List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part II

Mate that’s a top shelf roasting but snake is not the poster deserving of it. By all means reuse it, it’s quality, but better directed at a legit nuffie.

Yeah keep it for old mate Boristown. Snake is Ok, Wish North well for him. Hope they move to Tassie and fold for Boris, couldn't happen to a bigger campaigner.

I'd be more than happy for the club to pay him 700k if they gave us pick 20 for Dunstan.

Use that puck on Caldwell and take 15 to the draft.

Thank ya mother for the rabbits
You know well that 15 will end up 18 or worse.
I think the league will work their magic to get pick 2 to the Crows.

I'd still use our 1st for Caldy and hope for something back, then try for a future 2nd in a better draft for Dunny.

If we're able to move on a few of Robbo, Jweb, Sav, Lonie, other, we'll have plenty of points to throw at one of the clubs who won't be able to use their 2nd round pick.

With list reductions on going, I'd love to be able to use our 1st and have a couple of 2nd's in 2021 to replenish talent.

Ricciuto sounds like he's upset about the FA system and wants to (attempt to) take it out on us.

I don't think there is any threat of them genuinely matching.

No way would they risk being forced to sign a bloke they don't particularly want for 5 whole years on decent coin.... just to improve pick 19 to pick 15.
It's not like WE can give you pick 2 mark- get over it and move on.

Hawthorn copped pick 18 for buddy at his peak, that's the system.

Sure it would have been nice for them if it worked out that they got pick 2 for crouch- but that would have been a huge bonus for them.
Them getting pick 19 and not pick 2 for crouch is them missing out on getting bonus value, not getting dudded by receiving poor value.

I'd pay Crouch 50k extra a year if Adelaide will take Dmac off our hands haha.

I get the frustration from Roo but surely they didn't actually think Crouch would net them pick 2? The AFL only do that kind of thing for teams like GC.

Mate that’s a top shelf roasting but snake is not the poster deserving of it. By all means reuse it, it’s quality, but better directed at a legit nuffie.
agreed,our north,crows and even essendon visitors have been pretty respectful,wait for a tool to come for that kind of stuff

Watch from 3:38 - "when i was a little kid I used to dress up in my St Kilda costume, everytime, socks up...I wouldn't kick the footy if I didn't have my saints costume on".

Pretty optimistic for us. Essendon is closer to his family in Bendigo, but the Saints are closer to his heart lol. Surely he chooses us over Essington if he is leaving.

Last time I saw the saints play live was round 22 last year when we got done by the Blues. Bloody keen to be able to go to games again and see Ryder, Jones, Hill, Howard, Butler, King and Crouch + whoever else we bring in.

That seems like a long time ago. I can't believe we lost to the Blues, you must have made it up.

Ricciuto sounds like he's upset about the FA system and wants to (attempt to) take it out on us.

I don't think there is any threat of them genuinely matching.

No way would they risk being forced to sign a bloke they don't particularly want for 5 whole years on decent coin.... just to improve pick 19 to pick 15.
It's not like WE can give you pick 2 mark- get over it and move on.

Hawthorn copped pick 18 for buddy at his peak, that's the system.

Sure it would have been nice for them if it worked out that they got pick 2 for crouch- but that would have been a huge bonus for them.
Them getting pick 19 and not pick 2 for crouch is them missing out on getting bonus value, not getting dudded by receiving poor value.
The system isn't a system. It's a discretionary value judgment behind closed doors.

Adelaide being at the bottom of the ladder is in stark contrast to the Hawk's position, and losing a valuable player in a spoon year impacts their ability to win much next season.

The Crows want a band 1 compo, and the league will also want them to have one to help them get back up.

Someone at head office will call Lethers, and Lethers will play ball. And we'll get something back, hopefully.

Pretty optimistic for us. Essendon is closer to his family in Bendigo, but the Saints are closer to his heart lol.
Mate I live pretty much in Essendon.

I can guarantee you if he chooses Essendon it’s not cause it’s 20 minutes closer to Bendigo.

While he can go any road, it’s quicker to take the Northern which will eventually lead to the old Calder.

It would irritate me slightly, but it's not a significant thing to me. Certainly not as significant as I would see North taking on a 27 year old bloke with an injury history at 5 x $700K plus.

If the Crows get picks 1 & 2, then I reckon the pressure is on them. IMO, they are dead certs to take McDonald with pick 1, who I don't see as a pressing issue for North, so I suspect they would add one of Phillips, Holland, DGB or even Tilthorpe, and I am happy to cop any of those boys.

I'm more concerned with our pick 9 ending up in the mid teens due to all this NGA/compo farce.
Your club paid similar money as well a first round pick for Polec mate so thanks for your concern but I reckon we've done alright.

If it takes paying a few extra bucks to not have to trade for him then fine. Would much prefer to do it that way and grab a quality kid with our first rounder.

Ricciuto is correct. Both team will get together. We will pay Crouch enough for a band 1 and you take DMAC and his 350k contract for a mid second rounder. Something like that.
This this & this

Not necessarily DMac, but this is the idea.

Plucking numbers, but say we want to pay B.Crouch $550-650k. If another $100-$200k is the difference between them receiving pick 20 and pick 2, then Adelaide can easily help us get them there. 2 ways I can see for them to do that:

1. Salary swap
Taking on DMac's god awful contract for a 5th rounder is a great idea. Same works for JWebb. Take on Webb and give us a half decent pick for him too (I want to keep Webb and slot Clark into the mids but I can see the logic here). That way, the extra $$ we pay for B.Crouch is offset by them releasing us from an existing contractual commitment

2. Draft pick purchase
Overpay us for an OOC player such as for Dunstan, Lonie, Parker or Savage - their choice (next years second and this years third sound good). Or flick us their second this year for a complete punt on someone like Clav or Phillips. Regardless of the specifics, essentially we are buying their pick with the extra $$, and the player is just token to facilitate the swap

Either way, Adelaide walk away with pick 2. We walk away either financially neutral, or buy a half-decent pick with the extra financial commitment

Win - Win

I thought Majak was good in the CHB position. Austin plays far too loose to be a kpd and would be way down the pecking order to play half back. Don't see the correlation
He’s almost 30 has played just over 50 games and frankly more often than not he’s lousy.

There will be plenty of players with more talent and upside available so he would be a waste of a list spot imo.

Would prefer we went all in on Treloar even if he cost most. The few hamstring issues he's had this year and in 2018 which would be a slight concern, but overall is a better player, more dynamic and could be played in multiple positions rather than only the centre square.
Yeah fair enough comment about Treloar but we already have a number of players who can play multiple positions - our problem is that we have limited quality full time mids to allow us the capacity of say sending Gresh and Steele forward without losing midfield clout.

I see Crouch as the type of player we'd hoped Dunstan would become - a pure full time mid. He may spend 20% of time on the bench, whereas Dunstan just didn't have the tank to do that amount of time in the midfield and he just wasn't dangerous when resting forward.

I we could magically convince Adelaide to take Dunstan (++++ whatever) for their Pick 29, we'd laughing all the way to the top 4.

The more mids we get, the less we see of guys like Lonie, Kent and Hind.

No offence to those guys, who have filled roles for us. But they are all seriously one dimensional. None of them can really go through the middle with any impact and heavily rely on others to get the ball forward for them to have any impact.

If their positions are filled by a rotation of Gresh, Billings, Steele, Hill, Hanners etc etc we're an infinitely better side

Hanners underrated around goal too. Can take a mark / kick a goal.