Player Watch #11: Luke "Two Dogs" McDonald (Part II) - Roo til end '26 - 2023/24 co captain w/ Jy

For all the words written about Luke here(and I’ve contributed a few) maybe it’s time to simply regard him as an object lesson of a talented junior thinking(or being told) he’s already got the tools to succeed in the AFL when in reality his coaches(or himself) should have identified his weaknesses, namely his kicking, and gone about addressing them as soon as possible. Luke’s wind up slow to boot left foot and his still virtually non-existent right foot were always going to find him out at the top level. I can’t believe that he hasn’t dedicated any of his off seasons to developing a reliable right leg or a neater left foot. This is what mostly irritates me about him. A failure to recognise and work on his weaknesses. Less said about someone with this approach being captain the better.
I would venture his other issues we see like panicky disposal under pressure and poor decision making would be much less obvious if he could confidently turn on either leg.
Problem is it’s a bit too late for him to reinvent himself. So where to from here? I dunno.

The sample size for LMac's incompetence is not one game - its not 10 games - it's 8 out of 10 years.

Enough is enough - like other blokes he gets a game because we are s**t - nothing more nothing less.

Until we move him on - and others like JZ, CCJ, Spicer - we will always be s**t - or at best average.
Well said sbg. While the current barrage of criticism is being labelled a 'pile on', for me, I find it staggering that McDonalds hasn't received more, regular criticism over the journey. I'm glad to see that situation being rectified now.

Does it mean he can't or doesn't manage a decent shutdown every now and then, or manage a decent kick every now and then, or take a courageous mark every so often? Of course not, but imho it doesn't compensate for his significant weaknesses that I'm glad to see this 'pile on' highlight. What he does with ball in hand is horrendous and, when he should be setting up counter attacks, it's often a repeat I50. He's a liability.

In a perverse way I'd love to see a 'lowlights' package for McDonalds... it would be like a car crash that you can't not look at. Barging fruitlessly into tackles, getting up with the stupid grin, kicking high, loopy kicks to outnumbered contested marking situations, smothered kicks, being tackled because he predictably tried to get onto his left, etc. It would be a mixture of tragedy, dark comedy and farce.

Problem is it’s a bit too late for him to reinvent himself. So where to from here? I dunno.
Strip the co-captaincy from him. Then, if his contract is too much to pay out, play him as we've played Young and Dawson this year.

In a perverse way I'd love to see a 'lowlights' package for McDonalds... it would be like a car crash that you can't not look at. Barging fruitlessly into tackles, getting up with the stupid grin, kicking high, loopy kicks to outnumbered contested marking situations, smothered kicks, being tackled because he predictably tried to get onto his left, etc.

And how can we forget those amazing handballs that hit a team mate who’s being sat on by two or three opponents…

Right, couple of weeks a go some dicks tried to give me shit cause I watch on TV (although same dicks then analysed the Tassie game they watched on tv). And many a time I really do think I'm watching a different game to some of you. Eg, Apparently when you're at the ground you see Goldy take twice as many marks as he actually did, or if you're sitting on level 1 you think Corr, Sheezal, Bergman and Logue are all Luke McDonald.

So, since work is a wee bit slow I watched the replay and noted every time Lmac was involved. Here's the list.

Very first bounce Logue was on CW and if you watch the replay you can see Lmac playing front position and when West and CW change leading lanes Logue gets Lmac to go with CW while he stays back on West.

Out let mark in the pocket. Hits up TT with 40mtr kick. TT then turns it over.

Quick kick under pressure from pocket to a contest. Ball brought to ground and we end up with inside 50 (which results with a Stevo handball turnover)

After our second goal, Logue lined lined up on CW for the center bounce.

Hand ball from Sheils is to far in front of LMac and he fumbles.

Chase out of F50 that causes turnover. He gets the hand ball receive and instead of handballing on his right he trys a dinky right foot kick that goes nowhere.

Stevo shit kick results in turnover just outside our D50. Quick entry and LMac tracks back to put enough pressure on CW so he misses the shot.

LMac tackle after stoppage and wins HTB, he switches play with a good kick to Corr. Ball ends up being switched back but Logues kick causes a turnover and quick entry for CW second point.

Intercept mark. Kicks back to Logue.

Another Stevo turnover results in another I50 for Dogs, Lmac and Logue fail to spoil JUH.

Tackles Bont on wing but Bont gets handball away.

Dermie mentions Logue is matching up on CW.

2nd qtr

Outlet mark in pocket. Hits up JZ on the 45.

Gather in pack and quick 30 mtr kick to find touch and a throw in.

Wins a one on one and brings ball to ground for JZ to clear.

Quick hand ball in traffic to Jye who was under pressure. Turnover.

3rd qtr

Gathers contested ground ball on wing and takes it over the line for throw in.

Gathers contested ground ball while manning Bont deep in defence and creates ball up

Gathers tap from that ball up but tackled straight away for another ball up. Again while manning Bont.

Gets a hot hand ball after tap win but again tackled straight away. Again while manning Bont.

Goldy then wins the next clearance and we take it down the other end to score a goal. So three contests against Bont (the best player on the ground), 15 meters from their goal and he wins each one, allowing us to then score a goal.

Fails to track CW all the way back and then on the lead allowing CW mark and goal. (Again inside 50 came about because of Stevo turn over)

Spoils CW.

Out let mark on D50. Hits up short pass on 45.

Qtr 4

Sheezel lines up on CW for first bounce.

After CW first goal of this qtr Bergman lines up on CW for the bounce.

Pressures Bont and McRae at fall of ball to ensure shot on goal is a point.

Mark on 50 from JZ kick out. Kicks long down the line to pack. Marked by dogs.

Intercept Mark when deep in defense when playing on CW. Kicks sideways to Sheils who get 50 and we take it up the other end for a goal.

Simpkin misses a kick to Lmac in defense. Contested ball and Lmac gets handball receive and kicks long to Larkey who drops the mark. Turnover. Ball comes back in long and deep and LMac backs into pack to ensure no mark is taken.

Spoils CW and feeds out hand ball to Bmac. Scramble contest occurs, he gets handball receive and gives to TT and we clear D50.

Out marked by CW.

So, not that bad of a game. Started 2 goal scoring chains with his defense efforts. Didn't to too much great stuff but plenty of good stuff and not much shit stuff. But hey, we see what we want to see. I reckon LMac was off the ground for at least 3 of CW’s goals, if not 4.

I'm sure blackshadow will post some funny gift cause once again I've shown he has no clue, but anyone else want to have some robust conversation about Lmacs game I'm happy to listen. Show me where he really f'ed up and deserves to be dropped.

Right, couple of weeks a go some dicks tried to give me s**t cause I watch on TV (although same dicks then analysed the Tassie game they watched on tv). And many a time I really do think I'm watching a different game to some of you. Eg, Apparently when you're at the ground you see Goldy take twice as many marks as he actually did, or if you're sitting on level 1 you think Corr, Sheezal, Bergman and Logue are all Luke McDonald.

So, since work is a wee bit slow I watched the replay and noted every time Lmac was involved. Here's the list.

Very first bounce Logue was on CW and if you watch the replay you can see Lmac playing front position and when West and CW change leading lanes Logue gets Lmac to go with CW while he stays back on West.

Out let mark in the pocket. Hits up TT with 40mtr kick. TT then turns it over.

Quick kick under pressure from pocket to a contest. Ball brought to ground and we end up with inside 50 (which results with a Stevo handball turnover)

After our second goal, Logue lined lined up on CW for the center bounce.

Hand ball from Sheils is to far in front of LMac and he fumbles.

Chase out of F50 that causes turnover. He gets the hand ball receive and instead of handballing on his right he trys a dinky right foot kick that goes nowhere.

Stevo s**t kick results in turnover just outside our D50. Quick entry and LMac tracks back to put enough pressure on CW so he misses the shot.

LMac tackle after stoppage and wins HTB, he switches play with a good kick to Corr. Ball ends up being switched back but Logues kick causes a turnover and quick entry for CW second point.

Intercept mark. Kicks back to Logue.

Another Stevo turnover results in another I50 for Dogs, Lmac and Logue fail to spoil JUH.

Tackles Bont on wing but Bont gets handball away.

Dermie mentions Logue is matching up on CW.

2nd qtr

Outlet mark in pocket. Hits up JZ on the 45.

Gather in pack and quick 30 mtr kick to find touch and a throw in.

Wins a one on one and brings ball to ground for JZ to clear.

Quick hand ball in traffic to Jye who was under pressure. Turnover.

3rd qtr

Gathers contested ground ball on wing and takes it over the line for throw in.

Gathers contested ground ball while manning Bont deep in defence and creates ball up

Gathers tap from that ball up but tackled straight away for another ball up. Again while manning Bont.

Gets a hot hand ball after tap win but again tackled straight away. Again while manning Bont.

Goldy then wins the next clearance and we take it down the other end to score a goal. So three contests against Bont (the best player on the ground), 15 meters from their goal and he wins each one, allowing us to then score a goal.

Fails to track CW all the way back and then on the lead allowing CW mark and goal. (Again inside 50 came about because of Stevo turn over)

Spoils CW.

Out let mark on D50. Hits up short pass on 45.

Qtr 4

Sheezel lines up on CW for first bounce.

After CW first goal of this qtr Bergman lines up on CW for the bounce.

Pressures Bont and McRae at fall of ball to ensure shot on goal is a point.

Mark on 50 from JZ kick out. Kicks long down the line to pack. Marked by dogs.

Intercept Mark when deep in defense when playing on CW. Kicks sideways to Sheils who get 50 and we take it up the other end for a goal.

Simpkin misses a kick to Lmac in defense. Contested ball and Lmac gets handball receive and kicks long to Larkey who drops the mark. Turnover. Ball comes back in long and deep and LMac backs into pack to ensure no mark is taken.

Spoils CW and feeds out hand ball to Bmac. Scramble contest occurs, he gets handball receive and gives to TT and we clear D50.

Out marked by CW.

So, not that bad of a game. Started 2 goal scoring chains with his defense efforts. Didn't to too much great stuff but plenty of good stuff and not much s**t stuff. But hey, we see what we want to see. I reckon LMac was off the ground for at least 3 of CW’s goals, if not 4.

I'm sure blackshadow will post some funny gift cause once again I've shown he has no clue, but anyone else want to have some robust conversation about Lmacs game I'm happy to listen. Show me where he really f'ed up and deserves to be dropped.
One eye on Sleevo there too.

Dumb idea - Trial McDonald forward? Could be decent pressure wise and a decent shot for goal in theory. Might be a good refresher for him given he's played dour defensive roles for his career barring an occasional spell on the wing.

61j4nkGJieL._AC_UF894,1000_QL80_.jpg

Player Watch #11: Luke "Two Dogs" McDonald (Part II) - Roo til end '26 - 2023/24 co captain w/ Jy