Training 2020 Preseason

The hotter the better-

https://www.outsideonline.com/2098556/surprising-benefits-training-heat#close

Researchers have been looking at the effects of heat on athletic performance for decades, and their results have been consistently surprising. Studies have found that, in addition to an increased rate of perspiration, training in the heat can increase an athlete’s blood plasma volume (which leads to better cardiovascular fitness), reduce overall core temperature, reduce blood lactate, increase skeletal muscle force, and, counterintuitively, make a person train better in cold temperatures. In fact, heat acclimation may actually be more beneficial than altitude training in eliciting positive physiological adaptations, says Santiago Lorenzo, a professor of physiology at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and a former decathlete at the University of Oregon. “Heat acclimation provides more substantial environmental specific improvements in aerobic performance than altitude acclimation,” he says. And in contrast to the live low, train high philosophy, we more quickly adapt to heat stress than we do to hypoxia. In other words, heat training not only does a better job at increasing V02 max than altitude, but it also makes athletes better at withstanding a wider range of temperatures.
In English please!!!

Shouldn’t acknowledge that click-bait machine.

Agreed and also a lot of people commentators fans etc have predicted a slide in 2020. More wishful thinking than anything. Our draw next year is actually not that bad and most were using a tougher draw as a reason we may slide.

And to be fair we may drop out of the 4 but can't see us missing the 8

After K Cornes flog comments re us sliding next year we have invited him to preseason. Would love to see him get flogged on the training track as well but I think he will be just a watcher.
He’s probably quit half way through like he did for port and the fire brigade.

Probably the biggest flog in football

Will the Lions be training at The Reserve Springfield in 13 months time??.Expected completion date is early 2021.
If so preseason training is going to get more difficult due to the heat factor.

Most people on this forum would already know that The Reserve is located on the Easter boundary of Ipswich City and the western boundary of Brisbane. So temperature wise it is more in line with Ipswich than Brisbane. Ipswich is always hotter in Summer and colder in winter than Brisbane.
For the people that don't live in Brisbane below is the forecast for both cities over the next 7 days. The temperature variance below is about the average. And we are only 4 days into summer.

Brisbane: Today 34 then 35-36-35-31-31-33
Ipswich : Today 37 Then 39-41-41-35-35-38

Welcome to Brisbane Robertson,Smith & Prior

Certainly something they will manage, although the upside is with our own venue we won't have to juggle training times around other users of the ground which means we can run our sessions exactly when we want. We'll also have a venue that has full lighting we can use exclusively (we can train on the nights the womens team aren't) so we can do some training late afternoons/evenings as well. This is always an issue with the grounds we currently train on as they are used by the community at night therefore unless we can get on the gabba we can't actually do much training in dewy nighttime conditions.

I have no problem with what Kane Cornes said, it is only an opinion and he is entitled to it.

I actually think he is better than the majority of the boys club, dart throwing lemmings you get that pass for journalists in the afl landscape.
We want more personalities in the game but hate it when they say anything outside of empty lines.

Wow, do we now pay attention and respond to any media drongo that has a negative opinion about us. Why validate him.
Who gives a If he has an opinion that may be a bit negative towards our position.
Really disappointing response if we have invited him due to his comments.

Wow, do we now pay attention and respond to any media drongo that has a negative opinion about us. Why validate him.
Who gives a If he has an opinion that may be a bit negative towards our position.
Really disappointing response if we have invited him due to his comments.

I disagree - I think it is better to embrace criticism or implied criticism and deal with it constructively. I think this is a very mature approach by the Club and better for us to be seen as open to the media. I am sure we embedded Fish into our camp last year - a very different scenario but we allowed him open access nevertheless.

I'm happy with the Kane Cornes situation. Happy to have media types predict our failure as it adds extra motivation. Also don't mind the club reacting in this way. Determined to show they are not getting ahead of themselves. Must be a real focus and needs to be.

I've got no problem with media types having opinions and standing out from the crowd. I just have a problem with Cornes, because I believe he does it entirely to make headlines and build a media career. He's the Piers Morgan of AFL - says inflammatory things that he doesn't even really believe because he knows he can build a career as the 'controversial' type that way.

He’s probably quit half way through like he did for port and the fire brigade.

Probably the biggest flog in football
Might be a flog but TBF since he's retired, he's turned himself into a high quality (sub 2.20) marathon runner and could probably beat half our squad in the 2 kms time trial running at his average marathon pace let alone running flat out - so I doubt he'd be quitting

Attended training session this afternoon, it was good to chat again luthor and to meet you briztoon

- They started with about 30 minutes of stretches/injury prevention routines.
- The whole group (46 on the list I think) did a running drill near the start of the session and I counted 42 players, there was 1 not doing it which was Daniel Rich and then the 3 new boys in Deven Robertson, Jaxon Prior and Brock Smith were later doing quite a few laps leaving 46 players although Bruce Reville was there as well. Marcus Adams the odd one out who I didn't spot at all, he was apparently on a stationary bike most of the time.
- Standard type drills eg. contested work, leading patterns and run run run.
- I thought the players who looked like they were still running on the top of the ground towards the end of the session were > Jarrod Berry, Hugh McCluggage, Corey Lyons, Dayne Zorko, Tom Fullarton.
- Struggling near the end > Alex Witherden, Cam Rayner(still a big improvement on last off season though), Eric Hipwood.
- Connor Ballenden really does have a great kick on him.
- Sam Skinner looked in peak physical condition.
- Stef Martin trains at a very high intensity.
- Chris Fagan did a lot of laps, didn't see him give any instructions, session run by others.
- On the whole they all looked keen motivated and very fit and healthy, only strapping I recall was Charlie on his calf, it didn't hinder him though, he took part it all the session.

GO LIONS!

Watching the draftees do laps together while the rest of the team did drills.

Once the whole squad started doing laps, it was run at your own pace, and Deven Robertson started distancing Smith and Prior. He got out to a half a lap lead when the coaches called time on the running. If they went another 10 minutes, I reckon Dev would have caught Smith and Prior.

Training 2020 Preseason