Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

Degoey...I can see the attraction...but would his heart be in it? This is the big problem with a team like ours. Stars going to big clubs like Geelong are assured of success AND a good deal. All we offer is a super fund for life (If the player isn't as thick as two short planks) I can't help but shake the feeling that players think we're an easy target ripe for manipulation.
I think we're better off just sticking to the draft.

Go home factor, no contract renewal, more opportunity, more years etc...
Just a few.
Where is the issue then, we have offered more years than Collingwood which directly relates to more money, same with no contract renewal, more money with more opportunity, usually more money with go home bs factor.
It is only about money and nothing else. Do you think if St.Kild was one of three clubs in SA and a player came home and nom'ed the Saints, it is because they offered less money than the other two.

All about the $$$$

I thought his call about if you lie on the ground after the game you're a loser was a bit strange.
I love it.
He’s encourages the players to “be themselves” - satisfying the modern player who is apparently so touchy each needs their own set of unique instructions, all while demanding they uphold this basic standard.
Never lower yourself in front of your opponent.

Covered heaps in philosophy, as well as some of the great coaches in Matthews, Clarkson etc, it’s a no no for many reasons.

I love it.
He’s encourages the players to “be themselves” - satisfying the modern player who is apparently so touchy each needs their own set of unique instructions, all while demanding they uphold this basic standard.

Covered heaps in philosophy, as well as some of the great coaches in Matthews, Clarkson etc, it’s a no no for many reasons.

Compare it to years of Richo telling the Saints that they were shit but if they try really hard they might break even or arse a win. Or Ratts having us try to stop Melbourne winning instead of attacking the game on our terms..... for the last 10 years they've been our bitches but now we are theirs.

Compare it to years of Richo telling the Saints that they were s**t but if they try really hard they might break even or arse a win. Or Ratts having us try to stop Melbourne winning instead of attacking the game on our terms..... for the last 10 years they've been our bitches but now we are theirs.
I put it simply when we attack we play good footy, the moment we try to stop the other team we are shit.

Hell in the melbourne the game the moment the coaches went attack we played a hell of a lot better

I love it.

I can understand that he might not want the players to do it but the choice of words is odd to me, I wouldn't call someone that shows emotion after losing a game a "loser" I just think the choice of word was a bit off.

Degoey...I can see the attraction...but would his heart be in it? This is the big problem with a team like ours. Stars going to big clubs like Geelong are assured of success AND a good deal. All we offer is a super fund for life (If the player isn't as thick as two short planks) I can't help but shake the feeling that players think we're an easy target ripe for manipulation.
I think we're better off just sticking to the draft.
IF he comes to us we almost know for sure he doesn’t give a **** about success and only wants a paycheck. If he wanted success he’d either stay where he is or pick a team in finals.

As much as we like the saints we honestly don’t have a lot of attractive prospects other than “we can pay you”

Not a lot of exciting young players (from an external perspective) that scream “I HAVE to play alongside these guys. Eg. Delivery from Prime Paddy or next to some Brownlow medalists

IF he comes to us we almost know for sure he doesn’t give a * about success and only wants a paycheck. If he wanted success he’d either stay where he is or pick a team in finals.

As much as we like the saints we honestly don’t have a lot of attractive prospects other than “we can pay you”

Not a lot of exciting young players (from an external perspective) that scream “I HAVE to play alongside these guys. Eg. Delivery from Prime Paddy or next to some Brownlow medalists
I don't think that's the case at all, if he is being offered significantly more then why wouldn't he take it? At the end of the day it's a job, we have good players on our list and no doubt would be saying "we believe you can be a player that helps take us to the promised land". It wouldn't be like signing for a club that is miles off finals.

He doesn't even have an offer on the table from Collingwood at the moment.

I can understand that he might not want the players to do it but the choice of words is odd to me, I wouldn't call someone that shows emotion after losing a game a "loser" I just think the choice of word was a bit off.
I get it, large portions of the pop won’t like it, but they’re also not 3x premiership players or coach of the year winners.

He's very big on the positive psychology stuff. All the best teams have belief and a steeliness to them. It sounds like the sort of stuff that Choco was good at too. Just real self belief stuff. It's easy to lose and hard to get back. I can see why he wants it to be held on to. He's trained them in how to win close games and sets a quiet expectation that they are there to win not make up the numbers. Those young players are getting programmed for the rest of their careers. I'd rather that than Richo's cuck robots that he developed.

Well certainly a very entertaining weekend of footy, shame there's not a game today. The Petracca injury is an interesting one. Can't see how he plays next week personally. Apart from the fracture it seems he also has a nasty corkie. In fact looks like a few Dees are pretty banged up. Brisbane get Rayner back, I reckon they're a good chance for an upset if they can get this mcg voodoo sorted.

He's very big on the positive psychology stuff. All the best teams have belief and a steeliness to them. It sounds like the sort of stuff that Choco was good at too. Just real self belief stuff. It's easy to lose and hard to get back. I can see why he wants it to be held on to. He's trained them in how to win close games and sets a quiet expectation that they are there to win not make up the numbers. Those young players are getting programmed for the rest of their careers. I'd rather that than Richo's cuck robots that he developed.
I thought it was a bit much yesterday but watched the Sunday footy show and Browny made the point that it’s a reset on mentality.

If you’ve ever listened to Nick Maxwell talk about the 2010 draw he notes that the pies had their function, the players got together and essentially processed the game and went from “focusing on the lost opportinty to realizing we had another opportunity”. The complete opposite to how we did. The pies back then had some people who were around for 77 draw and used that experience.

I still think it was a touch over the top but it’s hard to argue with the logic.

I don't think that's the case at all, if he is being offered significantly more then why wouldn't he take it? At the end of the day it's a job, we have good players on our list and no doubt would be saying "we believe you can be a player that helps take us to the promised land". It wouldn't be like signing for a club that is miles off finals.

He doesn't even have an offer on the table from Collingwood at the moment.
According to another poster on the Jordan DeGoey trade Page

"Has agreed to 2 years with the money agreed on last week.

Not officially signed as the AFLPA need to sign off on a couple of the contract conditions.

Will be announced end of our season."

How much truth there is to that I'm not sure. But geez, if i had a 2 year offer in front of me and a 5 year offer, id take the bigger guarantee. You only get so long in pro sports....

On SM-F711B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not officially signed as the AFLPA need to sign off on a couple of the contract conditions.

How much truth there is to that I'm not sure. But geez, if I had a 2 year offer in front of me and a 5 year offer, if take the bigger guarantee. You only get so long in pro sports....

There is no doubt that is true.

Did he call anyone a loser though?

I thought he said we're not losers. That was his whole point.

I get it. Attitude is everything. Think a lot of our playing group could do with some lessons in that space. Look at the way Max drops his shoulders when things don't go our way.

How much truth there is to that I'm not sure. But geez, if i had a 2 year offer in front of me and a 5 year offer, id take the bigger guarantee. You only get so long in pro sports....

If he agreed to terms they would have announced it.

There's more to decisions like this than just money and length of contract. Let's be honest... we're hardly an attractive proposition right now.

This has been flying around since last week. People have been ringing in SEN saying take it to the bank and one of my mates reckons he's heard it from a very reliable source. At this time of year I don't believe too much until you see it in print but not sounding good at the moment. Our offer would be so much more than what they are offering so I think that while that's sitting there and no ink is on the contract there is always a chance.

De Goey would have been stupid to sign a contract before the finals, with the game he played yesterday he'll get a better offer from us and Collingwood.

I thought it was a bit much yesterday but watched the Sunday footy show and Browny made the point that it’s a reset on mentality.

If you’ve ever listened to Nick Maxwell talk about the 2010 draw he notes that the pies had their function, the players got together and essentially processed the game and went from “focusing on the lost opportinty to realizing we had another opportunity”. The complete opposite to how we did. The pies back then had some people who were around for 77 draw and used that experience.

I still think it was a touch over the top but it’s hard to argue with the logic.

Collingwood playing for about 3 months at the MCG with no travel was probably a bigger factor in them winning the replay, they were fresher than us.

We had to take our chance in the first GF when Collingwood did their usual GF choke, just a pity it didn't go to extra time as we probably would've won.

I get it, large portions of the pop won’t like it, but they’re also not 3x premiership players or coach of the year winners.
Well he has achieved nothing as a coach yet, I know he's being held up as the next Clarko already but let's see how their fans feel if they go out in straight sets next week.

Regardless of result I think they’d be happy to finish top 4 after 17th(!) last year.
Depends how you want to frame “achieved nothing” I suppose.
If it’s binary premiership or bust, you’re right, but not a bad start from the bloke.
Love that he states what he expects and holds everyone to it.

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion