Training Pre-Season 2025 - The boys are back in town.

Find these guys really bizarre choices. One is a tiny 168cm player who is basically zero chance of making it. The only guys who can make it at that height are freak shows who demonstrate elite/standout traits at an early age. The other one is flagged as having poor athleticism (speed/agility) by rookieme, which is not the sort of player we need to add as a small forward.

Have no idea what Jaxon Artemis (the WA MVP from the carnival) has done wrong. Ticks the boxes for speed, kicking, rebound. There was talk that we needed a running half back, and we didn't draft one.
The Carnival highlights for Jaxon weren’t the best. Quite a few turnovers a clanger in the def 50 that would have led to a goal. A heap of the highlights included him kicking out after an opposition behind. He certainly has athletic traits and I haven’t seen enough of him but from what I’ve seen I can understand why he is was considered a rookie list spot sort of range. As it turned out there were bugger all actual rookie picks selected.

Yes Dudley is small and cuddly. Worth seeing how he goes first.

Also lowe’s draft bio about him not being athletic is based back to 2021/22 and from what I’ve seen he has pretty decent agility and speed. I think it is best to see what they have to offer first.

I was at the GF but later when I watched the replay, Leigh Matthews, I think it was remarked that umpires simply cannot pay 50 metre penalties Like that in a grand final.
Rosebury couldnt let us win mate

first time poster, long long long time lurker (yes, we are out here). I watched a bit of training this morning and took a few notes for anyone interested:
  • son son is not giving up his place in our inaugural premiership team without a fight. that man will be fighting tooth & nail and he will be bringing everyone else's standards up to fight him for it
  • anyone who thinks Darcy needs to lose weight has absolute rocks in their head. if he slims down anymore the guy will never win a ruck battle. looking very fit and was nice that he had a chat with some fans.
  • the way treacy and amiss lead with their hands out in front is truly every freo fans dream
  • I am already a huge fan of Walker and think he cops an unfair amount of shit from fans. But I am convinced he is going to go to another level altogether this year. WHY? Multiple times in training he has battled against Bolton, those two against each other are an exciting watch. Any doubts I had about whether Bolton would be hungry for more success have already been forgotten in just two training sessions. He is a professional with class (I'm sorry for even having a sliver of doubt)
  • Carr is still leading the TTHD award. Maybe the whole year off thing helped him decide footy was definitely something he wants to pursue because he does not look one bit out of place
  • There was some guy running around with a grey backwards cap (naturally that rules out Davies), tall & young. was running around like a headless chook had NFI where he was supposed to be during most drills. even with binos I couldn't tell who it was - i was certain it wasn't riddle (because he was training without a hat) but I'm at a loss for who it may have been otherwise. also had woeful disposal and dropped a sitter. I hope he's a quick learner.
  • I really hope that I'm wrong but even the way Narkle approached some of his rehab drills looked slack in effort
  • Chappy is looking HUGE
  • And lastly, it is amazing how Fyfe barely stands out anymore. he used to look absolutely massive amongst everyone else in the team and now he's barely noticeable amongst some of the big boys we have.

Heave ho!

first time poster, long long long time lurker (yes, we are out here). I watched a bit of training this morning and took a few notes for anyone interested:
  • son son is not giving up his place in our inaugural premiership team without a fight. that man will be fighting tooth & nail and he will be bringing everyone else's standards up to fight him for it
  • anyone who thinks Darcy needs to lose weight has absolute rocks in their head. if he slims down anymore the guy will never win a ruck battle. looking very fit and was nice that he had a chat with some fans.
  • the way treacy and amiss lead with their hands out in front is truly every freo fans dream
  • I am already a huge fan of Walker and think he cops an unfair amount of shit from fans. But I am convinced he is going to go to another level altogether this year. WHY? Multiple times in training he has battled against Bolton, those two against each other are an exciting watch. Any doubts I had about whether Bolton would be hungry for more success have already been forgotten in just two training sessions. He is a professional with class (I'm sorry for even having a sliver of doubt)
  • Carr is still leading the TTHD award. Maybe the whole year off thing helped him decide footy was definitely something he wants to pursue because he does not look one bit out of place
  • There was some guy running around with a grey backwards cap (naturally that rules out Davies), tall & young. was running around like a headless chook had NFI where he was supposed to be during most drills. even with binos I couldn't tell who it was - i was certain it wasn't riddle (because he was training without a hat) but I'm at a loss for who it may have been otherwise. also had woeful disposal and dropped a sitter. I hope he's a quick learner.
  • I really hope that I'm wrong but even the way Narkle approached some of his rehab drills looked slack in effort
  • Chappy is looking HUGE
  • And lastly, it is amazing how Fyfe barely stands out anymore. he used to look absolutely massive amongst everyone else in the team and now he's barely noticeable amongst some of the big boys we have.

Heave ho!
Lurk less...great post!

[*]There was some guy running around with a grey backwards cap (naturally that rules out Davies), tall & young. was running around like a headless chook had NFI where he was supposed to be during most drills. even with binos I couldn't tell who it was - i was certain it wasn't riddle (because he was training without a hat) but I'm at a loss for who it may have been otherwise. also had woeful disposal and dropped a sitter. I hope he's a quick learner.

Perhaps Charlie Nicholls? Quite pale and slim?

• Chappy is looking HUGE

Heave ho!
leonardo dicaprio bravo GIF

Think the mystery headless chook must be Cody Curtin, either that or Nicholls or Riddle are a bust!
Just watched a highlights reel of Cody Curtin, can confirm by his awkward gait that it was him. Bit of a relief that it isn't Nicholls or Riddle, but knowing that context might explain a few things...

thanks all for the warm welcome

• Chappy is looking HUGE

Heave ho!
Phenomenal post mate!

The Chappy is the most exciting one for me, bloke could be anything!

10 News/Sport had 90 seconds on Fremantle with a mix of training and Shai's presser. Sonny tackling Wagner and Pearce. Looks like Switkowski ? getting O'Driscoll. You see the recent train-ons at the end before it moves to WC and Jack Martin at Geelong at the end of the clip.

I heard Mouse call in on the [emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]] sports show with David Mundy tonight and he wanted to know why Tom Emmett didn’t take the list spot left vacant by Odin Jones being placed on the LTI list.

• Chappy is looking HUGE

Heave ho!

Excellent post. Please lurk less and post more.

I heard Mouse call in on the [emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]] sports show with David Mundy tonight and he wanted to know why Tom Emmett didn’t take the list spot left vacant by Odin Jones being placed on the LTI list.
Mouse rings in all the time and talks smack but always sounds like he knows what he is talking about as Gospel.

Bangs on about Sam Whiteman and how he should be on the test team along with Bancroft.

Obviously the club moved on from Emmett and isn’t the type of smaller / medium forward they are looking for. Anyway we wouldn’t need to have a look at him. Had him on the list for two pre-seasons. Why not trial a couple of new smaller forwards.

Training Pre-Season 2025 - The boys are back in town.