Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

Maybe the players should stop infringing so often then? It needs to go both ways. The umps have to pay what they see. Fans would be just as pissed off if some frees weren't paid to them throughout the game just so people can point to the overall tally at the end of the game and say 'look it is lower'.

The Brisbane v Hawthorn game a few rounds ago was great. So was the Sydney v Richmond game. Both had a high amount of free kicks paid. I would put the GWS v Dogs game being an entertaining game down to the lack of overall defence leading to it being a shootout rather than the amount of frees paid in the game, but thats just me.

Friday night time slot has always been an obstacle for families. Was reported on SEN the AFL were going to change it this year but ch7 shut it down so this being an obstacle for people attending is not a new issue. But umpiring suddenly being the reason people aren't turning up is definitely a new one being thrown around by a vocal minority.
I think it's got more to do with the umpires inability to put the whistle away than the players infringing. Half of the frees paid don't need to be, I would suggest a large majority of supporters would prefer the game to continue in those instances rather than a free kick paid. Like I said, supporters were laughing at the umpires calls and that was also for calls their team had won. I don't think anybody actually cares if the frees are paid against them or for them as long as they are paid as little as possible.

You can list two anomalies that support your view but it pales in comparison to the number of games ruined by bad umpiring and I know you aren't stupid enough to not understand that.

I'll say it again, crowds in years past have been great and Friday night timeslots have remained the same. It's got almost nothing to do with why people aren't turning up in numbers not seen for 25 seasons.

Umpiring isn't suddenly the reason, it's been happening progressively for years and I reckon people are just fed up with it now. The game is over officiated and people smarter than you or I have been talking about it all season so I don't understand the "vocal minority" comment. It's one of the biggest issues in the game.

My first year going to the footy regularly was 1987. Pretty good year for footy, Plugger kicked 117 and won the Brownlow, Capper also kicked 100 and Dunstall almost got there. Average score in each game was 104.

Compare that to last year, 2021. Average score in each game was 79, so the footy wasn't really as much fun.

Which year had more free kicks?

1987: 154 games, 9243 free kicks = 60.0 per game
: 198 games, 7903 free kicks = 39.9 per game

So pretty clearly the footy in the 80s was more fun, and there were more free kicks.

Logic says we need to bump up the number of frees please, someone tell the umpires.
To be honest it’s literally just whether players kick straight. People get happy when they see their players kick goals. If the umpiring is not to your taste or the game plan is not to your taste but your key forward is kicking goals you get that injection of a few minutes of clapping and excitement to ride you through the game.

They should simply ban players from kicking behinds.

According to lots on here its been decided that the future of AFL is bleak because we had a high scoring game between two teams with poor defences.

If that's all it needs then the answer is simple - get rid of the 6,6,6.

Make it 7 (forwards),6 (mids) 5 (defenders) = goal fest every game

Woo hoo the spectacle!!!!!

I think it's got more to do with the umpires inability to put the whistle away than the players infringing. Half of the frees paid don't need to be, I would suggest a large majority of supporters would prefer the game to continue in those instances rather than a free kick paid. Like I said, supporters were laughing at the umpires calls and that was also for calls their team had won. I don't think anybody actually cares if the frees are paid against them or for them as long as they are paid as little as possible.

You can list two anomalies that support your view but it pales in comparison to the number of games ruined by bad umpiring and I know you aren't stupid enough to not understand that.

I'll say it again, crowds in years past have been great and Friday night timeslots have remained the same. It's got almost nothing to do with why people aren't turning up in numbers not seen for 25 seasons.

Umpiring isn't suddenly the reason, it's been happening progressively for years and I reckon people are just fed up with it now. The game is over officiated and people smarter than you or I have been talking about it all season so I don't understand the "vocal minority" comment. It's one of the biggest issues in the game.
In every autoposy thread, there is complaints about what free kick the umps didn't pay so I don't buy the argument that people want their team to get less free kicks.

How is me listing some entertaining games with high free kick any different than you listing 1 game with a low free kick count and declaring it proves games are better with less free kicks? Are they only anomalies because they go against the umpiring is ruining everything argument? The amount of free kicks doesn't determine the quality of a game.

This is going no where. No matter how many times you repeat it, I still disagree that umpiring is having an impact on crowd numbers and while you are dismissing it, the feedback given to the AFL and Clubs about the Friday night time slot shows it is one barrier that stops certain demographics from attending those games.

Personally I don't think the umps are even a part of the reason for lower crowd numbers ,
1- Not being able to walk up and buy a ticket at the ground.
2- Office occupancy in the city is still well down so the people who would have left the office and gone to the pub for a beer before going to the game are not around and if you have been home all day I doubt you would want to travel back into the city on a cold winters night.
3- I think a lot more people would also have streaming services (Kayo ) since Covid hit and have got used to watching at home , I know even myself I don't feel as motivated to go and I'm a full AFL member and 4 train stops from Marval
4- The rolling fixture doesn't work , people like to sit down and plan their interstate trips
I'm sure there are more reasons such as rising costs , food , drinks ect but that's been happing since Jesus was a baby so I don't think the rising cost account for many

Personally I don't think the umps are even a part of the reason for lower crowd numbers ,
2- Office occupancy in the city is still well down so the people who would have left the office and gone to the pub for a beer before going to the game are not around and if you have been home all day I doubt you would want to travel back into the city on a cold winters night.
3- I think a lot more people would also have streaming services (Kayo ) since Covid hit and have got used to watching at home , I know even myself I don't feel as motivated to go and I'm a full AFL member and 4 train stops from Marval
4- The rolling fixture doesn't work , people like to sit down and plan their interstate trips
I'm sure there are more reasons such as rising costs , food , drinks ect but that's been happing since Jesus was a baby so I don't think the rising cost account for many
Point 2 is a great point. Especially for Friday night games there would have been heaps of city people that would go, but the city is so much quieter now.

It just seems so easy to watch games at home now and everyone got so used to it during Covid.

Yep. He said we're 12th-14th in the league across all the big stats. We're a hot mess right now all over the park.

Getting Steele back will straighten us up a bit. I’m back on to thinking top 4 isn’t gone yet. We were lucky that lots of others fell over too. We will see how they respond from this. Get a win this week and we are right back in it. Lose and it makes everything harder.

I don't know why they don't employ a 'no harm, no foul' guidance to umps like in basketball. Sick of hearing "technically it was there". If it doesn't impede the player or team then just let it go.

The umpiring has affected some. I know plenty who quite openly say theyre watching less this year than ever before because the game has gotten unwatchable at times.

I suspect many many other factors probably impact more but its a factor no doubt.

To me Kayo is the biggest issue. I never would have taken up Foxtel just for footy but Kayo is so cheap you don’t even think about it. I used to have fox in the old days but once premier league ended it was a waste. Kayo makes staying home too tempting to stay gone. When it wasn’t on free to air or only on the phone app it was pub or turn up.

Personally I don't think the umps are even a part of the reason for lower crowd numbers...

It is the umps.

The goal umps.

Ever since the AFL promoted but then eliminated the lab coats and hats.

Bring them back!!! 😠

Elephant in the room completely missed by the groupthink AFL inner circle.

60 frees a game is just ruining the spectacle

It’s not the only reason but it frustrates me. I find watching other games makes me rage and I turn off.

I don't know why they don't employ a 'no harm, no foul' guidance to umps like in basketball. Sick of hearing "technically it was there". If it doesn't impede the player or team then just let it go.

Exactly. Like when the ball flies 10 metres over the top of the pack and the ump pays a slight arm chop. None of those players were ever going to impact the play anyway.

In every autoposy thread, there is complaints about what free kick the umps didn't pay so I don't buy the argument that people want their team to get less free kicks.

How is me listing some entertaining games with high free kick any different than you listing 1 game with a low free kick count and declaring it proves games are better with less free kicks? Are they only anomalies because they go against the umpiring is ruining everything argument? The amount of free kicks doesn't determine the quality of a game.

This is going no where. No matter how many times you repeat it, I still disagree that umpiring is having an impact on crowd numbers and while you are dismissing it, the feedback given to the AFL and Clubs about the Friday night time slot shows it is one barrier that stops certain demographics from attending those games.
Honestly. I like complaining about the umps half as a joke. It's part of the game. The way I think about it is. They can pay the most bullshit over the top free thats borderline match fixing and if its in our favour my opinion will be that the umps are "FINALLY being fair for once". They pay a completely there free kick against us and I'll scream bloody murder.

I don't genuinely believe this. I can recognise when free kicks are genuinely there or when we've been sloppy. The free kick count doesn't have to be balanced 50/50 to be fair but being intelligent about this sort of stuff takes the fun out of football. I'd rather play the role of nuffie and pollute the overall footy discourse with my semi-satirical shit takes. That way you can't pick out the sarcastic takes and the genuine nuffie ones.

It has been something families have said is a deterrent for them attending friday night games for years. Add in that now people gotten use to watching the game from home, the increased cost of tickets/food/parking etc. it all adds up to wanting to stay home. Plus a lot more people are working from home these days, so it is a much greater effort to leave their house for a late start than it is to stay home and watch from a more comfortable set-up.

Whereas with the umpiring, it is the same whether you are at the ground or watching on the TV. If the umpiring was so horrific that it was turning people away, wouldnt we also see in that in the TV numbers? Those suggests that people are still watching. It just doesnt make much sense that umpiring would be the deterrent for people attending the game yet not stop them from watching on TV.
Depends on how the class TV numbers. I turn on a game on Kayo and regularily watch 10 minutes and turn off bored. You could say numbers are up when half switch off after a quarter.

When you think back to the 90s people would have watched one, maybe two games a week. Before that people only watched their own team live.

Maybe we just have access to so much footy that it makes going to the game less appealing. It has become a TV sport when it used to be a live one.

When you think back to the 90s people would have watched one, maybe two games a week. Before that people only watched their own team live.

Maybe we just have access to so much footy that it makes going to the game less appealing. It has become a TV sport when it used to be a live one.
Good point. I remember how annoying it was having to listen to the game on the radio when I was a kid.

I really enjoy going to a neutral match at the G. As a member, I watch for a while, go for a walk, have a beer, etc, and TBF at the game I don't give a toss about the umpiring as I know I will be out of there before the final siren. To invested in the Saints games.
Not many people are like me though and can just rock up to a game and wander in.

I really enjoy going to a neutral match at the G. As a member, I watch for a while, go for a walk, have a beer, etc, and TBF at the game I don't give a toss about the umpiring as I know I will be out of there before the final siren. To invested in the Saints games.
When we used to do a yearly boys trip the footy game HAD to be a nuetral game so we could actually enjoy it.

Honestly im more of a chance to head to any team other than the saints for the rest of the year after Fridays effort.

Hey all,

Not sure where to put this but just got back from overseas and payed for the watch AFL for a month, still subscribed for the next two weeks if anyone wants to take the risk of ruining their mood for a day of their trip like I did last Friday night watching.

Send me a PM and I’ll give you the log in details, save some cash

Hey all,

Not sure where to put this but just got back from overseas and payed for the watch AFL for a month, still subscribed for the next two weeks if anyone wants to take the risk of ruining their mood for a day of their trip like I did last Friday night watching.

Send me a PM and I’ll give you the log in details, save some cash
Gee you’re selling it. I’m sitting around a pool with no stress. Think I’ll watch on Kayo when I get back.

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion