Discussion The Voice and the St Kilda FC

So I'm gonna go ahead and lock this thread.

Referendum has revealed plenty about many. Eye opening stuff, won't forget it!

If anyone has any issues with it being locked feel free to PM me 👍

EDIT:

SRP thread on the Voice referendum:

Last edited by a moderator:
Love the lefties
If things don’t go their way let’s blame the right or it’s is the media’s fault lol every time

If you are thinking anything but a yes vote you must be hard core right

Even suggested on here if you vote no follow another club 😂

Was also suggested on here that there should be a minimum requirement to being deemed Indigenous.
How would one do that? Blood test, colour requirement? Or like the 1930s is it by birth certificate of yourself, your parents and grandparents?

There have been some shit arguments on this thread and it doesn't matter what side you might think people are on.

Screenshot_20231013_074530_Chrome.jpg

Was also suggested on here that there should be a minimum requirement to being deemed Indigenous.
How would one do that? Blood test, colour requirement? Or like the 1930s is it by birth certificate of yourself, your parents and grandparents?

There have been some s**t arguments on this thread and it doesn't matter what side you might think people are on.

View attachment 1829960
Not surprised given the poster 😂

One of the stupidest things I've ever read. Waste of money is correct though, knowing these clowns they'll blow the budget on garbage

Not surprised given the poster 😂

One of the stupidest things I've ever read. Waste of money is correct though, knowing these clowns they'll blow the budget on garbage

You're eating your own now.

Also I'd say I'm centrist, I think there's a few here far right and I think they're nuts (but not as nuts as you pigs xoxo)

I'll reprogram you if you're not careful. Three library readings with a drag queen will straighten you up.

Seriously though, I like to think I'm a slightly left leaning centrist too. I've said it before but most Aussies tend to be pretty centrist. No government that leans too far either way stays in for long.

I'll reprogram you if you're not careful. Three library readings with a drag queen will straighten you up.

Seriously though, I like to think I'm a slightly left leaning centrist too. I've said it before but most Aussies tend to be pretty centrist. No government that leans too far either way stays in for long.
I think I'm the same as you but I really don't like being controlled - either by being told what to do or how to think. I want the government out of my life and my business completely and that's ultimately my biggest problem with how the system operates. Too many people are also far too worried about what everyone else is doing.

Not saying you are like this, just saying how I am. I am completely OK with individuals making decisions for themselves and in their best interests too. In reality nobody gives a shit about anyone else but themselves and the people in their immediate circle so I don’t get offended or upset if someone I don't know goes about things differently.

Perhaps when I get older and beaten up around the ears a bit more from overbearing government I'll just give up but at the moment I can't see that changing anytime soon.

I think I'm the same as you but I really don't like being controlled - either by being told what to do or how to think. I want the government out of my life and my business completely and that's ultimately my biggest problem with how the system operates. Too many people are also far too worried about what everyone else is doing.

Not saying you are like this, just saying how I am. I am completely OK with individuals making decisions for themselves and in their best interests too. In reality nobody gives a s**t about anyone else but themselves and the people in their immediate circle so I don’t get offended or upset if someone I don't know goes about things differently.

Perhaps when I get older and beaten up around the ears a bit more from overbearing government I'll just give up but at the moment I can't see that changing anytime soon.
Strangely, as a much younger bloke I used to be more supportive of interventionist governments.
I now think many politicians of all persuasions are divisive & intruding into our businesses, schools and lives in an unprecedented manner. It is important to keep resisting, but few of us can avoid the overreach of the ATO.

Strangely, as a much younger bloke I used to be more supportive of interventionist governments.
I now think many politicians of all persuasions are divisive & intruding into our businesses, schools and lives in an unprecedented manner. It is important to keep resisting, but few of us can avoid the overreach of the ATO.
That's interesting mate. Perhaps it's just a sign of the times then, and the ones who don't see it that way might’ve already given up. If people in power wanted to help minorities they would've already done it by now, we live in a world these days where If we really wanted to make change it would be possible. Most of what happens though is politicians jostle for leverage for upcoming elections and in doing so, ordinary people suffer.

We don't live in a democracy anymore so I don't know why we're even voting. If the issues are serious enough and politicians can help, then help. **** they need to vote on it for.

Enough of this lmao.

We have seen literally in the last week what happens when a guerrilla government take over an area and abolish democracy.

I know it’s an exaggeration and you’re taking the piss but fmd 😹😹
You think we live in a democracy? 😂

Yeah man, it’s not perfect here by any stretch but we’re as close to being the lucky country as there is.
Nah mate we live in a guided democracy, that's not democracy at all unfortunately

That’s just late stage capitalism though. Either you’re “governed” by dictatorship or by the interests of lobbyists.

I don’t think that’s just limited to Australia, the more developed as a nation the more powerful lobby groups are.
Totally agree but doesn't take away from the fact that we don't have a choice although it's dressed up as such.

You think we live in a democracy? 😂

We do but democracy is pretty limited these days, you get to choose campaignery corporate lapdog or nice corporate lapdog. Democracy isn't the issue, it's the slow creep towards the interests of the few over the many that has been allowed to take ground. Politics in the western democracies have mostly been taken over by corporate interests.

That's why I disagree with your idea of having less government. Unravelling protections is why they have taken over. Systems were set up after hard fought battles to have public access to energy, transport, health and fair pay etc. Dickheads giving it away to corporations for profit are why we have a shittier society than we did 20 years ago with it harder for people to make a go of it.

Giving corporations free access without limitations isn't going to make it better. Free market economics is a terrible model and the Scandinavians have pretty much nailed the balance IMO. They get good royalties and give it back, pay decent tax but provide proper services etc. The US model is absolutely unfair and makes for a broken divided society. Even if you don't give a shit about anyone else, having a safe secure environment is a much better place for your people.

I don’t like appointing blame for anything democratic. We are (or should be) one country and anything democratic should be respected.

The voice not getting up isn’t Albo’s or the coalitions “fault”. We as a society deemed it wasn’t necessary.

But to reach the minimum parameters of 50% of votes in at least 50% of states is nearly impossible without bipartisan support.

Labour ran a pretty s**t campaign, I think most people on here will agree to that but even if it was like Obama’s yes we can campaign it wouldn’t have gotten up without bipartisan support. Right now the only state I have somewhat confidence that will vote Yes is Tasmania and ironically they have the libs as their government.

I sort of agree but it was bipartisan and devised under the coalition government and was going to be walked through until Dutton saw it as an opportunity to make it a real issue to base his governments personality around. If Morrison had stayed leader even it wouldn't have probably been an issue. The Uluru statement was written under Turnbull and had people like Amanda Vanstone contributing to how it was put together and a path forward from it.

It shouldn't be labor or liberal running it. It's an independently run campaign funded outside government, Albo and Dutton can have an opinion and chose a side but they shouldn't be the campaign.

The Voice committee thought this would just be taken to referendum with widespread support and until a few months before it started weren't preparing for fight.

It won't get up anyway so probably not worth worrying about now. It is what it is.

Shows how extremely low agency most of the population are. If you ever hear “I’ve voted “x” my whole life” you know you’re dealing with a smooth brained NPC.

Not many completely change their outlook either though. If you are progressive you aren't all of a sudden voting for Dutton because you like his policy on tax cuts or the opposite type votes for Albo because they like his musical taste. If your preferred party does something that you find abhorrent I hope most people would vote for an alternative though. Most of the true swing voters are people who aren't really politically engaged at all.

We haven’t had a great leader for along time now Liberal or Labour
Keating was our last decent strong leader imo been brainless clowns since

People follow their political party like their footy team no matter how good or bad they are
That used to be me for the most part.
Voted Labor virtually every election since Whitlam but after 2020 & 2021....Never again.
(Also no more The Age, Guardian or ABC for me).
On the other hand I doubt that I can EVER switch my allegiance from St Kilda. I have tried to switch this allegiance twice, in 1973 and in 2022 just before RTB returned.
It did not work. Red White and Black is embedded deeply into my DNA.
How sad is that?

We haven’t had a great leader for along time now Liberal or Labour
Keating was our last decent strong leader imo been brainless clowns since

Yeah, been a pretty depressing run since then. I reckon Turnbull could have been alright but they wanted him as the pretty face and not to run his own show. He was a pretty middle road type and I think if he'd been able to make decisions he might have united the country a bit. Maybe a bit toffy for the country folk though.

Keating was a real centrist, made huge calls that set up financial prosperity and still kept safety nets in place. Built up Medicare so it worked, set up superannuation, made huge tariff reductions and modernised and globalised our economy.

These days they all want to look good in their 4 years and don't have any vision. They sell out to special interests and ride it out util their pensions kick in. There are still good people in politics but with such division no-one wants to make big calls either.

Yeah, been a pretty depressing run since then. I reckon Turnbull could have been alright but they wanted him as the pretty face and not to run his own show. He was a pretty middle road type and I think if he'd been able to make decisions he might have united the country a bit. Maybe a bit toffy for the country folk though.

Keating was a real centrist, made huge calls that set up financial prosperity and still kept safety nets in place. Built up Medicare so it worked, set up superannuation, made huge tariff reductions and modernised and globalised our economy.

These days they all want to look good in their 4 years and don't have any vision. They sell out to special interests and ride it out util their pensions kick in. There are still good people in politics but with such division no-one wants to make big calls either.
I was listening to Arnold Schwarzenegger on Conan O'Brian Needs a Friend. His whole attitude during his time as governor he never saw the Democrats as an enemy. He knew if he wanted to get shit done he had to get both sides of politics over there working together.

That's the sort of leader needed these days.