Training 2022 Pre-season

I feel the need for a footy fix.
So I am looking forward to the intraclub this avo.
I wonder if they will still play a best v the rest or mix it up a bit?
Best v rest is my guess
They also may play 4 quarters today instead of three last week
Maybe a couple of changes only depending on players workloads and if someone has a slight injury

If Lachie gets back to his 2020 form he is every chance of another Brownlow... although he'd probably prefer a Norm Smith, he's looked great and back to full fitness this pre season.
His pre-season form and fitness looks ominous...fingers crossed. I imagine the WA decision not to open their borders on 5th February would have been very disappointing news for the Neale family and so many other families in similar circumstances.

I think you can get away with someone like Matho as sub if you have positional flexibility already built into your 22. We do have that but the issue is that Matho is a bit like Neale and particularly Lyons in his strengths and certainly his weaknesses are more pronounced. If Lyons was someone like Bontompelli, who can play half a dozen roles, then Matho could be carried as the sub if he was seen as the next best player. Unfortunately, when you already have one and arguably two positionally inflexible inside mids in the 22, carrying a third as the sub is problematic.
Yeah that's a good point.

Lachie is pretty dynamic when fit, reasonable pace, but is still an inside mid.

Essentially Mathieson, Neale and Lyons in the same side is I think one too many. I am not a huge Mathieson fan but I understand him getting a game when Neale or in particular Lyons are injured, and he has had some decent games. But I would never have him sub for the reason you outlined. He also had some quite poor games as sub v Saints and Dees. Of course it's not his job to turn things around singe handedly but in particular v saints, we were smashed in the midfield and he had no impact.

Couple of early observations..

Lohmann running laps, so don't be too concerned about the moonboot photo from the other day.

Starce in yellow which seems to be the possibles, training with the midfield. Edit: Still in yellow but warming up with maroon team (probables)

Hippy, Smith, Zorko and Matho running laps as well.

Fort looks like he is playing this week.

Couple of early observations..

Lohmann running laps, so don't be too concerned about the moonboot photo from the other day.

Starce in yellow which seems to be the possibles, training with the midfield. Edit: Still in yellow but warming up with maroon team (probables)

Hippy, Smith, Zorko and Matho running laps as well.

Fort looks like he is playing this week.
Feel like we have barely seen Zorko play this pre-season. Has he got an injury or just helping him through the pre-season as he is just running laps a lot.

Seems that Dev, Noah, Darcy Fort and Harry Sharp are all probables today. McFadyen back to possibles with Fort’s presence.

if you follow Dom Fay on twitter he is also giving some updates and answering a few questions, these were his comments at the half :

Half time now. Bit more even that quarter. Bailey & Rayner still the standouts, and Lachie Neale is very much back to his best. Reckon Noah Answerth is playing round 1 too. He’s had plenty of it off half back.

Not sure if Charlie Cameron got a disposal all game.
Just played 3 x 20min quarters again.

Yeah that and Answerth looking pretty rusted on are the key takeaways for me. Rayner popping up everywhere and Neale looking super agile.
Jaxon Prior, Fullarton and AhChee the standouts for the yellow team.

Training 2022 Pre-season