List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo

I wasn't sure where to post this, but I want to raise a glass to Bailey Banfield. Banfield actually signed a two year deal with the club recently. Tonight, Bailey (and let's just assume he handles his own social media) made the effort to 'like' every positive post people contributed to him and his re-signing. It's a small thing, but it's really a big thing to do for his fans. He's not the most talented, or the most popular, but that guy truly bleeds purple. Banfield is humble, and has always accepted he so often gets the role of 'sub'. He hasn't gone out seeking $$ or the admiration of other clubs.

Some weeks Banfield can be a super star, and other weeks he can frustrate the s**t out of us.

I've promised myself I wont buy a Banfield badge and jinx him like I've done to Hogan, Blakely, Bewley, Acres and ohhh so many others!

Going forward, it's the Banfields of the club who make me proud to be a Freo supporter.

Bailey posted a photo of himself with Son Son celebrating a goal and wrote, "Signed til 2024 - stoked to have the chance to keep building with this group and the Freo family".

The most important words being have the chance.

I hope Banfield has more on field opportunities this year, and I hope he really shines!
Agree. It's laughable. Posters on here continuously bag him out on. Says he has become too selfish, when he kicks 18 goals on limited game time, 17 behinds & still dishes out 8 goal assists.

These so called expert list management begrudge him 2 year contract, which is probably on least pay out of the top 30 and not even good enough as depth. Yet they then look for fringe reject players from other clubs to hype up lol.

There’s something very absurd about the AFL contract and free agency rules when losing a player to free agency brings a better return than losing them to a trade.
That is the whole point of "pre-agency" trades.

It's why you will hear rumours about, say, Carlton considering trades for McKay this year. Maybe they could score a better result this year than if he walks as a free agent next year.

The paywalled West text from grumpy old man Mick Malthouse;

Mick Malthouse slams Fremantle Dockers players requesting trades, including Rory Lobb

Premiership coach and football legend Mick Malthouse has fired up at Fremantle’s band of wantaway players, including questioning the integrity of blonde bombshell Rory Lobb.

Malthouse said Lobb needed to lift his output to match his audacious hair-style and urged Fremantle to “skin” whoever they trade with for the 29-year-old.

The West Coast and Collingwood premiership mentor questioned the key forward’s motivation for requesting a trade away from the Dockers for the second-year running in a wide-ranging rant ahead of Fremantle’s bumper trade period.

“If you colour your hair that way anything could happen, really fair dinkum,” Malthouse said.

“If you are going to be six foot eight and colour your hair white, you need to kick five goals a game, get 45 tap-outs, all going to your teammate.

“I don’t even know what colour boots he wears because I haven’t got down that far yet, but really, he wants to move away from Fremantle.

“I tell you what, I hope they skin them alive, because if he is contracted get everything you possibly can — if a bloke wants to walk like that, I have to question his integrity.”

The Dockers informed Lobb at an exit meeting this week they will be holding him to his contract — which expires at the end of next season — despite him requesting a trade to the Western Bulldogs.

Swingman Griffin Logue, winger Blake Acres and fringe midfielder Darcy Tucker also requested moves away from the club.

Malthouse said he was “astounded” players were jumping ship from Fremantle as the club pushes for more finals appearances.

“Once you get past your first game or your first year, all of a sudden it becomes relevant to play in finals,” he said.

“You’ve got players playing for Fremantle, they are already regarded over in the east as a very good side that could keep going and get better. Now the heart has been ripped out of them.

“Why would Logue go to North Melbourne, who are — yes they’re going to be coached by Alastair Clarkson, outstanding coach — but they still seem to be a long way from where Fremantle are?

“It just makes no sense when you see so many players sacrificing being part of a premiership side.

“This is where managers should encourage their players to stick loyal and stick with what tomorrow or the next year that potentially Fremantle have got to offer the football world — which is quite exciting really.”

Mick's disgust at Rory's hair colour is priceless.

GIF by Giphy QA

As we might be in the market for a backup ruck/forward who might even make it as a full time forward I’d like to see us have a look at Darcy Fort from Brisbane. He is contracted thru 2023 but with Brisbane looking to get Josh Dunkley and needing to get lots of points for Will Ashcroft they might need to move a player or two on. He is a great set shot at goal and could be a very handy Lobb replacement.

Reckon Kangaroos getting a Priority Pick is a joke.
You get rewarded for mediocrity if you are a VFL club

If a side that finishes last two years in a row (and second last the year prior) doesn’t get a priority pick I don’t know who does tbh.

FWIW I think it was better when priority picks were a bit more frequently handed out. Now we see teams be sh**e for 6-8 years quite regularly. Outside of Carlton in the 2000s I cannot think of a side that regularly finished bottom 4/bottom 6 for a decent period of time in that period. Priority picks had a lot to do with that.

Don’t expect many people to agree with this opinion but I reckon its in the AFL’s best interests to give out more. Should be given out on a ‘trade or lose them’ basis though. It’s not good for footy to ever have a team as rubbish as North Melbourne or West Coast was this year. West Coast have had one bad year so you wait for them but North Melbourne has been seriously sh** for a number of years.

Mick Malthouse slams Fremantle Dockers players requesting trades, including Rory Lobb

Premiership coach and football legend Mick Malthouse has fired up at Fremantle’s band of wantaway players, including questioning the integrity of blonde bombshell Rory Lobb.

Malthouse said Lobb needed to lift his output to match his audacious hair-style and urged Fremantle to “skin” whoever they trade with for the 29-year-old.

The West Coast and Collingwood premiership mentor questioned the key forward’s motivation for requesting a trade away from the Dockers for the second-year running in a wide-ranging rant ahead of Fremantle’s bumper trade period.

“If you colour your hair that way anything could happen, really fair dinkum,” Malthouse said.

“If you are going to be six foot eight and colour your hair white, you need to kick five goals a game, get 45 tap-outs, all going to your teammate.

“I don’t even know what colour boots he wears because I haven’t got down that far yet, but really, he wants to move away from Fremantle.

“I tell you what, I hope they skin them alive, because if he is contracted get everything you possibly can — if a bloke wants to walk like that, I have to question his integrity.”

The Dockers informed Lobb at an exit meeting this week they will be holding him to his contract — which expires at the end of next season — despite him requesting a trade to the Western Bulldogs.

Swingman Griffin Logue, winger Blake Acres and fringe midfielder Darcy Tucker also requested moves away from the club.

Malthouse said he was “astounded” players were jumping ship from Fremantle as the club pushes for more finals appearances.

“Once you get past your first game or your first year, all of a sudden it becomes relevant to play in finals,” he said.

“You’ve got players playing for Fremantle, they are already regarded over in the east as a very good side that could keep going and get better. Now the heart has been ripped out of them.

“Why would Logue go to North Melbourne, who are — yes they’re going to be coached by Alastair Clarkson, outstanding coach — but they still seem to be a long way from where Fremantle are?

“It just makes no sense when you see so many players sacrificing being part of a premiership side.

“This is where managers should encourage their players to stick loyal and stick with what tomorrow or the next year that potentially Fremantle have got to offer the football world — which is quite exciting really.”
Grampa Simpson Meme GIF by MOODMAN

All successful teams need to take haircuts to keep the squad together.

I get that Logue was played out of position but going to North Melbourne says a lot. He isn’t interested in winning and playing finals. Maybe it’s a blessing that he is leaving if he doesn’t commit to winning.

Acres is soft mentally. Offered a performance based contract by us but leaves the safe money. The salesman who wants a commission only contract has more steel than the salesman who wants a retainer.

Lobb in the last year of his front loaded contract wants out for a higher pay packet. Money over success. No real commitment to winning.

Tucker and Meek I’m ok with as they are going for more opportunities.

Bell on RL

“Given his contractual status and his
importance to the structure of the
team, a trade would not be possible”

But apparently he’s going to change his mind and accept a pick in the 20s…

I’ll eat my hat if Bell does

That is the whole point of "pre-agency" trades.

It's why you will hear rumours about, say, Carlton considering trades for McKay this year. Maybe they could score a better result this year than if he walks as a free agent next year.
Sure, but in Logue’s situation he is out of contract but not a free agent, so he never has a “pre-agency” year. In hindsight, he should have been contracted for next year. We should be trying very hard to make sure no good players come out of contract before 8 years. We need to adjust to the new paradigm of long contracts.

As much as it shocks me to the core, I couldn't agree with Mick any more. I mean, I don't care so much for his comments about the way Lobb looks as that is irrelevant to me if he was on the pitch and performing well; but in regards to the 'integrity' of it all, and the position Fremantle as a club HAS worked so hard to put itself in, potentially on the brink of Premiership success after all this time...it does show you how loyalty is an almost mythical thing in sports, especially these days. I suppose the one thing he forgot to really include in his analysis was the MONEY...money money money. Why would Logue trade Freo for North?! No other reason Mick than shoring up his future with some big dollars, whack-a-doodle moolahs! And then there's the Jackson thing and freeing up capspace, which might have one eye on the future of the Serongs, Brayshaws and Youngs of this world - which I can wholeheartedly understand.

I don't blame them from a certain point of view, let's not rule out the impact Covid has played on the financial landscapes; me and the wife moved out of our last rental home and into her mum's March last year (with disastrous consequences) because of the rental price-hikes and since we have they have increased that property by $70 dollars to the next leasees. There was no way we could have afforded a $70 a week increase with our small home business, it's left us in no man land and I dare say it's had those paying for that in more ways than one. Anyway, back to Fremantle...

The integrity point is a good one, as although Freo finds itself with players it needs to squeeze into its best 22 whilst it's on the 'rise' and that poses any problems for any number of clubs in that boat, but it's baffling to think 3 of the 5 wantaways are West Australians, so to me it does show how the landscape has changed post 2020 Covid. I think player movement will become more frequent as the years roll on and they sweat over their futures with the money they may or may not earn - especially as it's a brutal sport and careers can be short, or cut short by the potential of injuries etc, although it will be hard to feel comfortable the players you support are committed to the cause and in it for the long run.

Tough biscuits

Logue will go PSD. Nothing surer.
Wont happen, there would be a lot of blood lost between Young and the Dockers if this happened. Young may hold it as a bit of a threat over us initially to get the Lobb deal done but we all know we will cave eventually. Unfortunately we have to go through the games of playing egos and everyone wanting to win over the other.

The problem is North won’t be in any rush to complete the Logue deal. All teams have a bit to work through but we have heaps. North, not so much.

I fully expect them to plonk a F2 down and wait. We’ll need to complete other deals too and I’d hope the Logue deal isn’t required to complete them.

The problem is North won’t be in any rush to complete the Logue deal. All teams have a bit to work through but we have heaps. North, not so much.

I fully expect them to plonk a F2 down and wait. We’ll need to complete other deals too and I’d hope the Logue deal isn’t required to complete them.
I like to think given the PP’s haven’t been released and everyone in clubland will know who North are getting in the off-season, the PPs are basically being given so whoever North bring in is treated as a FA. Everyone will be on the same page that the PP picks are for the players they are bringing in and they aren’t to dick teams around

Yeah but there’s also news around Brad Hill, who is contracted. He won’t go to North for peanuts.

Wont happen, there would be a lot of blood lost between Young and the Dockers if this happened. Young may hold it as a bit of a threat over us initially to get the Lobb deal done but we all know we will cave eventually. Unfortunately we have to go through the games of playing egos and everyone wanting to win over the other.

Young had no obligation to keep Freo happy. He acts with the best interests of his clients. Logue wants to go to North. The PSD gets him to North. Good guy Logue will just say it was out of his hands. There’s a very real chance Lobb will still be playing for Freo next year.

North would be crazy not to use the PSD in this particular situation. I would be disappointed as North supporter if literally anything was given back to Freo.

Taking stock, suppose we do trade out all of Logue, Acres, Lobb, Meek, Tucker, Mundy & delist Blakely, bring in Jackson and Sharp. Here’s what our 2023 list looks like:

FB: Walker, Pearce, Ryan
HB: Clark, Cox, Young
C: O’Driscol, Brayshaw, Aish
HF: Walters, Jackson, Frederick
FF: Tabs, Amiss, Schultz
FOL: Darcy, Serong, Brodie

Bench: Fyfe, Chapman, Switowski, Banfield

Depth:
Backs: Hamling, Wilson Hughes

Mids: Johnson, Erasmus, Sharp, Worner, Henry

Forwards: Treacy, Sturt, Kuek

Ruck: Benning??

Still unsigned:
Western
Crowden

Looking at that, we need to either hold Lobb or Meek or bring in another ruck as backup, hard as they’ll be behind Darcy and Jackson, maybe Neale from Geelong as a back up Ruck/Forward would be nice?
Lobb is contracted he’s not going anywhere. Let him have a sook. He will front up at preseason like he did last year and expect another big season from him to boost his trade currency

List Mgmt. 2022 List Management: Draft, Trade and FA Pt2: Electric Boogaloo