Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

James Hird firming as the Dons "messiah"

Cracking Up Lol GIF by Rodney Dangerfield

I hear this all the time and imo it’s fantasy land. Hill isn’t a big name, bell was unreasonable and players go for success and money. Forget the background stories this is a business and we need to realise that or continue to founder.

You know we can’t compete on the level of collingwood/richmond for crowds etc so we need to be a club that nails draft and development. Where is the investment in that, no we‘re still looking for someone else‘s cast offs or head cases. Once we have that core and look like a finals team then you might load up.

We need to be shrewd.

In trade week we're like the country boy walking into the sideshow determined to win a prize while the carnies just smirk at our arrival.

If in danger or in doubt go local, dragons, stingrays and chargers or country as they have no affiliation. Sick of the constant drama with go home players so steering well clear of WA. Also you get that tight knit core all from the local area, all living within spitting distance just makes it that much easier to sell that vision we had with Lenny, roo and co.
Yep agree mate, I think it's part of the reason we had success in the mid and late 00's. Core group of young guys coming through together. We could top up with excellent mature age players but given their age they will be rotated in and out of the club every few years, we need at least 15 kids within a couple of years of each other committed to creating something special. Like you said, similar to how we did with Riewoldt Koschitzke Milne Goddard Dal Santo Ball Montagna Hayes Fisher Baker Clarke Blake Maguire

I hear this all the time and imo it’s fantasy land. Hill isn’t a big name, bell was unreasonable and players go for success and money. Forget the background stories this is a business and we need to realise that or continue to founder.

You know we can’t compete on the level of collingwood/richmond for crowds etc so we need to be a club that nails draft and development. Where is the investment in that, no we‘re still looking for someone else‘s cast offs or head cases. Once we have that core and look like a finals team then you might load up.
Yeh... When we got him he was a 3x premiership player and a BnF winner. Thats not exactly a nobody.

We then compounded it by offering him an eye watering contract.

You keep arguing this point like im disputing that it was a bad decision, im not, i hated it then and i hate it now but youre kidding yourself if you dont think us backing down on the monster contract we offered him wouldnt look poor. Walking away was probably the better option (especially now) but at the time Brad Hill was a semi big deal that we made a bigger deal, by the time we sat down with the dockers we were all in and walking away would have hurt us reputationally. Hurt us less than following through with the deal probably yeh but people saying it was a simple decision and we should have left him there are being over simplisitic in my view. Agree to disagree if you like but im not really arguing with you.

I'd dispute the bolded, theres a bunch of reasons players go (clubs status, family, opportunity).

He'd worked hard to take his reputation down into the toilet and now Crown are making him sound cool for being able to afford coke

They could have at least implied it was street meth cut with omo.
Would be far more in keeping with his reputation.

There may have been a little bit of talk about walking away but the sentiment from a majority of people was that Hill had qualities that we needed and we needed to bring good players into the club. I think it's unfair to hold them to account for that. If we had walked away and kept Acres the same folk would be criticising the club for sitting on their hands.
The whole footy world applauded that we got all five trade targets done.
We got an A+ for trading that year if I recall correctly. List management team were lauded bigtime.
Everyone, including the majority of people on here, were rapt with how things turned out.

Now, all of a sudden, because Hill has not turned out quite as well as expected, everyone's saying what a bad deal it was.
Talk about revisionism. :rolleyes:

Yeh... When we got him he was a 3x premiership player and a BnF winner. Thats not exactly a nobody.

We then compounded it by offering him an eye watering contract.

You keep arguing this point like im disputing that it was a bad decision, im not, i hated it then and i hate it now but youre kidding yourself if you dont think us backing down on the monster contract we offered him wouldnt look poor. Walking away was probably the better option (especially now) but at the time Brad Hill was a semi big deal that we made a bigger deal, by the time we sat down with the dockers we were all in and walking away would have hurt us reputationally. Hurt us less than following through with the deal probably yeh but people saying it was a simple decision and we should have left him there are being over simplisitic in my view. Agree to disagree if you like but im not really arguing with you.

I'd dispute the bolded, theres a bunch of reasons players go (clubs status, family, opportunity).
Yes there are more considerations than success and money especially when you get out of the top tier. I think the records show that few seem to find those other considerations enough to have then land at bottom clubs. Brad hill was a very successful player but certainly not a blockbuster trade for a game changing player. I’ll never buy the can’t walk away line, anyone who adopts that approach is negligent imo.

If only we could get opposition clubs to swallow that, anyway we’re going to see. Hill is contracted and north have made all the running, are you expecting a high draft pick for him.

The whole footy world applauded that we got all five trade targets done.
We got an A+ for trading that year if I recall correctly. List management team were lauded bigtime.
Everyone, including the majority of people on here, were rapt with how things turned out.

Now, all of a sudden, because Hill has not turned out quite as well as expected, everyone's saying what a bad deal it was.
Talk about revisionism. :rolleyes:

The media love it when clubs do shit, they don't really care whether it's good or bad, just that it gives them something to talk about

The media love it when clubs do s**t, they don't really care whether it's good or bad, just that it gives them something to talk about
Wasn't just the media - none of whom said it was a bad trade.
Was the majority on here who thought it was a real trading coup, including me.

It's really easy to be wise after the fact...as they say, hindsight is a perfect science.

Well the fact that we were so pot comitted in the throes of ousting the coach on a player who didn’t suit the new guys needs is pretty unique.
I didn’t say it was a good decision nor did I defend it, just said it was unique. As you note we could have walked away but we would have done some reputational damage most likely, I can’t think of a trace instance before Hill where that would have been true (and now it’s become more common).

So sure it’s bad but it was unique.

I reckon we’ve still done reputation damage. We look gullible and weak. I’d push StKilda around knowing that they’ll go to water and piss their pants if you thump the table. Next trade I’d triple what ever I wanted and expect us to pay it. No manager would think Hill was worth what we paid. Freo would have looked like a campaigner.

Yep agree mate, I think it's part of the reason we had success in the mid and late 00's. Core group of young guys coming through together. We could top up with excellent mature age players but given their age they will be rotated in and out of the club every few years, we need at least 15 kids within a couple of years of each other committed to creating something special. Like you said, similar to how we did with Riewoldt Koschitzke Milne Goddard Dal Santo Ball Montagna Hayes Fisher Baker Clarke Blake Maguire

I tried to argue this for the last decade. Now we are in the challenge cycle you all want to start again. The time to do that has passed. We aren’t rebuilding now. They will have another crack at adding some pieces hoping to push into finals. The dickheads have done an upside down rebuild and if we don’t fire next year we are in trouble.

Apparently Gags hasn't improved the list since 2018 but now we're in the challenge cycle :cool:

Yes there are more considerations than success and money especially when you get out of the top tier. I think the records show that few seem to find those other considerations enough to have then land at bottom clubs. Brad hill was a very successful player but certainly not a blockbuster trade for a game changing player. I’ll never buy the can’t walk away line, anyone who adopts that approach is negligent imo.

If only we could get opposition clubs to swallow that, anyway we’re going to see. Hill is contracted and north have made all the running, are you expecting a high draft pick for him.
Yeh again, never said we shouldn’t have walked away, just that it’s a bit simplistic to say we walk away and who cares. There is a bit to consider and the position was unique.

I reckon we’ve still done reputation damage. We look gullible and weak. I’d push StKilda around knowing that they’ll go to water and piss their pants if you thump the table. Next trade I’d triple what ever I wanted and expect us to pay it. No manager would think Hill was worth what we paid. Freo would have looked like a campaigner.
Maybe, ultimately we’ll never know. I think Freo might have looked bad but they retained a player they can argue they valued. We baulked at a player we’d comitted to.

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion