Votes: 31 83.8%
  • India

Votes: 5 13.5%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 2.7%

Did he pick up a slight niggle ?? Carey is a good keeper but today he looked very average heaps of byes

Half were woeful balls but it was the ones against spin that worried me the most that’s his bread and butter. A few of Starc’s rubbish should have been wides not byes

He wasn't much good away from home but you could chalk him up for at least a couple of centuries here each summer.

He was awful the last 3 home summers. He was cooked 2 years ago and that was the issue we should have been finding his replacement last summer instead of the Mr Ego Farewell Tour

Having made 61 and 62 in my last 2 innings opening for my club’s turf 2nd XI, I feel like I have a decent level of knowledge and experience (mild sarcasm) to add my thoughts on how bad McSweeny and Marnus’ dismissals were.

You know Bumrah has the ability to bowl vicious inswinger. Bat outside of your crease, open up your stance, drop the back lift, and grind it out.

Those 2 morons took guard like they were facing an under 12’s side and did not know what an inswinger was. Ridiculous.

For mine they've got to get outside the line (and offer a shot), they know the one that will trouble them is the one back in, he's setting them up for it. He knows it, they know it, they just don't do anything about it.

I don't think it's much of an inswinger, he just goes a bit wider to create the angle.

Mate of mine went to town on Facebook tonight so I sent him a link to a pretty basic scientific explanation of why it’s perfectly legal by any definition.

His response was ‘so can people just get an operation to be able to have double jointed elbows and be able to hyper extend?’

I said no.

And he said ‘well as far as I’m concerned it’s illegal then and he should be banned. If others can’t bowl like that it’s unfair.’

People still use Facebook these days?

I was born in 89 - this and the 2010 ashes is the worst we have looked in my time.

The sad things is that there doesn’t seem like great batting talent coming through. Things turn around pretty quickly though McSweeny will be ok, Green and Head give us something to build around. The best thing the selectors can do is drop Marnus - all the great/good players have been dropped he needs a spell; he has had a blessed run but the selectors need to drop out of form players and stop holding onto the past. No idea who is performing at Shield level to deserve that place though.

All of this said - the Smith/Cummins era has been pretty good not as good was the Taylor/Waugh/Ponting era but i doubt anything will ever be as good as that when we had generational players like Warne, McGrath, Ponting, Gilly, Waugh and Martyn; this group has been pretty amazing to watch.
I'm old enough to remember Robbie Kerr and Wayne Phillips opening together.

This is nothing.

Just don’t get lessons from Marnus lol
Reckon Marnus took lessons from him

I did the same thing once trying to survive the last ball of the day and got hit plumb not playing a shot…I had it in my mind just to let it go and so I did…but i was only 13 playing B Grade…

Don't want tried and tested failures. Bring in Konstas instead.
Yes, to counter the world's best fast bowler, what we really need is the guy with fewer than 600 professional runs, who only just turned 19.

FMD...

This is the probably the most unlikeable Aussie team. Soft, entitled, snobby having achieved nothing and woke. Give me the aggressive, barking, in your face, sandpapering team under Boof and Clarke every day.
You didn't like them when they won us both the One Day and T20 World Cup, Test Championship and retain the Ashes in England which hasn't been done for decades????

Yes, to counter the world's best fast bowler, what we really need is the guy with fewer than 600 professional runs, who only just turned 19.

FMD...

If it’s not Konstas keep persisting with McSweeney we need to build for the future rather than going back to 30 average at best guys (and that’s at best). Least McSweeney didn’t drop catches

FMD...

You either sink or swim. The Australian obsession with picking test debutantes only when they are ripe and old 26 year olds has given us nobody over the past decade.

You didn't like them when they won us both the One Day and T20 World Cup, Test Championship and retain the Ashes in England which hasn't been done for decades????

I like how they get pats on the back for “retaining” the ashes against the worst English side in ages. They couldn’t even win the series outright. They were smoked by India away and haven’t won against them in a decade

Problem with dropping Marnus is where does he then play to get form back. There’s only 1 round of shield left & then it’s the hit & giggle Big Bash. Grade cricket?
That’s a CA problem, I’m loathe to drop anyone on one game…but that was the innings of a cluttered mind. He might not need any cricket but he needs a rest from this and he might not be the only one

Problem with dropping Marnus is where does he then play to get form back. There’s only 1 round of shield left & then it’s the hit & giggle Big Bash. Grade cricket? If he goes you can’t really bring him back for the rest of the series

There’s second xi games fairly sure while the bbl is on. Next shield games start when the second test does

1st Test Border Gavaskar Trophy November 22-26 1350hrs @ Perth Stadium