Mega Thread 2014 Free Agency and Trade discussion

I reckon Hogan's more your Carey type all rounder. Not saying calibre but he's capable of high possession lead up work.

That's probably more accurate , he did look quite comfortable in the nab games leading up around the CHF line being used as the outlet

If there aren't 10 good kids in a draft year, AFL is in trouble. Then again, I suppose we've had a few damn weak drafts.

As much as we need one superstar player, two excellent players would be just as good to us and less "all your eggs". That's all I'm saying.

Happy to have Mitchell and Lewis over Hodge type of scenario.

We've got a chance to do a rare thing, take the best available talent that also address needs.

Petracca/Brayshaw - Adding skill and ball winning ability to the midfield although unlikely to eventuate that Petracca slips

Brayshaw/McCartin - Adding a young midfielder with ball winning ability and a young key forward to replace the campaigner

Don't trade down for more picks.

What if the alternative is losing him?
Then Freo/WC/whoever would have to pay the price. Jesse hasn't even played a game yet, to pay him more than Ablett would be ridiculous. At least Scully had come second in the RS and was averaging 4 clearances and 6 tackles a game when GWS poached him.

We've got a chance to do a rare thing, take the best available talent that also address needs.

Petracca/Brayshaw - Adding skill and ball winning ability to the midfield although unlikely to eventuate that Petracca slips

Brayshaw/McCartin - Adding a young midfielder with ball winning ability and a young key forward to replace the campaigner

Don't trade down for more picks.
Haha a day ago you'd written off the Petracca dream completely Dez. Good to see you back on board, even if only a little bit.

What if the alternative is losing him?

You can't build a club like that
Then what if Tyson asks for a million
Then viney
Then brayshaw
Then toumpas

You pay overs to get someone but you can't pay overs to your own list
Hawthorn Geelong Brisbane have already proven that

Then viney
Then brayshaw
Then toumpas

It depresses me that Brayshaw who we haven't even drafted yet is ahead of the Toump.

Haha a day ago you'd written off the Petracca dream completely Dez. Good to see you back on board, even if only a little bit.

I have written it off but I'm just saying either way it goes we get the best available talent and they also address needs so there is no need to compromise that.

Bulldogs getting shit done. Us not so much
I love what they did in principle. A real act of counter aggression. However, pick 6 and Griffin is a lot to offload.

I understand people wanted a 'big name', but A. There are a lot of free agents next year, and B. If we had given away pick 2 and 3 for a player, I would have been gutted. Picks 2 and 3 are huge!

It depresses me that Brayshaw who we haven't even drafted yet is ahead of the Toump.

Toump is at the level of bail and Strauss in my eyes at the moment, his draft position is dead and now all he has is age on his side

I have written it off but I'm just saying either way it goes we get the best available talent and they also address needs so there is no need to compromise that.
You'd only trade down one of them in the event that you could get a Shiel or Treloar which won't happen (as GWS don't want to set a massive precedent after trading Boyd) so it looks like your scenario is pretty safe I reckon.

For me, a big win is that we kept pick23. I was a little nervous there that we could blow it but we held firm on Lamumba.

Well done MFC, not only are you **** at footy you also get bent over at the trade table. People who think we will still get Petracca are kidding themselves and there is no way on God's green earth Roosy will take McCartin or Wright. Its effectively Braysaw and a dip in the showbag. We have no use for pick 3, please pi55 it off. And while we're at it pi55 Mahoney off too. Blokes a pretender. Not happy at all.

You'd only trade down one of them in the event that you could get a Shiel or Treloar which won't happen (as GWS don't want to set a massive precedent after trading Boyd) so it looks like your scenario is pretty safe I reckon.

For me, a big win is that we kept pick23. I was a little nervous there that we could blow it but we held firm on Lamumba.

If we can get a quality kid then yeah sure, I'm talking about trading back to get an extra pick though.

If there was another Tyson deal then I'd have no problems.

Well done MFC, not only are you **** at footy you also get bent over at the trade table. People who think we will still get Petracca are kidding themselves and there is no way on God's green earth Roosy will take McCartin or Wright. Its effectively Braysaw and a dip in the showbag. We have no use for pick 3, please pi55 it off. And while we're at it pi55 Mahoney off too. Blokes a pretender. Not happy at all.
Well that's a complete overreaction.

Where exactly did we get bent over at the trade table? We got Garlett for cheap (essentially bending Carlton over at the trade table) and we got Lumumba for a depressed campaigner with foot problems.

BTW you can say piss.

Well done MFC, not only are you **** at footy you also get bent over at the trade table.

Actually this is us not getting bent over at the trade table. Mahoney said we shopped around but didn't get any proposals worth giving up our picks for. Clark for Lumumba is a shit thing for a shit thing, and we'll leave it at that. Garlett cost us peanuts. Still waiting to see on Frost. Let's be honest, it's very unlikely anything else is going to happen for us so that's it. I'd much prefer this (disappointing but meh) effort to panicking and throwing all our draft picks at every club to bring in an experienced player.

Would we complain if Hogan was gigned up on a 7 year deal?
If it was for 1mill+/year there would be some eyebrows raised, we got a bargain at only 500K:D. We're lucky (in a way) we don't have much else worth poaching though. The Dogs however have quality mids galore. GWS would be on the phone to their managers with a view to offering big money when they're out of contract. They've made an enemy in GWS (which is the AFL).

If we can get a quality kid then yeah sure, I'm talking about trading back to get an extra pick though.

If there was another Tyson deal then I'd have no problems.

Well that's a complete overreaction.

Where exactly did we get bent over at the trade table? We got Garlett for cheap (essentially bending Carlton over at the trade table) and we got Lumumba for a depressed campaigner with foot problems.

BTW you can say piss.
piss

Then Freo/WC/whoever would have to pay the price. Jesse hasn't even played a game yet, to pay him more than Ablett would be ridiculous. At least Scully had come second in the RS and was averaging 4 clearances and 6 tackles a game when GWS poached him.

Fair enough. I'm not particularly commited one way or another. That amount of money would be a risk but letting him go - someone rated one of the top talents we've recruited in the last 30-40 years - would be very hard for an undesirable club like ours to replace.

Then viney
Then brayshaw
Then toumpas

Them asking means nothing. Them being offered that money by other clubs and us not matching with at least a competitive offer means we're forever a feeder club.

Actually this is us not getting bent over at the trade table. Mahoney said we shopped around but didn't get any proposals worth giving up our picks for. Clark for Lumumba is a shit thing for a shit thing, and we'll leave it at that. Garlett cost us peanuts. Still waiting to see on Frost. Let's be honest, it's very unlikely anything else is going to happen for us so that's it. I'd much prefer this (disappointing but meh) effort to panicking and throwing all our draft picks at every club to bring in an experienced player.

At the end we are going to get 3 more potentially best 22 players for **** all and still take 3 picks inside the top 25 to the draft

Or we could have thrown picks 2-3 at griffin and ruined our future

Fact is Roosy said prior to trade week that Melbourne supporters were sick of waiting around for young talent to develop and by that it is reasonable to assume he meant bringing in some seasoned bigger bodied mids. With the picks we have and the salary cap space available it is also not unreasonable to expect we land at least one player that fits this bracket. Instead we have a slight upgrade on Dean Terlich with a God complex and a block who considers Mitch Robinson a mate.

We have also probably permanently fractured our relationship with a former captain and outstanding loyal human being in Jack Trengove, not that it matters now anyway as he probably wont even play again.

Fact is Roosy said prior to trade week that Melbourne supporters were sick of waiting around for young talent to develop and by that it is reasonable to assume he meant bringing in some seasoned bigger bodied mids. With the picks we have and the salary cap space available it is also not unreasonable to expect we land at least one player that fits this bracket. Instead we have a slight upgrade on Dean Terlich with a God complex and a block who considers Mitch Robinson a mate.

We have also probably permanently fractured our relationship with a former captain and outstanding loyal human being in Jack Trengove, not that it matters now anyway as he probably wont even play again.
Pains me that we couldn't land Greenwood.