Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

I was exclusively discussing the game day experience. I understand your points on the other topics and you're right about it. But I don't care about their revenue if their product has turned to crap, and their promoting gambling to get it. Overall I think the AFL has become a sick organization. They need a clean out.
But again, compared to mega-corrupt FIFA, UEFA & the like, they're pretty harmless.

The one thing FIFA and co do better than the AFL is not constantly changing the rules. Let the game be.

P
But again, compared to mega-corrupt FIFA, UEFA & the like, they're pretty harmless.

The one thing FIFA and co do better than the AFL is not constantly changing the rules. Let the game be.
Fifa knows they're custodians of the sport of soccer (football, whatever).

AFL is no longer the custodians of Aussie Rules, instead they are pushing the sport of AFL. They think they are the sport now. And unfortunately they've taken over many local leagues to enforce their way or the highway.

if you watch him at games he works very hard from one forward flank to the other 50-60 meter sprints providing an option
I do watch him and that’s great. But are we playing him too far from home? When we had Riewoldt and Bruce with him as well he kicked 44 goals from 17 games.
It’s also partly the reason why we need Wood and Dmac playing to be those extra marking options between the arcs so Membrey can stay closer to goal. Also bring Sharman in and King, Membrey and Sharman can all rotate between playing deep and playing high up the ground.

To me it’s common sense, and he’s not playing anywhere near enough footy deep in our forward 50

if you watch him at games he works very hard from one forward flank to the other 50-60 meter sprints providing an option

He’s definitely a hard worker it’s his defensive pressure that is more of an issue because no one else is doing it either. He plays as a tall forward and our other guys all offer minimal defensive pressure to off set it. Higgins is the same. He’s not tall but doesn’t have much pace or pressure to his game. Richmond have a heap of guys who lock the ball in and it’s the model Melbourne copied. Jackson is a 2 meter pressure forward and Pickett, Spargo, Neal-Bullen etc lock up their forward line.

They went through it with tobacco and alchohol which was replaced with...

Gambling.

I wouldnt have a clue how much of a drop in revenue that would be but any drop would mean a drop in profit and quality.

Again, i dont like it either, i dont gamble, i dont like the odds on the AFL website but trying to deny that money hasnt improved elements of the game like broadcasting and the like is naive.

Let's say, low 6 figs at suburban, mid 7 figs at local, 7-8 figs at VFL level, just due to addiction instance back in the 90's. We benched against the EDFL for example, and one person alone accounted for half the list and then some, such was the disparity. That was 1 club against 1 club.

If you're talking AFL as an entity, replace gambling with mining for example and you might have parity, tobacco and booze combined don't go close.

I always take my own food. Far cheaper and definitely more healthy.
Refuse to pay those prices, except for the very occasional beer.
We've all got very comfortable watching footy at home over the past two years, a few steps away from the kitchen for drinks and snacks.

I will still go to every home game I can, as I have a reserved seat, but the AFL are going to have to work very hard to get the average fan back.
I also believe the rolling fixture is a problem. People like to plan when and where they are going to travel well ahead of time.

I did the same, also have a reserved seat which I've also not used, rolling fixture just further queries the "why am I making the effort on short plans to go from me to them because they CBF finalising anything?" angle, where if clubs really want me bum on my seat, cover charge a cheuffer service, or you know bus at the terminal nearby and it might happen. Continue expecting the product to pull people from comfort, the product needs to be the attraction, and I have 2 decades of rule revisions that says you have a great product mired in shit.

If I want to see a game, I'll see local.
If I want to see AFL, I'll go to the theatre district to see a play.

P

AFL is no longer the custodians of Aussie Rules, instead they are pushing the sport of AFL. They think they are the sport now. And unfortunately they've taken over many local leagues to enforce their way or the highway.

AFL Commission = WWE Wrestling

Sport people enacting a skill, governance writing stories to provide entertainment for masses.

I do watch him and that’s great. But are we playing him too far from home? When we had Riewoldt and Bruce with him as well he kicked 44 goals from 17 games.
It’s also partly the reason why we need Wood and Dmac playing to be those extra marking options between the arcs so Membrey can stay closer to goal. Also bring Sharman in and King, Membrey and Sharman can all rotate between playing deep and playing high up the ground.

To me it’s common sense, and he’s not playing anywhere near enough footy deep in our forward 50
100% agree with all that

I have said once or twice Membrey - Sharman - King

When we did the states we saw the Rangers (NHL) and the Knicks (NBA Preseason) at Madison square garden pretty cheap. I think the Giants at MetLife was pretty exy ($200 a ticket for cheap seats) and then paid heaps for the Patriots at Foxborough.

If you’ve got 2 adults and 2 kids with tickets and food for an Afl game I doubt you’re getting much change from $250, it’s not sheep stations but it’s unaffordable for a lot.

I tried to get Tickets for a Barcelona match and they were crazy expensive but again You can’t just walk up. They are bought up by on sellers.

Lol rightio.

Im 35 so im old enough to remember Waverley and the good old days.

The broadcast is 100 times better than what it was. I dont like the gambling sponsorship either and im not advocating for it, just pointing out that nostalgia for the good old days doesnt mean they were better (we also used to be sponsored by a cigarette company so was that better too)?

I think some is probably old man nostalgia but that Cometti, Rex Hunt even Bruce era had character. Some how we’ve over homogenised it all. It’s lost some soul on the way to becoming schmick. Gambling shits me too. It’s a scourge and it’s hard to turn down cash but it’s not great regardless of the coffers.

I think theyve geared the game day experience more towards kids now (bright lights, bands, mascots) which i get. Its not for me so im pretty apathetic to it.

Bring back the Carlton Bluebirds you think?

Edit:.... ummm i meant the concept. The originals probably have wrinkles on their wrinkles now.

P

My wife has a friend who was married to a lawyer who was mates will the AFL hierarchy guys. It’s a real old boy’s network even more so than politics and law. The same pool of guys control it and promote each other. It’s a pretty small gene pool.

Sorry for boring ticketing question - approximately how much is an upgrade from GA to Level 2 at Marvel these days? Thanks.

De Goey: The media and their witch hunt of me and other AFL players needs to be held to account. It's just a couple of da boyz bein lads haha.

contract offer gets pulled

Also De Goey: Guys please, I didn't mean what I said, I apologise. Also, I have ADHD, may I have my contract back???

The amount of 'mental health' factors players are trying to prop up as causes for their indiscretions is starting to shit me, plenty of people have disorders or mental health issues and don't get multiple charges laid and act like ****wits. I can't believe we're still seriously debating whether we should recruit him or not.

De Goey: The media and their witch hunt of me and other AFL players needs to be held to account. It's just a couple of da boyz bein lads haha.

contract offer gets pulled

Also De Goey: Guys please, I didn't mean what I said, I apologise. Also, I have ADHD, may I have my contract back???

The amount of 'mental health' factors players are trying to prop up as causes for their indiscretions is starting to s**t me, plenty of people have disorders or mental health issues and don't get multiple charges laid and act like *******s. I can't believe we're still seriously debating whether we should recruit him or not.
You're right, people with mental health issues never use partying and drugs as a way to numb their issues. Totally horse shit.

You're right, people with mental health issues never use partying and drugs as a way to numb their issues. Totally horse s**t.

It’s not the drugs and partying, it’s the acting like an arseh*le when partying and claiming it’s a witch hunt when he gets called out, then reading the room and realising he’s going to lose out on a contract and crying “mental health” that I don’t like.

It’s a slap in the face to people who struggle with mental health issues but don’t act like complete ****wits.

It’s not the drugs and partying, it’s the acting like an arseh*le when partying and claiming it’s a witch hunt when he gets called out, then reading the room and realising he’s going to lose out on a contract and crying “mental health” that I don’t like.

It’s a slap in the face to people who struggle with mental health issues but don’t act like complete *******s.

The media are shit and do victimise though. They could do the same story with a huge amount of players but choose targets. He doesn’t have zero responsibility for his situation but the hounding probably does effect him mentally and makes escaping from Melbourne more attractive. It becomes a loop. They harass him he becomes more erratic they take pics and get more clicks. It’s a tried and tested technique.

It’s a slap in the face to people who struggle with mental health issues but don’t act like complete *******s.
It is a witch hunt when the media is acting like he’s done something wrong by going to a night club during his time off.

The media are s**t and do victimise though. They could do the same story with a huge amount of players but choose targets. He doesn’t have zero responsibility for his situation but the hounding probably does effect him mentally and makes escaping from Melbourne more attractive. It becomes a loop. They harass him he becomes more erratic they take pics and get more clicks. It’s a tried and tested technique.

They've definitely picked their mark with him, the thing that shits me is when he tries to absolve himself by citing mental health issues. He's taking his own pics and videos and releasing them as well, it's hardly the paparazzi staking out his house. I'm sure there are plenty of people like him, or doing worse than him, shit Sam Fisher just got charged for drug trafficking and we've had our own players have scandals, it's largely his attitude though and the fact that he has done it over and over. Everyone is a little bit of a knob end sometimes in their teenage years, maybe early 20's, but he's 27 now. This is less of a one off incident or a bad night and more about his character IMO. He would want to grow up fast.

I not sure him citing his ADHD diagnosis was intended as a defence or excuse of his behaviour. His apology was scripted and if youve ever heard DeGoey speak off the cuff its evident he didnt write it. It came across more to me as a "here is my full and frank situation and my apology for my actions".

Im not even defending him or it i just didnt think it came across as "I have ADHD so my being a flog isnt my fault"

It is a witch hunt when the media is acting like he’s done something wrong by going to a night club during his time off.
Personally i cant reconcile a professional AFL footballer wanting to piss off to Kuta for 5 days during the mid season break to sink piss but i am also NOT a professional AFL footballer so its a little silly to judge.

I think most people try to put themselves in his shoes and when you do that the decision to go is a tough one to understand. Safe to assume Jordys mind doesnt operate the way most other peoples does.

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion