Player Watch #22: Taylor Goad - the Unicorn - extends his contract until 2028

That rarely happens. If you do happen to unearth a gun (even in the position which you're blessed with plenty of options) clubs typically try to hold on to gun players. There is of course the example of Josh Kennedy going from Hawthorn to Sydney, but in the end it benefitted the player and Swans a lot more than Hawthorn who didn't get much for him. Albeit still won multiple flags but that's a different story
Agree, it rarely happens but it is a common lament after teams take a dive down the ladder that they didn't sell high.

That rarely happens. If you do happen to unearth a gun (even in the position which you're blessed with plenty of options) clubs typically try to hold on to gun players. There is of course the example of Josh Kennedy going from Hawthorn to Sydney, but in the end it benefitted the player and Swans a lot more than Hawthorn who didn't get much for him. Albeit still won multiple flags but that's a different story
Agree with all that.

We're currently perennial losers, a club unable to get past 2-3 wins a year. We have no "set and forget" talls under 25yo to build around (yet) and 1x AA player on the list.

Therefore if I'm list manager I'm still considering every zone as "red" (even midfield) until results dictate otherwise.

Shifting players yet to hit their peak to rebalance the list is a gamble best saved for clubs are strongly indicating a period of contention.

Examples: Hawks with Kennedy as you said, North with Mark Stevens (McCartney was like for like but we had proven depth to try for a more erratic competitor) and Stuart Anderson, Adelaide with Maric.

Us trying it is like a bloke surviving on Centrelink payments trying to day trade markets. Save the money for food mate.

I feel the same. If we pigeonhole the unicorn to solely a ruckman and X stays fit over the next few years, we’ll create a massive problem for ourselves.

Goad will demand serious game time and if he’s stuck behind X during X’s prime years then he will be straight out the door. Adelaide will be promising him the world already.

We have a gaping hole at 200cm power forward so hopefully the Darling acquisition is to ‘coach’ Goad to be that and pinch-hit in the ruck, rather than the other way round. He has the attributes to be our Sam Darcy.

Our bigs in 2027 should be settled in positions but guys like Chom and Matlock will have the flexibility to go forward and back.

Key Forwards: Goad/Larkey/Duursma
R: Xerri/Goad/VFL level back up/Developing kid
Key Backs: Dawson/Comben/Whitlock/Logue
We need a massive KPF. Makes no sense to make Goad solely a ruck. Needs “why not both” gif

I feel the same. If we pigeonhole the unicorn to solely a ruckman and X stays fit over the next few years, we’ll create a massive problem for ourselves.

Goad will demand serious game time and if he’s stuck behind X during X’s prime years then he will be straight out the door. Adelaide will be promising him the world already.

We have a gaping hole at 200cm power forward so hopefully the Darling acquisition is to ‘coach’ Goad to be that and pinch-hit in the ruck, rather than the other way round. He has the attributes to be our Sam Darcy.

Our bigs in 2027 should be settled in positions but guys like Chom and Matlock will have the flexibility to go forward and back.

Key Forwards: Goad/Larkey/Duursma
R: Xerri/Goad/VFL level back up/Developing kid
Key Backs: Dawson/Comben/Whitlock/Logue

Totally agree. Knowing xerri has 6-8 years of good footy left in him youd assume they would groom goad as a forward. Seems to have the dexterity to be great in that kinda of role. Dunno about the quality of his dukes?

Hope he is keeping a close eye on Sam Darcy who is 2 years ahead of him at present, develop that forward craft
Honestly, at the moment he plays more like a 207cm midfielder than anything else. Didn't do much in the ruck today against some bloke who was visibly more experienced and beefier but was, as usual, quick on his feet. Strange player. I think his development will have a few twists

deer bambi GIF by Disney

Well yes but thankfully JHF is still the same sook he was with us.
Not looking great is professionally unprofessional and doubt he will just snap out of that. Apparently hates losing, also hates being accountable, and chasing opponents.

Anyway I'm not sold on Goad either, and we may have few that have some trade value.

I like Goad. He reminds me of a young Gary Dempsey. In his early days, Gary looked a bit unco, but ultimately turned out to be a beauty. I'll never forget meeting Gary at Kanga Kasino after a game at Arden St.
Dire Straits had just released Brother in Arms. I took in my signed vinyl copy to show a few of the young lasses on the night, just to create a bit of a buzz. It went down like a red balloon but it didn't bother me. I skulled a dozen West Coast Coolers in 10 minutes & screamed " I get my money for nothing and my chips for free" at the top of my voice for hours. It seemed so real.

I like Goad. He reminds me of a young Gary Dempsey. In his early days, Gary looked a bit unco, but ultimately turned out to be a beauty. I'll never forget meeting Gary at Kanga Kasino after a game at Arden St.
Dire Straits had just released Brother in Arms. I took in my signed vinyl copy to show a few of the young lasses on the night, just to create a bit of a buzz. It went down like a red balloon but it didn't bother me. I skulled a dozen West Coast Coolers in 10 minutes & screamed " I get my money for nothing and my chips for free" at the top of my voice for hours. It seemed so real.
Maybe we should burn him then, it worked for Dempsey

Seems a bit angry at times does Taylor, which I remember noting positively in the Melbourne pre season game BUT now it seems this is a bit misplaced. Shows little "anger" or aggressiveness at Ruck contests, still tries to reach in basketball style while just standing next to the oppo ruckman. Doesnt seem hugely keen to use his athletic advantages either. Then goes and whacks or slings people having ill placed hissy fits.

Would be exciting if he got it together down the track but jeepers seems a long long way off in terms of game sense , awareness etc. Fingers crossed.

Have a look at his opposition today in Ned Reeves. Drafted in 2019 and it wasn’t late 2021 where he got to debut because he’d added about 13kg to his frame. Then went on to spend more time in the VFL. Wasn’t really a consistent contributor at AFL level until late 2023 and last year.

The hawks ruck who is keeping him out of the AFL side, Lloyd Meek, was exactly the same, done a 5 year apprenticeship in the WAFL & VFL, but anyone who’d seen him play could see he has the tools to be a solid AFL player.

Goad is a work in progress but every recruiter in the land knew that would be the case. What all of them seen though was his raw athleticism which would hold him in good stead as an AFL footballer once he matured physically and developed some game sense.

Patience required that’s all!

Have a look at his opposition today in Ned Reeves. Drafted in 2019 and it wasn’t late 2021 where he got to debut because he’d added about 13kg to his frame. Then went on to spend more time in the VFL. Wasn’t really a consistent contributor at AFL level until late 2023 and last year.

The hawks ruck who is keeping him out of the AFL side, Lloyd Meek, was exactly the same, done a 5 year apprenticeship in the WAFL & VFL, but anyone who’d seen him play could see he has the tools to be a solid AFL player.

Goad is a work in progress but every recruiter in the land knew that would be the case. What all of them seen though was his raw athleticism which would hold him in good stead as an AFL footballer once he matured physically and developed some game sense.

Patience required that’s all!
Reeves was a man mountain that's for sure. Made even Teakle's arms look small.
Goad just needs to take his lumps and learn from it.

Yeah I think it’s forgotten about how long some ruckman take.
Xerri wasn’t our number one ruck until 2023 which was his 6th season. Then missed majority of that year. So took over full time #1 ruck duties in his 7th year.

Goad needs to be ready to pinch hit in case of injuries or as a makeshift FWD by start of ‘27 and I think he’ll be ready for that then. X will only be 28 and most likely a dual AA who we won’t be looking to replace.

He’s already put on considerable size since last season, still awhile away craft wise but also was late to footy and drafted on athletic potential more than his football ability. In a year with 5 1st rounders it was worth it.

Would like to see him get abit more of the footy though admittedly.

Well if CCJ is a gumtree then Goad is a walnut tree.
They are valuable but take years to mature.
And I cannot see him staying with us to play VFL for the next 3/4 years, so yeah a strange choice we did make.

Player Watch #22: Taylor Goad - the Unicorn - extends his contract until 2028

Write your reply...