Game Day 2022 AFL Grand Final : Geelong v Sydney

Watching this game in a pub packed with eager last minute Sydney fans was somewhat of a conciliation. Just a non event though.

Sit back and think, did we actually give Smith away too cheaply? Feels like these ready made guns post 30 are generally traded for unders.
Maybe a lesson not to give up Tom Mitchell for nothing…

I think I've finally worked it out.

The wall that Geelong have been heading towards for the last five years was one of these all along:

View attachment 1517325
All they need is a replacement for Hawkins, find that and they remain relevant. Prey Curnow doesn't want to return to Torquay.

Watching this game in a pub packed with eager last minute Sydney fans was somewhat of a conciliation. Just a non event though.

Sit back and think, did we actually give Smith away too cheaply? Feels like these ready made guns post 30 are generally traded for unders.
It's a clever strategy Geelong have used.

Would you rather pick up a player like Smith for peanuts just because he is 30 years old knowing he is a gun player and probably still got another 3 to 4 years of solid footy in him.

Or do you spend all your trade capital to draft an 18 year old who you are taking a massive punt on and could be churned out in a couple of years time?

All they need is a replacement for Hawkins, find that and they remain relevant. Prey Curnow doesn't want to return to Torquay.
Didn't he just re-sign for 6yrs?

I reckon he plays it different if he wanted to head to Geelong.

How many times have you watched 2012

I watched it yesterday (and followed it up with 2013/2014/2015 straight after :p).
I couldn't even stomach a highlights package of the match for many months. I watched it in full for the first time since that grand final day in the lead up to the 2014 grand final. And with thanks to how 2014 turned out, I've watched the 2012 grand final numerous times since (at least once a year). The result may not have gone Hawthorn's way, but it was still a good match (yes the missed shots at goal is a bit ughhhhhhhhhh). I can appreciate good matches even when Hawthorn lose. the 2011 preliminary final gets a rewatch during preliminary final week most years :p

Can’t believe Adrian Barich the flog on seven news perth said most people had western Australia’s own chad Warner as bog

We didn’t give him away he left as a free agent.

He left as a FA for the lifestyle choice and to have another chance at achieving the ultimate success. He's been completely vindicated.

How many times have you watched 2012

The difference is though, I don’t need to watch a game back to improve. Surely it’d help a team that keeps on choking i.e Da. Bloods

Watching Clinton Young get rolled in the square or Nick Mal’s goal back (which for the record I still avoid/turn away from the TV at)…. I’m good 🤮

I have no ill will with Smith winning it, he was a very likeable guy. Would not have the same feeling if Buddy won the norm smith..

Actually bahahahahahaha leaving hawks for money and never winning a flag again.

What do you think Smith left the hawks for?

No denying he had a great game and he certainly enjoys finals but at the Hawks there was the opportunity to stay and pass on some valuable knowledge to our young blokes but he chose to move on.

Unlike others, I’m not cheerleading that he picked up the NS.

Robbie Fox played out of his skin today, without a doubt the best game of his career. Reminiscent of LRT back in 2005.

Welp...I did end up watching the replay agian...mainly for the butt shaking of the dancers in Robbie Williams set!
I hate the flogs from a sporting rivalry standpoint, but respect to the emotions at the end from some of those older Cats. It's good to see it really mattered to them.
Just unfortunate they didn't meet a remotely suitable rival on their big day.

Geelong the best/ most consistent team all season.

Wonder if Sydney had the extra week off whether it would've made much of a difference i.e. a grand final bye.

Geelong the best/ most consistent team all season.

Wonder if Sydney had the extra week off whether it would've made much of a difference i.e. a grand final bye.
Would have made no difference at all. Only one team was mentally ready to play and handle the pressure of a grand final.

No amount of extra time off would have mattered.

Game Day 2022 AFL Grand Final : Geelong v Sydney