List Mgmt. 2015 LIST Discussion - trades, free agency etc

Everything being said about Yarran is true but the problem I see is that the type of teams who would look at him are the ones like Hawthorn, West Coast ect. The way things are looking that will not get us a pick inside 15 and it's hard to see a side outside of the finals looking to get him

But a late first round pick and young player might suit us, or a late first and second round pick to help us to grab our F/S kids without dropping out of the 3rd round.

Reckon Port might be keen - they've built their list on a quick transition gameplan, but injuries to Polec and White have really hampered that this year. At this point that could be a pick anywhere from 8-14.

If we're going to trade anyone, Yarran is the first place I'd be looking. Not sure he's really on board with the "team" culture - plays his own game, and doesn't like to put his body on the line.

I seem to recall a contest in GC's forward 50 yesterday where Rowe and Dixon/Lynch(?) were one-on-one in the pocket, Yarran drifted back as the ball came in high, and instead of going third man up to spoil it over the line he just held his ground at their feet hoping to shark the ground ball. Docherty/Simpson/Buckley/Tuohy etc. would all have gone back with the flight and helped Rowe out to ensure GC didn't get a chance to score.

But a late first round pick and young player might suit us, or a late first and second round pick to help us to grab our F/S kids without dropping out of the 3rd round.

Reckon Port might be keen - they've built their list on a quick transition gameplan, but injuries to Polec and White have really hampered that this year. At this point that could be a pick anywhere from 8-14.

If we're going to trade anyone, Yarran is the first place I'd be looking. Not sure he's really on board with the "team" culture - plays his own game, and doesn't like to put his body on the line.

I seem to recall a contest in GC's forward 50 yesterday where Rowe and Dixon/Lynch(?) were one-on-one in the pocket, Yarran drifted back as the ball came in high, and instead of going third man up to spoil it over the line he just held his ground at their feet hoping to shark the ground ball. Docherty/Simpson/Buckley/Tuohy etc. would all have gone back with the flight and helped Rowe out to ensure GC didn't get a chance to score.
I understand that but the reason we are will to give him up would the same reason teams wouldn't pay too high of a price for him. Apparently Port have salary cap pressure. I think our best chance would be North or Adelaide

His deficiencies are more noticeable with us though - at a team like Port (or Adelaide, or North) he'd be a role player rather than the go-to playmaker that we try to use him as. Don't think he's the type to chase a massive pay-check, either. Reckon he just wants to do his thing - and the best opportunity for that may be with a team that suits his strengths rather than laments his weaknesses.

Everything being said about Yarran is true but the problem I see is that the type of teams who would look at him are the ones like Hawthorn, West Coast ect. The way things are looking that will not get us a pick inside 15 and it's hard to see a side outside of the finals looking to get him
I think the Crows might be interested.

His deficiencies are more noticeable with us though - at a team like Port (or Adelaide, or North) he'd be a role player rather than the go-to playmaker that we try to use him as. Don't think he's the type to chase a massive pay-check, either. Reckon he just wants to do his thing - and the best opportunity for that may be with a team that suits his strengths rather than laments his weaknesses.
Imagine Yaz and Bradley Hill in the same team, with a great structure making space for them to run into and pinpoint passes hitting them as break out...

Geeze there is some serious under rating of Yarran's talent and guts in this thread.

Imagine Yaz and Bradley Hill in the same team, with a great structure making space for them to run into and pinpoint passes hitting them as break out...

Geeze there is some serious under rating of Yarran's talent and guts in this thread.

Not under-rating his talent at all - he's got that in spades.

Guts, on the other hand...for the backline role he finds himself in playing for us, he's a little too shy of the contest for mine. One on one, he's phenomenal at holding up play or forcing a ball to the boundary. When we work it to him in space he can cut teams open. But how many times do our players look to give it to him when a bloke is already sitting on him? How many times does a kick drop short or sit in the air too long and prevent him from taking off? I reckon he's almost over-utilised. And when it comes time for him to go up in a pack...nope.

You nailed it though, him and Hill linking up across a wing would be glorious, and I reckon he'd be playing his best footy at a club where he's got the blokes around him with the smarts to create space for him, and the skills to hit him up 9 times out of 10.

If we want to cash in a player for a high draft pick, I think he'd be the one to
a) get us a good return, and
b) find himself better suited to another side

We've got a few younger guys who can fill his spot - DylBucks, Byrne, Sheehan, DVR, Boekhorst etc. are all either dashing runners or elite kicks. We might suffer a little in the short term, but we can afford to lose Yarran more so than Hendo or Kreuzer.

Happy to keep him, but if someone has to go he's probably top of the list.

A proven A-Grader for a guy who can't get a regular gig for the second bottom team...is that you Vossy?
Yarran proven A-grader? Is that you RobinsonKreuzer? He's an inconsistent player with a questionable attitude after 110 games. The same as when we drafted him.

Docherty, Polec and Yeo couldn't get a game at Brisbanes lowest ebb. What's your point? Aish will be a gun.

Nobody on here under rates Chris Yarran's talent.

Plenty question his commitment.
Commitment to put his body on the line consistently.
Commitment to present to multiple rather than selective contests.

Commitment to do the hard yards on the track to become the elite outside mid he should be. You raise Bradley Hill,
fair comparison, Hill runs both ways, gets to play after play and runs both ways. Not any bolder than Yarran, but
if only Yaz exhibited these traits consistently.

I don't want to lose any talented players, but our list management faux pas pretty much demand a couple of trades.
Yarran is the most expendable big ticket item we have. Adelaide or West Coast the most likely players IMO.

Not under-rating his talent at all - he's got that in spades.

Guts, on the other hand...for the backline role he finds himself in playing for us, he's a little too shy of the contest for mine. One on one, he's phenomenal at holding up play or forcing a ball to the boundary. When we work it to him in space he can cut teams open. But how many times do our players look to give it to him when a bloke is already sitting on him? How many times does a kick drop short or sit in the air too long and prevent him from taking off? I reckon he's almost over-utilised. And when it comes time for him to go up in a pack...nope.

You nailed it though, him and Hill linking up across a wing would be glorious, and I reckon he'd be playing his best footy at a club where he's got the blokes around him with the smarts to create space for him, and the skills to hit him up 9 times out of 10.

If we want to cash in a player for a high draft pick, I think he'd be the one to
a) get us a good return, and
b) find himself better suited to another side

We've got a few younger guys who can fill his spot - DylBucks, Byrne, Sheehan, DVR, Boekhorst etc. are all either dashing runners or elite kicks. We might suffer a little in the short term, but we can afford to lose Yarran more so than Hendo or Kreuzer.

Happy to keep him, but if someone has to go he's probably top of the list.
None of those named have anywhere near the silk and polish of Yazz at this stage. He could end up almost as good as McLeod with a better attitude.

Yarran proven A-grader? Is that you RobinsonKreuzer? He's an inconsistent player with a questionable attitude after 110 games. The same as when we drafted him.

Docherty, Polec and Yeo couldn't get a game at Brisbanes lowest ebb. What's your point? Aish will be a gun.

Aish wants about 400k and his current game isn't close to that. His 13 ineffective touches against Adelaide really saved the day. Port and Adelaide both want him as well which will only drive his price up.

Yarran gets 25 touches and a goal from 50 and people bag him for it. He's not soft as well.

None of those named have anywhere near the silk and polish of Yazz at this stage. He could end up almost as good as McLeod with a better attitude.
We've been saying this since he was drafted.

And guess what? 110 games later he's still not anywhere close to his potential or Andrew Mcleod and is getting dropped for being late to training.

I don't see him changing his ways anytime soon.

We have a good bunch of skilful, tough and work horse kids coming thru. :D:D:D
Not sure what the doom and gloom MM and every one else carry on about, hopefully most will make it and it only take a couple of good drafts to get us back into the top end again...

also please don't trade Hendo, we need him for structure and forward smart

Agree. Losing Hendo will set us back 2 years.

We've seen in the last few weeks our rebuild and push to the top 4 might not take 5 years, could only be a few, but for that to happen Hendo must stay.

Him, Casboult and Everitt is working beautifully atm.

Unless we get a mature forward to replace him, even if we managed to draft someone like Schache he'd take at least a few years to start doing anything constructive.

Aish wants about 400k and his current game isn't close to that. His 13 ineffective touches against Adelaide really saved the day. Port and Adelaide both want him as well which will only drive his price up.

Yarran gets 25 touches and a goal from 50 and people bag him for it. He's not soft as well.

Yarran had a pretty decent game, just a few shonky kicks.

Aish hasn't impressed me at all...seems like one of those guys who has nice skills but not necessarily the mental toughness and aggression, similar to what some are saying about Yarran lol.

We've been saying this since he was drafted.

And guess what? 110 games later he's still not anywhere close to his potential or Andrew Mcleod and is getting dropped for being late to training.

I don't see him changing his ways anytime soon.
He may not be halfway through his career yet and you've capped him. I hear what you are saying though. He'd be an easy sell but we'd want healthy picks for him - plus a shitload of sedatives for the days he tears it up against us Eddie style.

Yarran would be on 400k+, or will be when other clubs chase hin when he's a FA next year. I have no doubt Aish would flourish in an environment he enjoys being in, much like Docherty.

Yaz made some costly turnovers yesterday and most of his possessions were in the back half. He hasn't had a good year at all. Hardly think yesterdays game is anything to pump him out about.

Yarran would be on 400k+, or will be when other clubs chase hin when he's a FA next year. I have no doubt Aish would flourish in an environment he enjoys being in, much like Docherty.

Yaz made some costly turnovers yesterday and most of his possessions were in the back half. He hasn't had a good year at all. Hardly think yesterdays game is anything to pump him out about.

88DE% and his two turnovers were missed kicks into the forward 50.

His disposal overall was pretty good with his hands in tight releasing a few players to set up scoring shots.

Aish wants to go to SA and he's not close to Yarran's worth as a player.

Yarran had a pretty decent game, just a few shonky kicks.

Aish hasn't impressed me at all...seems like one of those guys who has nice skills but not necessarily the mental toughness and aggression, similar to what some are saying about Yarran lol.

Aish asked for a massive raise after a half-decent debutant season.

Not much of a team player.