Toast 2014 National Draft, pick #31 - welcome to Hawthorn Daniel Howe

Great to see supporters jumping on the Howey bandwagon. Been a fan since he was drafted and started a pre-season thread on who we expected to be our BIG improver this year outside of Burton as he was very obvious.
Comments like "he was a deer in headlights early on" and similar comments are little ignorant. People can't expect 18, 29 or 20 yo kids to come in and dominate straight away. it's a tough game AFL footy and unless you are a Chris Judd who was a phenom from game 1, it takes most young blokes 50 odd games to feel at home. The pace, speed and physicality of the game is a massive step up from both TAc Cup and the VFL. People need to have patience and longer term views when forming opinions. Don't forget players like Suckling and Dureya spent time in the development league at stages!
Not that I envisaged him taking on the midfield tagging role, but to me always looked a natural footballer and great to see him find his feet and becoming an integral member of the team.
In seasons to come, I would expect him to become be released and become a ball winning midfielder.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/who-is-our-2017-dane-swan.1155197/

Totally agree. I liked him right from the start but also felt he was one of those players that would take a while to be comfortable at AFL level. So glad the coaches/match committee saw his potential and persisted with him.

And I don't know where you are all getting this crazy look business from, I think he is super cute :hearteyes: :p

Like Lewis, he won't always be a tagged. With more experience and conditioning I think he will become a ball winner in his own right.
Yes.

The tagging experience is his education on the games' best midfielders and how they play. In 2018, he will become more of a ball winner. Can't wait.

Yes.

The tagging experience is his education on the games' best midfielders and how they play. In 2018, he will become more of a ball winner. Can't wait.

Yep I see the same sort of thing, but maybe the transition will happen more in 2019...

Does Howie continue as a Mid/Def Mid & rotations through HBF in the future?

his hbf games at HFC have been shaky and bad, he has excelled more as a def mid who just tackles and harrasses whilst getting some possession or as a floating hff where he can kick a goal and help the forward line, i was hoping he would be able to play hbf but he is terrible and panics in that position from the games he has played there. (except for his debut in tassie)

He isn't fast enough to play HBF either unfortunately, hes becoming a bit of a plodder imo.

Would love to speak with him and understand what he thinks of himself. Seems to lack confidence that he belongs in the big time.

Has been a little fumbly this season and the odd dodgy disposal efficiency. Reckon there is plenty to go on with. Best 22.

Honestly haven't seen cause to be as critical of him as others have been. Hasn't been one of our best over 3 games - but certainly not one of the worst either. Hasn't done anything to warrant dropping.

Has been a little fumbly this season and the odd dodgy disposal efficiency.

Very fumbly at critical times, very noticeable. ..

He'd want to improve on both things you mention. However, still a role player doing the shut down role, so he is best 22...just

Would love to speak with him and understand what he thinks of himself. Seems to lack confidence that he belongs in the big time.

Has been a little fumbly this season and the odd dodgy disposal efficiency. Reckon there is plenty to go on with. Best 22.

I disagree, my interpretation is not so much a lack of confidence in his hesitation, but him struggling to concentrate on all the things he's trying to focus on at once.
He seems to be a very cerebral player, and once he gets a little more used to the flow of the game, I can see him improving somewhat. He's not going to be a bull out of the gates like those more instinctual players, but his upper bounds are massive.

I disagree, my interpretation is not so much a lack of confidence in his hesitation, but him struggling to concentrate on all the things he's trying to focus on at once.
He seems to be a very cerebral player, and once he gets a little more used to the flow of the game, I can see him improving somewhat. He's not going to be a bull out of the gates like those more instinctual players, but his upper bounds are massive.

Dermie is that you?

He isn't fast enough to play HBF either unfortunately, hes becoming a bit of a plodder imo.

Howe has always been a plodder from what I've seen. He has adjusted to the pace of the game with some experience under his belt having become a regular selection and his kicking is now more reliable as well. Will be interesting to watch his development. One area he needs to work on is being able to hit the scoreboard with guys like Cousins and Worpel around who don't seem to mind kicking goals.

I have some really good vibes about how our midfield will be by years end. Howe might be involved but he might not. Let’s remember that O’Rourke and Lovell are tearing it up in the lower levels. Where Howe ends up is 40% how he improves and 60% where these players get to.

No matter what I like his endeavour and his competitive spirit and he has already acquitted himself as a soldier over the course of his long long journey

QUOTE="ScottMaginness, post: 55104129, member: 51233"]Howe has always been a plodder from what I've seen. He has adjusted to the pace of the game with some experience under his belt having become a regular selection and his kicking is now more reliable as well. Will be interesting to watch his development. One area he needs to work on is being able to hit the scoreboard with guys like Cousins and Worpel around who don't seem to mind kicking goals.[/QUOTE]

I think you are being very harsh on the kid. Here is a comparison of two blokes drafted in the same year - Daniel Howe for Hawthorn and the other was drafted to Geelong.

How would you say he stacks up? He may not be a star but he is a valuable player that does team things ALL the time, not only on his good days.

upload_2018-4-13_15-58-47.png

upload_2018-4-13_15-58-59.png

You gotta remember that the kid has only played 36 games.....
I remember a young Chance Bateman........all the potential but very frustrating earl in his career. I remember the commentators saying at the time that it takes about 75 games to truely believe. Sure enough, he became a much more consistent and star performer around that 75-100 games.
Let’s ask the question when he has played 70+ games.

Same for Timmy ‘O - has only played 37 games.

We can’t expect everyone to come in and be stars.
Playing his role pretty well I would think - which is the Clarko way

Edit: Sis has only played 46 games. We all know he is only going to get better over the next couple of seasons

You gotta remember that the kid has only played 36 games.....
I remember a young Chance Bateman........all the potential but very frustrating earl in his career. I the commentators saying at the time that it takes about 75 games to truely believe. Sure enough, he became a much more consistent and star performer around that 75-100 games.
Let’s ask the question when he has played 70+ games.

Same for Timmy ‘O - has only played 37 games.

We can’t expect everyone to come in and be stars.
Playing his role pretty well I would think - which is the Clarko way
36 you say.......
483116_0123650d0eeb2fa2a07fd0c2b31cc0e6.png

I have some really good vibes about how our midfield will be by years end. Howe might be involved but he might not. Let’s remember that O’Rourke and Lovell are tearing it up in the lower levels. Where Howe ends up is 40% how he improves and 60% where these players get to.

No matter what I like his endeavour and his competitive spirit and he has already acquitted himself as a soldier over the course of his long long journey

Lovell... you mean Cuz right?

Toast 2014 National Draft, pick #31 - welcome to Hawthorn Daniel Howe