Review Elimination Final, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond

Who were your five best players against Richmond?

My only comment on seeing grown men with lots of footy experience rail against this decision on TV or twitter when anyone with two eyes or even one can plainly see it was a point is that they are applause junkies looking to create a media storm to draw attention to themselves.

Some of the commentary on this is just nuts. They look at this vision and say it's inconclusive. It's only inconclusive if you're deluded.

The bloke who kicked it was by definition right behind it. He was, to say the least, doubtful. So were his teammates. End of.

The commentators , media and fans like to run with the below sort of comment on score reviews
"can't overturn UMPIRES CALL unless you are absulatly sure" that taken from BT Thursday evening
Or variations to that affect. We hear this every week in just about every game

The chart also referres to "provisional call" which just means it can be changed in the future.

The ARC procedure is really not quite like that. See below chart which is only for on field officals.
The field umpire procedure has a different chart procedure

Sometimes we see replay after replay and a decision from the ARC guy takes a little time to decide
The guy doing the ARC decisions was fairly quick to call this a point Thursday evening

Maybe in future the Goal umpires should have a third option not just 2. Maybe they do but i just have nor heard that 3rd one yet

1:- I think it is a goal, but want to check on .............?
2:- I think it was a behind, but want to check on ......?

3:- I just don't know because..................................? I was knocked over, Ball into lights, Ball to high to judge etc.

The point is the ARC guy thought it was conclusive (as in a point)

1662187256610-png.1498354

before he cried like a baby.. I bet a few of the tiger players would of watched the ball and had a good angle and knew.
He could of asked his own players.. Although great to have a excuse for not tagging Neale or 5 players in a goal square who watched Joe kick a goal.
The we where robbed not we stuffed up

Also the we where robbed crap.
was still 2 mins to go. If it was a goal. We could of still kicked 2 in a row and won it.
Not like it was the last kick of the game.

Then the free kick count for the last half was Tigers 11 v Lions 6.
Pretty sure watching it again our last free was Harris getting grabbed by Lynch around 12-13 mins to go.
Tigers got the last few frees and we did not get any. Even when Bolton dropped it stone cold from a Neale tackle.

as a part of the new tv deal, the AFL should stipulate ALL commentators take a 3 week course on knowing the rules. The lack of knowledge for some of the more technical rules etc by the commentators just leads to the uninformed public.

sure they gotta make it exciting.. but to quote one such commentator... gee wizz.

So who lost their jobs (apart from the five useless defenders if their contracts are up)?

I presume Tom will apologise to them for making such a bad kicking choice and execution ...
the office lady dimma was eyeing up as the next mrs hardwick was an unfortunate casualty of tom's behind

The commentators , media and fans like to run with the below sort of comment on score reviews
"can't overturn UMPIRES CALL unless you are absulatly sure" that taken from BT Thursday evening
Or variations to that affect. We hear this every week in just about every game

The chart also referres to "provisional call" which just means it can be changed in the future.

The ARC procedure is really not quite like that. See below chart which is only for on field officals.
The field umpire procedure has a different chart procedure

Sometimes we see replay after replay and a decision from the ARC guy takes a little time to decide
The guy doing the ARC decisions was fairly quick to call this a point Thursday evening

Maybe in future the Goal umpires should have a third option not just 2. Maybe they do but i just have nor heard that 3rd one yet

1:- I think it is a goal, but want to check on .............?
2:- I think it was a behind, but want to check on ......?

3:- I just don't know because..................................? I was knocked over, Ball into lights, Ball to high to judge etc.

The point is the ARC guy thought it was conclusive (as in a point)

1662187256610-png.1498354
Correct.

The goal ump was completely out of position n Thursday and under pressure to save himself the embarrassment of saying 'I don't know' with the Richmond cheer squad behind him said he thought it was a goal. He wasn't at all convinced and should've had a 3rd option.

Correct.

The goal ump was completely out of position n Thursday and under pressure to save himself the embarrassment of saying 'I don't know' with the Richmond cheer squad behind him said he thought it was a goal. He wasn't at all convinced and should've had a 3rd option.

Even if he was in the correct position its the hardest call a goal ump has to judge. Ball is moving quickly and turning a you're looking up at it against a pole.

* Dimma is a sook. Riewoldt was on 360 tonight bringing it up again. I've never seen a club cry so publicly about a correct decision which didn't go their way. Who got fired because of this wtf?

The best part is this Photoshopped quote is basically verbatim outside of 'Tom Lynch miss '. It's embarrassing.

We have been dudded with calls which have actually cost us the game late in finals in the past few years (eg the GWS game), but you don't see the Lions carrying on. The club moved on and whatever they queried they did so quietly behind closed doors.

I said this elsewhere earlier in the week. Dimma is the most transparent guy in the AFL. Tries to position himself as jovial and laid back but is the most tightly wound sook going around. He's a Kmart version of Chris Scott.

But at the end of the day, so long as it doesn't bleed into our preparation, it is hilarious from the perspective that all this does is cause the Richmond supporters to go full tin foil hat conspiracy theory. The thread on the decision on their board is genuine comedy gold.

We have been dudded with calls which have actually cost us the game late in finals in the past few years (eg the GWS game), but you don't see the Lions carrying on. The club moved on and whatever they queried they did so quietly behind closed doors.

I said this elsewhere earlier in the week. Dimma is the most transparent guy in the AFL. Tries to position himself as jovial and laid back but is the most tightly wound sook going around. He's a Kmart version of Chris Scott.

The high school bully who wants to be seen as cool. Absolute tosser. Riewoldt is much the same.

Seeing they're still carrying on a few days later maybe the AFL needs to make a definitive statement outlining why it was called a point on the technical and visual aspects.

It shouldn't be necessary because everyone who looked at it front up or on replay knew it was a point. Players included.

Coaches are fined if they say a word against umpiring decisions. Hardwick needs to be called out on this. It's disrespectful to our club, the process and basically just outright sooking unbefitting of a 5th grader , let alone an AFL coach who milks the game for a lot of money.

Just made myself a big bowl of popcorn and moseyed on over to the Richmond board. 22 pages about this - quite entertaining actually.

I liked this thinking - the AFL have it against them from 2020 and they knew Richmond would win the gf after beating us. From 7th place. So the AFL made sure we win the game.

If that's the case the AFL need to up their game fixing. Leaving it to the last three minutes, and wasting their influence on a decision that still left Richmond in front was weak. We could have still lost!!

Instead we had to rely on their six defenders handing us the game.

Bloody AFL. Can't do anything right.

I couldn't believe the commentators didn't question the goal ump at the time.

He had no hope of knowing from where he was. And under immense pressure.
I'm not given who the commentators were.

Having done the odd goal umpiring duties albeit for junior footy, its bloody hard when the ball is coming in high close to or above the post and you are moving backwards. The goal umpire guessed in my view and the fact he said it was a goal is an issue in itself. He was unsure, that's what he should have said instead of making one call either way because its really unfair that if it isn't conclusive that it then comes back to the umpires call that guessed in the first place.

Hardwick and Reiwoldt both know it was a point unless they're completely stupid. A possibility I know.

To put on this prima donna act after all the success they've had is one of the most ungracious and if I might say so demeaning things I've seen anyone do to themselves in footy .

They're really shown their true colours.

I couldn't believe the commentators didn't question the goal ump at the time.

He had no hope of knowing from where he was. And under immense pressure.

Goal umpire made a complete guess and got it wrong.

However,the obvious question emanating out of all of this is:-

Why is the Goal Umpire under any obligation to express an opinion on whether it's a goal or a behind or OOB on the full or touched or whatever?

If he/she has NFI, why can't he/she just say so and ask for the ARC to make a ruling?
If this had happened last Thursday night, surely this would have saved all the wailing and gnashing of teeth about the "process" that has gone on and on and on and on and on and on and...............

It goes without saying that everyone would be a lot happier if the technology could be relied on with a great deal more certainty than what is the case at the present time.

Grainy and blurry images, camera stills that are too far apart from one frame to another.....etc ....etc.....

The AFL has just negotiated a monster $B 4.50 (that's with a B) through to 2031.

So come on AFL .....get real and invest in some truly state of the art technology instead of this Amateur Hour horseshit that leaves everyone disillusioned and invites conspiracy theory nonsense to boot

Goal umpire made a complete guess and got it wrong.

However,the obvious question emanating out of all of this is:-

Why is the Goal Umpire under any obligation to express an opinion on whether it's a goal or a behind or OOB on the full or touched or whatever?

If he/she has NFI, why can't he/she just say so and ask for the ARC to make a ruling?
If this had happened last Thursday night, surely this would have saved all the wailing and gnashing of teeth about the "process" that has gone on and on and on and on and on and on and...............

It goes without saying that everyone would be a lot happier if the technology could be relied on with a great deal more certainty than what is the case at the present time.

Grainy and blurry images, camera stills that are too far apart from one frame to another.....etc ....etc.....

The AFL has just negotiated a monster $B 4.50 (that's with a B) through to 2031.

So come on AFL .....get real and invest in some truly state of the art technology instead of this Amateur Hour horseshit that leaves everyone disillusioned and invites conspiracy theory nonsense to boot
Before we started down the tech. route the amount of times the goal umps. got it wrong would astound people.

In the days when you provided your own goal umps in the Amateurs and quite high grade comps. if you were kicking to your own goal ump . the key was to just kick it high.

I used to get down one end behind the goal quite often back in the day in the VFL and seriously the goal umps would make some horrendous blues.

Since the AFL became 'professional ' the focus has been on the theatrics of the goal ump. Why on earth they have to get right on the goal line as a pack's forming and frankly get in the way peering as if they can see it better beggars belief.

The other ones they used to miss all the time was anything touched. Now with 3 field umps you'd think that might've improved but with so much noise and the pace of the game it's just easier to let it go often enough.

Hardwick and Reiwoldt both know it was a point unless they're completely stupid. A possibility I know.

To put on this prima donna act after all the success they've had is one of the most ungracious and if I might say so demeaning things I've seen anyone do to themselves in footy .

They're really shown their true colours.

If the ARC had said it was "Umpire's call", we( Lions supporters) would have all been pissed off

If the ARC calls it a point, as they did, Richmond supporters end up being pised off

Better for them to be pissed off:cool:

History will judge our victory as fraud because of the media narrative the last few days. Sad.

don't agree. Not saying it happened here but bad calls that cost games happen all the time, the extended narrative accepts that and moves on.

what's keeping it alive ATM is a senior coach frothing at the mouth. In the era of professionalism in sport it's like a car crash. Ugly, and mesmerising and no-one can look away.

Really it's only dimma and the Scott boys that haven't moved on. Love that it's a fight between two of those ATM. Would love the transcript of their conversations. Popcorn worthy I reckon.

Review Elimination Final, 2022 - Brisbane Lions vs. Richmond