Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 2025 Sole Captain. Deserved winner of The Polly Farmer Medal for the Indigenous All Stars with 30 disposals (18 contested)

This is what growth looks like. The comp is laughing and walking all over us at the moment, but when we save $7,000 on catering the B&F, won by Hugh Greenwood with a season long disposal efficiency of 8%, because Cam has the boys sizzling at a level they've never sizzled at before, we'll see who's laughing then

It's just part of the club's natural evolution.

2023:
10AM-12PM - Hedge Shearing Workshops
1PM-5PM - Pruning Preparation Techniques

Bull's teaching em how to use the Traeger grill. Weekly masterclasses on the preparation of A5 Wagyu with a peppercorn jus. Heard he dropped a grill lid on his foot the other week. Nobles' banging on about lifting higher standards is just getting Cam to refine his medium-rare internal temperature. The boys are pooling their match fees to get Cam a gold plated internal thermometer. Expectinge huge things out of next week's masterclass 👍

Fun fact: I love not hearing who we draft each year because Sarah Olle is interviewing some other club's draftee about he can cook a steak with red wine jus at the time.

He came to us with pace and as a smart, creative kick. If those two things are now weaknesses then that's on us I reckon.
Jy makes heaps of smart, creative kicks. He also gets the ball with someone right on his arse quite a bit (literally with a foot of space at times,) and that is on us because we need players shepherding around the contest to give guys like Jy that extra few 10s of a second to settle and hit a good kick.

I dunno there were attempted switches under a moderate amount of pressure that just hung in the air for ages leading to a bris player able to pick it off. It’s not an isolated issue either he’s been overall iffy on disposal (some good games and some poor) the poor ones hurt bigtime

Every player has kicks cut off by the opposition. How many of the situations you saw had players standing flat footed instead of taking a couple of steps and jumping to the highest point? Because that was an issue all night and has been for a couple of years and thru three separate coaches.

It happened pretty constantly, I’m talking about switch kicks with massive amounts of hangtime

As much as I want to believe he can be our next captain, I don't think he is capable. He just doesn't put himself defensively on the line. Don't get me wrong, I support all North players but our captain needs to be able to set an example offensively and defensively.

There was play in the Good Friday game last season where a Bulldogs player took on Jy with ball in hand and Jy didn't bother attempting to tackle him.

This is also another reason that the club is struggling on-field atm. We don't have any players that can be defined by their leadership AND are at the proper age to become a leader.

64% and many direct turnovers that lead to scores. Was far off the bests.
Never said he was anywhere near the best? The only point I am making is, other than 5/6 players, all of them should of been woken up at 4am and sent on a ****ing shit as run today, then putting the gloves on at training whilst the 5/6 players say back and scored the fights. Its not ****ing good enough. From Simpkin and Greenwood, 17 players were absolute tucking trash. Some worse than others but none worth a ****ing ongoing contract. They can **** off with Noble if they don’t turn this around. **** it, another dozen delistings and trades plus a new coach. Serve that ****ing slop up, Jy wants captaincy? ****ing trade the campaigner if this continues

100% I was.

At least he wasn’t strolling around and letting his Brisbane opponent run wild like Jy was.

Jy’s game was totally selfish. You could see he couldn’t be stuffed running back to help his teammates or defence.
He was as ****ing putrid as the rest of em.

Attachments

• 49904316-7AE0-45D9-8E5A-CF5A70708ED1.png
    49904316-7AE0-45D9-8E5A-CF5A70708ED1.png
    242.5 KB · Views: 70
If you think players get 2 way running ability simply by training in the system, look at J. Ziebell and B. Cunnington.

Probably a bit harsh on Cunners. I have seen him work back plenty of times. He doesn’t have the athletic gifts to work back as quick as most, but it doesn’t mean he isn’t.

As for Jy, I am not sure what his excuse is, as he does have the athletic ability to work up and back, but he chooses not to.

King is grasping at straws if he is focusing on the bloke that had 10 tackles and was one of the few that actually had a crack.

If you are trying to compare/defend Simpkins game based on King’s analysis, then you are barking up the wrong tree.
Thats not what im doing. They can all get in the ****ing bin. JHF excluded

As much as I want to believe he can be our next captain, I don't think he is capable. He just doesn't put himself defensively on the line. Don't get me wrong, I support all North players but our captain needs to be able to set an example offensively and defensively.

There was play in the Good Friday game last season where a Bulldogs player took on Jy with ball in hand and Jy didn't bother attempting to tackle him.

This is also another reason that the club is struggling on-field atm. We don't have any players that can be defined by their leadership AND are at the proper age to become a leader.

Luke McDonald. Courageous as anything, never say die positive attitude, heart is invested, understands the culture, will do anything asked of him on the field. Worked through a number of injuries in a professional manner. Now is what 26-27 yo, recently married? Playing good footy too.

He is hands down our captain next year for mine. Unless there are inner scrotum factors we are not privy too that changes the above.

Simpkin will get there I have faith but I'm not a fan of shelling it out to some young bloke before they are absolutely ready just so they can be captain of an 'era'. It's just dreamy thinking and disrespectful to the role.

Luke McDonald. Courageous as anything, never say die positive attitude, heart is invested, understands the culture, will do anything asked of him on the field. Worked through a number of injuries in a professional manner. Now is what 26-27 yo, recently married? Playing good footy too.

He is hands down our captain next year for mine. Unless there are inner scrotum factors we are not privy too that changes the above.

Simpkin will get there I have faith but I'm not a fan of shelling it out to some young bloke before they are absolutely ready just so they can be captain of an 'era'. It's just dreamy thinking and disrespectful to the role.

I'm in the Mcdonald captain camp as well.

Jy's my choice hands down. Love McDonald's endeavour - but he got exposed badly on the w/e regardless of how putrid the midfield was. It's unclear where he's best suited in the team - similar to the current captain. No issues with Jy on that front.

People need to realise what he’s being asked to do at the moment. He’s 24 and he’s carrying our midfield. On the weekend he attended 31 centre bounces, spent 74% in the defensive half because that’s where the ball was. He’s absolutely busting his gut. If he’s not dancing around players it’s because he’s probably knackerd. He just needs more help.

Agree. Long term I'd like to think he's 3-4th+ in line as the prime movers and if he works as hard as now he should be in a position to damage teams that need to focus on Thomas / LDU. I just don't think he's suited due to his size as the leader of a midfield without good physical support. Whether he is captain down the track or not I'm not that fussed, it'll work itself out IMO either way, what is important is to get more mature support around him and as soon as possible.

Jy's my choice hands down. Love McDonald's endeavour - but he got exposed badly on the w/e regardless of how putrid the midfield was. It's unclear where he's best suited in the team - similar to the current captain. No issues with Jy on that front.
And Jy didn't get exposed badly? With his 14 pressure acts and **** all impact? Last week is probably the worst rationale you could've used to argue against LMac being captain AND for Jy being captain. They both played awfully in a 100 point loss where we lost matchups all over the ground, excepting clearances, which we always coughed up anyway. Colour me surprised.

For me Jy doesn't put in the defensive efforts that you'd demand from a captain. If you lead the club, you bleed for the club and you fight for every ball. Too often he seems content putting in a half-hearted effort to make it look like he's trying, while his opponent will waltz away from him with the pill. This is an issue that LDU has too. He's also had to shoulder an enormous midfield load for someone his age and he's approached the task admirably, with that fantastic mixture of inside and outside skills, but the last thing he needs is extra strain on him. Hell, I'm worried we've broken him as it is. LMac is older, more experienced with less risk of burnout, seems to show more qualities you'd seek in a leader, and is actually decent at football, unlike our current skipper.

Also heavily disagree with the notion that LMac's best position is unclear. Do you remember 2020? He was our saving grace in the defensive 50 and was consistently brilliant in a team that probably rivalled Melbourne circa 2013 for incompetence. He's seriously one of our only genuinely good 2 way players. Would be madness not to put him in defence, given that as it stands a third of our back six don't have a defensive bone in their bodies.

I don’t doubt he’s not having a go but his kicking is downright careless. He needs to put more onus on retaining the ball.
Even when LDU and Thomas were there he was still hacking it.
Just because he’s getting midfield time doesn’t mean he’s going okay.
Then again we get a few boys back and the pressure comes off but it’s still no excuse for not retaining the ball.

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 2025 Sole Captain. Deserved winner of The Polly Farmer Medal for the Indigenous All Stars with 30 disposals (18 contested)

Write your reply...