that would change this year seeing as its happened regularly here and its one of the things people said he did well at the Eagles. Last year we got pick one and three second round picks at a crucial point in the rebuild.

Snoz has only f’ed up one trade (don't say Brown, he's kicked 30 goals since we traded him, that's less than half a season's output when he was playing well with us. Even his three goals in the GF weren't match winners, more nice bonuses. He was interchangable with Weideman.) If its even a fu** up, its really too early to say. We might have a very different attitude after CCJ kicks 3 goals in the 2025 Premiership side. He's not some genius, he's just very competent. If you don't think our recruitment is shitloads better since we got rid of your good mate Joyce and Snoz came over (ie nearly every draft pick has something to get excited about and even speculative trades have some useful attributes,) then I dunno what to say to you ... other than gobble gobble gobble.
Even is CCJ plays some good football for us we paid overs. With the Hand we had we paid overs. :stern look

Sure Curtis and Bergman show something but so did Wood, Black etc etc. And yeah that pick 47 we got back helped in a small way to allow us to maneuver up in the draft order. Wow what an Ironsten. Like that's never been done before. But what is clear that Rawling paid overs in the CCJ trade. :stern look

Let's go a little deeper here and look at the value of Ruckmen in general. Only in the Premiership just won did a team possess 2 quality rucks. Most Premiership Teams win the Grand Final with blonks. No need for me to list them all. Have a look for yourself. :stern look

Goldy has never led us to the promised land eventhough being a quality ruck. How abouts Nic Nat? Grundy? That 269cm Giant that used to play for Freo? Are Rucks that important? You don't go paying what we paid for a Ruckman. Nonna Francesca agrees. :stern look

No, it was not meaningless that picks 40 and 42 were swapped around as it highlights Rawling's inability to haggle. It was the most laughable part of the trade. Why swap those picks? The only benefit in doing so was to assist Richmond. Not us. As you mention we also did Richmond a favour by including Taz into that trade as well. I'm sorry but Nonna Francesca is still shaking her head at this deal. :stern look

As for us needing a ruck? Please Ferbs. X always had one year left on his deal and it was only when CCJ came to the club that he wanted out. Plus big Tommy C could've been retained. Eventhough a battler he was a back up on our list as a ruck. Plus Goldy was always staying at Hardon St. Sorry brother we had Richmondson over a barrel and Nozs did not capitalise. Bottom Line. :stern look
Yes mate. It shows his inability to haggle or his inability to care about and get hung up on meaningless details that make no difference to the overall outcome. You pick which.

I think I've made it quite clear which it is. :stern look

Of course we needed a ruckman. We had an inanimate object in Campbell, Goldy on his last legs and last season X was the worst player in the competition. You can debate the value of CCJ, but we needed a ruckman. And X is postponing talks til later in the year, never bodes well for player retention. So Goldy retires and X leaves, we will have CCJ as the only ruckman on the list.

3 true but he looks a long way off senior footy. Not sure about a key back, big boy
Yeah I’d agree about being a fair way back, he still is a hide behind the goal post type of guy.

But say he gets bigger and develops we have a potential issue. And considering our kpd needs I was trying to shoehorn a solution.

And this big boy stuff ? Where’d that come from ? 😄

ኃጢአተኛ ነፍስህ ከመዳን በላይ ናት እናም ሰላምን ወይም ሥቃይን አታውቅም ፣ የንስሐ ቅዝቃዜ ብቻ አብቅቷል ፣ ምክንያቱም ኃጢአቶችህ ከማንኛውም ተልእኮ የላቀ ስለሆነ ፣ መጨረሻው ቀርቧል ፣ የኃጢአት መር
1650354677327.png

Jacob looks like a natural forward to me, with ruck as a second string - hardly surprising, but Martin put him on his behind a couple of times on Friday
I’d expect that. Jacob is about the same weight as Martins arm

Yeah I’d agree about being a fair way back, he still is a hide behind the goal post type of guy.

But say he gets bigger and develops we have a potential issue. And considering our kpd needs I was trying to shoehorn a solution.

And this big boy stuff ? Where’d that come from ? 😄
Just very tall and not much of him, so as a kpd he would manhandled fairly easily. Needs about 20kg on him, basically a big gym season and feast on Tim English's head

Of course we needed a ruckman. We had an inanimate object in Campbell, Goldy on his last legs and last season X was the worst player in the competition. You can debate the value of CCJ, but we needed a ruckman. And X is postponing talks til later in the year, never bodes well for player retention. So Goldy retires and X leaves, we will have CCJ as the only ruckman on the list.
"Last Season X was the worst player in the Comp"? Turn it up Hams! :stern look

And you know why X wanted to leave? Because we landed CCJ. So yah can't give me the "X is thinking of leaving" argument as this is a direct result of CCJ now being at the club. :stern look

"Last Season X was the worst player in the Comp"? Turn it up Hams! :stern look

And you know why X wanted to leave? Because we landed CCJ. So yah can't give me the "X is thinking of leaving" argument as this is a direct result of CCJ now being at the club. :stern look
I reckon by almost every statistical measure he was the worst in the comp. At the very least the worst in the wooden spoon side. CCJ was a contingency for said player being an absolute lump last year. And if you don't think he was a lump last year you are being disingenuous to suit your argument. He was horrible last year, absolutely horrible. And I was happy we went and recruited another ruckman. Xs development has been a real win this year, now we will have some depth in the ruck position. Fancy having depth in a spot zondor

Sorry Hams but the above highlights how much of a poor football judge you are. X wasn’t horrendous. Sure he didn’t set the world on fire either but he was showing signs. At VFL level he showed some great signs. As my old mate Zebs once said “Big Men Take Time”. I always felt X would improve. That you didn’t just illustrates that we should all take your views with a grain of salt. :stern look

Haha have a spell zondor you big infant, they recruited a ruckman to offset a retiring and another unproven one. Fairly obvious strategy to anyone with half a brain

Here we go. I had no idea that Goldy had announced his retirement. Is that you Scotts? Dial in the bullshit. Start making shit up. Like I said, your opinion on this forum should be taken with a grain of salt. :stern look

Player Watch #21: Callum Coleman-Jones - out for season after suffering Achilles rupture vs CFC on GoodFriday - go well CCJ