Big Red Machine
Footsteps
**** yeah
Fu*k Yeah!!
Must have learnt that one from watching Dimma's press conferencesLife worked out pretty good for the last young kid to drop an F-Bomb during an interview.
“It would mean the absolute world to me to be honest,” Lombard said of the thought of pulling the Suns jumper he has worn since he was 12 years of age at AFL level.
“Gold Coast is my home and I want to do anything I can to stay here and be a part of their success and their journey, and hopefully a premiership in years to come.”
That winning feeling is certainly something he’s ready to get used to.
“I don’t like losing, I love to win and I’m going to do anything in my power to help the team win, I hate losing,” he said.
Lombard was presented to his Suns guernsey by great mate Jake Rogers on Wednesday night, a fellow academy product who Gold Coast selected with pick 14 in last year’s draft.
Lombard described the Broadbeach junior who registered eight games in his debut season as his “bigger brother”.
“We’ve been through so much together and he’s taught me so many things, especially with him being a year above me and experiencing rep teams he’s made, I’m just following in his footsteps pretty much,” Lombard said.
“I think he’s just taken me under his wing, I’ve just learnt a lot of things from him and what he does and how he plays.
“We’ve been training together since we were kids, like 11, just us two in pre-season training together.”
Lombard played 150 games with the Burleigh Bombers as a junior, as well as nine senior outings for Broadbeach this year. He also graduated from Varsity College this year, and as he gears up for his first pre-season as an AFL player his mates are partying in Bali to celebrate Schoolies.
He said he had spoken to his new coach Damien Hardwick “very briefly” in the lead-up to the draft.
“He congratulated me on the combine and the year as well, in the pre-season I asked him what I can improve on and he just gave me a few tips,” Lombard said.
“It’s in a very good position,” Lombard said of the Gold Coast.
“There’s so much talent within in the list, I reckon it’s going in a good direction to win a premiership and play finals for sure.
“I don’t mind where I play to be honest, if I was to choose I’d say a high forward role or even spit through the middle every now and then just to give that fire.”
Love seeing photos like this. We have such an amazing local talent conglomerates now.
Here's a few more. Leo was a Burleigh junior all the way from U9s to U16s when he was forced to switch to Broadbeach to compete in the higher level QAFL competitions.Love seeing photos like this. We have such an amazing local talent conglomerates now.
Here's a few more. Leo was a Burleigh junior all the way from U9s to U16s when he was forced to switch to Broadbeach to compete in the higher level QAFL competitions.
Leo was also a Varsity College student (along with best friend Jake Rogers) and he took part in their AFL ASPIRE excellence program.
Leo finished off his junior footy + played some senior QAFL footy for Broadbeach.
Leo has represented Queensland many times throughout his junior career.
Leo has represented the Allies for the past two seasons and after taking part in the victorious 2023 Allies' team with Walter, Read, Rogers & Graham, Leo was awarded the Larke Medal for the best player in the U18 National Championships this year, as well as a starting spot in the All-Australian team + the Allies' MVP award.
Leo also represented the U18 Australian Academy team against Corburg earlier this year and was named second best on in that game.
I think we've got an absolute star in the making here, ladies and gentlemen. Get around Leo!
He'll get suspended at some point interesting that he is currently $21, Rogers $41 and ethan read $101.Feel like he's a shoe in for rising star this year
Easiest $10 I've ever spentHe'll get suspended at some point interesting that he is currently $21, Rogers $41 and ethan read $101.
It's something we've lacked sorely in the past and still to some degree. I call it 'campaigner swagger' and every team needs a few obscenely talented guys like this. They lift everyone around them. Can't wait to see what he pans out to be, could be Super Saiyan Touk Miller.I love the see you next Tuesday in him