Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

Did I hear that right?

Umpire abuse, you put your arms out looking at the screen

Is that for real? Jesus christ

Umpires are ruining another game. 4 x 50 meter penalties, heaps of Geelong's score are when umpires are trying to change the outcome. They must take money because this is shit.

Did I hear that right?

Umpire abuse, you put your arms out looking at the screen

Is that for real? Jesus christ
You did hear that right

Triple M going off about it

AFL we will make you respect the umps lol it’s doing more damage than good

Sooner the umps learn it’s not about them the better

You did hear that right

Triple M going off about it

AFL we will make you respect the umps lol it’s doing more damage than good

Sooner the umps learn it’s not about them the better
I speak his name and ****! There he is

aladdin-genie.gif

They’re f&&king idiots and needs to realise no one goes to the footy to watch the umps
I sometimes wonder if what I'm watching is football anymore. Can't lay a finger on anyone and according to some umpires can't even look at the scoreboard for a replay.

This has to be the worst rule change of the last 20 years. It's disgraceful what the AFL has turned into.
Hodge was pretty pissed off about it, trying to reel himself in from going too hard given he's on live television but could hear it in his voice. I'm not surprised it got to this point though, it's such a subjective rule and really depends on what each umpire can handle in terms of "abuse". Obviously this umpire is more emotional than the rest if he thinks that was "abuse".

Kane Cornes showed a few potential 50m penalties from our match. He's right on a few, wrong on others.
Putting your arms out to appeal for holding the ball is not abuse, that's how you ask for holding the ball ffs. Showing the ump that you got arm chopped is not a 50m. They are appeals for a free kick, not demonstrative remonstrating.

Throwing your arms out to remonstate is the look the AFL is trying to remove, fair enough. But only idiots lump everything into one category.

Kane Cornes showed a few potential 50m penalties from our match. He's right on a few, wrong on others.
Putting your arms out to appeal for holding the ball is not abuse, that's how you ask for holding the ball ffs. Showing the ump that you got arm chopped is not a 50m. They are appeals for a free kick, not demonstrative remonstrating.

Throwing your arms out to remonstate is the look the AFL is trying to remove, fair enough. But only idiots lump everything into one category.
We've been lucky the last few weeks with Jack Steele constantly talking to umpires after he's on the mark after a free kick. It's a disgraceful rule.
The bullshit umpiring is killing my enjoyment of the sport itself.

Geelong are staging flogs. They'll get an umpire assisted win but at least the way Hawks play is admirable. Dogs and Cats are flopping disgraces. The AFL want staging it looks like. Someone has watched soccer and decided the drama is better than the sport.

Yep after that shocking call in the Brisbane game they had a showreel from the first few games of this round alone that were identical or worse, and not paid.

Bad enough it's a ridiculous rule but the fact that one umpire can decide to screw over a team for something that had been ignored 10 times before is inexcusable.

We've been lucky the last few weeks with Jack Steele constantly talking to umpires after he's on the mark after a free kick. It's a disgraceful rule.

It changes the ladder position of others. Someone should challenge them in court about the outcomes of their sanctioned cheating. Gunston just held- nothing. Geelong just have to flop and get free kicks on goal.

I sometimes wonder if what I'm watching is football anymore. Can't lay a finger on anyone and according to some umpires can't even look at the scoreboard for a replay.

Hodge was pretty pissed off about it, trying to reel himself in from going too hard given he's on live television but could hear it in his voice. I'm not surprised it got to this point though, it's such a subjective rule and really depends on what each umpire can handle in terms of "abuse". Obviously this umpire is more emotional than the rest if he thinks that was "abuse".
Next it will be "you wouldn't make eye contact with me".......

Not having an umpire on both sides of the pack is just an embarrassment to what is suppose to be a professional sport. Ridiculous guessing game and easy to cheat

And yet Hewitt did the exact definition of the rule in the last minute against port yesterday that may have changed the outcome and no call. Just another rule they pick and choose to call on depending on which team they want to win

It changes the ladder position of others. Someone should challenge them in court about the outcomes of their sanctioned cheating. Gunston just held- nothing. Geelong just have to flop and get free kicks on goal.
There needs to be some kind of independent body that oversees the quality of umpiring in the sport. In boxing there's avenues to challenge a judge's decision if it's grossly unfair (which unfortunately happens a lot in that sport), but it seems like the AFL has an umpiring department made up of former umpires. Kind of pointless I reckon. There needs to be some level of upholding the integrity of the sport, and we'd be stupid to think umpires always get it right so the industry as a whole needs to come to the realisation that this is the case and be accepting of an umpire or umpires having regular independent reviews, calling out specific decisions, and sanctioning umpires if their decisions are grossly inadequate.

It has become a joke how much of a free pass they get. They shouldn't be free of the repercussions for bad decisions.

Umpires are ruining another game. 4 x 50 meter penalties, heaps of Geelong's score are when umpires are trying to change the outcome. They must take money because this is shit.
Yet when you said it earlier you were 100% wrong. That suggests you are looking at the game with one eye so it’s hard to take you seriously. I’d suggest hawthorn certainly have more goals through free kicks

Next it will be "you wouldn't make eye contact with me".......
Seriously wouldn't be surprised if it gets to that. Given it's a subjective rule, if an ump is having a bad day who knows what he deems abuse and if he wants to punish a side or not.

There needs to be some kind of independent body that oversees the quality of umpiring in the sport. In boxing there's avenues to challenge a judge's decision if it's grossly unfair (which unfortunately happens a lot in that sport), but it seems like the AFL has an umpiring department made up of former umpires. Kind of pointless I reckon. There needs to be some level of upholding the integrity of the sport, and we'd be stupid to think umpires always get it right so the industry as a whole needs to come to the realisation that this is the case and be accepting of an umpire or umpires having regular independent reviews, calling out specific decisions, and sanctioning umpires if their decisions are grossly inadequate.

It has become a joke how much of a free pass they get. They shouldn't be free of the repercussions for bad decisions.
They get zero free pass. That’s childish rubbish. They are reviewed like all players. Unfortunately idiots at local footy are stuffing it up for the kids to continue to umpire. Then social media stuffs it up more. And the less junior umpires you have the less quality to have umpiring afl footy. The rule is a great rule. Abuse has dropped so much at local footy. The interutation by some umpires is the issue but it ain’t the rule. As for today apart from a couple of ridiculous 50’s they have done well. I’m guessing those not happy today want the hawks to win

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion