Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven

The big question is whether he looks like he will take someone's spot. Sheezel, Wardlaw, LDU, Parker, Powell and Colby seem to be standing out. Is it the skipper he could be eying?

I didn’t notice Colby much. That said he played on the green team and I struggled with who was who.

That said I’d be shocked if Colby was getting much centre square time.

But all the other guys mentioned will make it hard for WAP to get a start imo

I didn’t notice Colby much. That said he played on the green team and I struggled with who was who.

That said I’d be shocked if Colby was getting much centre square time.

But all the other guys mentioned will make it hard for WAP to get a start imo
No one at our club moves like Colby - he could be in a burka and everyone would know who it was 🤣

Thanks for the reports mate

What was the pressure like in the contests
Very good I thought for this early in the season. Smashed in hard. Great pressure on whoever had the ball.

Other than LDU. Guys will try and chase him from behind but when he gets the ball they don’t even try to put frontal pressure on him so he doesn’t make them look silly

Very good I thought for this early in the season. Smashed in hard. Great pressure on whoever had the ball.

Other than LDU. Guys will try and chase him from behind but when he gets the ball they don’t even try to put frontal pressure on him so he doesn’t make them look silly
is it true LDU was cruising in third gear?

We have the luxury of playing Fisher as a small forward this year. Can he pass Hansen Jr, Konstanty, Paine & Harvey????

Watch this space.
There’s a potential best 22 that didn’t include any of those names including fisher. If Daniel pushes him out of defence, the other option would also to play him as a sub given he has versatility to play either forward or back. Either that he gets one of the last spots on the interchange. I’d have him in the team either way.

Konstanty I think was rehab group aswell.

My takeaways from the match sim aswell were fairly similar. I was abit more forward flank though.

FOS who I’ve been alittle concerned about did well to alleviate that. Didn’t get huge amounts but impact and class. Maybe TT without the problems. Laid great tackle on Parker and every time he had opportunity to get the ball he was very clean and composed. He doesn’t waste a kick.

Matlock surprised me a lot honestly. Abit further ahead then I thought he would be. Great engine and adds to chains by hand and foot by using that. Nice hands and competes well. Also smart footballer from some of the plays I saw with his body positioning. One with X really stood out to me where he got the free by smarts.

Jy will play HF it seems and will be very dangerous there. Most natural position for him.

Wardlaw in terms of body and athleticism as good as I’ve seen him. He looks fit and ready to go and has benefited from offseason

Goad has improved his engine afair bit but still drops out concentration in both match sim and drills. He is a unicorn though.

Finbar deserves a shout. Not doing a lot wrong for me. Great set of hands and agile when ball hits ground. 50:50 on kicking

Only thing of note overall is skills for majority were making errors and bad kicking. Could be that it’s so early in preseason but is worth noting. Exceptions to that for me was Sheez, FOS, Powell I thought was good and prob Hardeman. The rest made errors abit.
Kerch had a bad session for my mind but is very early and will be fine

What’s the update on Duursma? By all reports still in rehab group, not ideal heading into season 2.

Rehab but eye test was he’s tracking well. Had a brief chat afterwards, he came across as very happy and excited to meet the waiting kids. Pretty sure the bloke next to me said to him that he’s better than his brother and he said everyone is.

What’s happened to Daniel. We need him desperately to be gelling with his new team mates
He's recovering from a rectum reaming after coping it in the ass all preseason for costing us Herman Pernorkel at pick 30 sumfin..

Home now

Summarised final thoughts

- Powell best on. If you changed score involvements to inside 50 involvements and the blue team had 25 inside 50’s for the 2 periods I saw, Powell would have had 22 of 25 inside 50 involvements. All over the ground, often got multiple touches in the 1 chain. That said, it seems his team mates are looking to get it in his hands at every opportunity.

- LDU utterly dominant in the weaker team. Got every centre clearance while I was there until half way through the third period. Seemed to be a gear or 2 up on the usual pre season match sim.

- Wardlaw was very good. Solid in period 2, dominant in period 3. Seems to be getting easier touches along with his usual contested possessions. Seemingly running much easier and no longer looks like he’s running around stuffed. Good kicking. And very clean. Amazing how many of his touches wind up going to the next bloke.

- sheez: I’d say that the half forwards for the blue team were the reason they won so easily. Sheez was all class at half forward, waxing with George and getting a heap of it.

- Curtis & Ford- get ford in your round 1 predictions. As Philly said the other day, ford is flying. Curtis was even better. The yellow team just couldn’t get near Curtis ford and larkey

- Larkey probably 5 goals on comben.

- comben man up ffs Charlie. It was like Oscar Allen in Hobart all over again

- Logue the yellow team really struggled to get it past him.

- Zuhaar the only consist path inside 50 for the yellow team. Was leading right up the ground and getting a fair hit from limited opportunities

- fos probably got the most footy of the newbies, but more importantly was all class with his touches. Played forward first and then half back. Got schooled by Simpkin in a one on one but everything else was top notch

- Mattlock very surprised how advanced he is. Moves exceptionally for his size. Loves to get the footy in his hands. Didn’t get to see much 1 vs 1 as he was on the better team. Seems like he will be able to put on weight very easily.

Scott got plenty of it and had a great run down tackle. Hopefully he starts the year like he’s ended the last few and doesn’t have a slow start

Overall, the intensity was very pleasing and unlike Ura, I thought skill level was good other than kicking at goal.

I think teakle is likely to play alongside souv and darling

What’s happened to Daniel. We need him desperately to be gelling with his new team mates

Didn’t seem much to worry about. Looks like he’s got a hand injury (he spent the back part of the session with Corr running, Apple also had his hand in a brace). There’s certainly no worries with rapport, all the new guys have blended in well. Daniel had started gelling well pre Xmas, should be out there by the intraclub at least.

Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven