2023/2024 Gold Coast Draft & Trade periods

North posters on their board seem quite keen to split pick 1 for multiple first rounders as they already have so many young mids and would like a couple first rounders to target some key position prospects such as Busslinger, Cadman, Jefferson ect. If the Suns traded up to pick 1 and drafted Wardlaw the Suns midfield would be insane! Miller, Rowell, Anderson, Hollands and Wardlaw. All five of them are powerful, contested beasts. Scary proposition for other clubs. I couldn't think of another midfield in the comp the Suns couldn't match with that group.
Think it makes sense for both North and wc. Wc basically get a free pick if they still get the man they want at pick 5.

I’m pretty sure he had already 4 hamstring injuries this year. Surely, it got to be concern.

His soft tissue injuries definitely have to be classed as a weakness in his player ratings.

But has he been rushed back too early after each injury to play as many games as possible in his draft year?

Or does the kid just have dodgey hammys that will curse him for years to come? Crystal ball stuff.

I reckon Wardlaw could still be available at pick 7, alot of teams around us can't afford a risky pick.

North - Don't need a mid
North - PP x2? Who knows
Eagles - No chance they pick an "injury prone" mid thats all they got rid now eg. Yeo, Shuey, Sheed
GWS - They could probably afford to pick Wardlaw but they should continue drafting quality talls
Crows - If they even keep their pick, they would go for SA Talent if not a goalkicking mid as Laird/Keays already in Wardlaw mould
Essendon - Same as eagles, no way.
Hawks - Yeah they could probably pick Wardlaw, don't see why they wouldn't

Hope you don't mind the intrusion guys.....

Been thinking, with all your picks (9!) and what is becoming a pretty complete list profile, I hope you guys move up the draft and focus on direct needs rather than take a punt on 5-6 players.

From a personal point of view, I hope WC trade pick 2 for 5 plus 12 (assuming you guys get it from Brisbane, which is obvious). or even 2 for 5 + 7 with our 2nd next year (but I know that is wishful thinking!)

I can really see Busslinger being a perfect fit as he offers more intercept marking than Luko, allowing him to be more attacking.

As for helping with some outside speed, ask for Lachie Scholl to be part of the Rankine trade. Kid can play and should be getting more games than he is!

Eagles or North will take him. Bookmark this post. That sort of talent doesn't disappear with a couple of hammys
It doesn't, but I will bet good money (monoply of course!) that he will slide past WC's pick 2, if WC still have that pick.

NM have heaps of mids and I believe Clarkson will want more versatility or might even try and split the pick.

WC I think will want some one a bit more 'outsite/in' with a bit more dash and if it wasn't for his flight risk, I'd say they wouldn't trade back and get Sheezal.

Hope you don't mind the intrusion guys.....

Been thinking, with all your picks (9!) and what is becoming a pretty complete list profile, I hope you guys move up the draft and focus on direct needs rather than take a punt on 5-6 players.

From a personal point of view, I hope WC trade pick 2 for 5 plus 12 (assuming you guys get it from Brisbane, which is obvious). or even 2 for 5 + 7 with our 2nd next year (but I know that is wishful thinking!)

I can really see Busslinger being a perfect fit as he offers more intercept marking than Luko, allowing him to be more attacking.

As for helping with some outside speed, ask for Lachie Scholl to be part of the Rankine trade. Kid can play and should be getting more games than he is!
I think the pick swap makes sense for both clubs. Not sure if we will go with Busslinger after going mac Andrew last year but time will tell. General feel on here is we go hollands with our pick 7, so hopefully we get Brisbane's and pair that with 5.

Nothing wrong with getting Busslinger with Mac.

Mac can play anywhere and Busslinger is a massive need

It doesn't, but I will bet good money (monoply of course!) that he will slide past WC's pick 2, if WC still have that pick.

NM have heaps of mids and I believe Clarkson will want more versatility or might even try and split the pick.

WC I think will want some one a bit more 'outsite/in' with a bit more dash and if it wasn't for his flight risk, I'd say they wouldn't trade back and get Sheezal.
Feel like it would be silly to pass on him. Don't think Tsatas, Clark or Hewett are on Georges level.

Looking at the players still available Dunkley and Logue look the most appealing, either would make a huge difference to the side. Whether they want to come to the GC is another matter of course.
Oh, I wish. If we landed a player of actual merit like one of these two then we know we have made it as a club. Dunkley would slot in nicely and is the right age and talent to stack our mids. Logue could be handy off half-back, but I’d prefer a proper KPD with the right size.

We’ve been pretty successful at brining in role players (Ellis, Markov, Chol, Casboult—just ignore Atkins for now) and the draft picks have been mostly fine, so we have a good young core and some experience.

But landing a genuine “big fish” that can catapult us forward has not happened in many, many years.

Nothing wrong with getting Busslinger with Mac.

Mac can play anywhere and Busslinger is a massive need
A great trade manager once said..

Never have a good enough spine.
If they are there… you take them.

Busslingers defence aerial ability and attacking ability would really benefit our backline.

We all know Ballard is one of the best marks in the game.. we need to get him free

A great trade manager once said..

Never have a good enough spine.
If they are there… you take them.

Busslingers defence aerial ability and attacking ability would really benefit our backline.

We all know Ballard is one of the best marks in the game.. we need to get him free
It's an interceptors game now, best way to start an attack. Busslinger/Collins/Ballard/Andrew oh yes and Graham

Esava ratagolea anyone? Moved to centre half back and really impressing, can't get a regular game at Geelong. Big, athletic and strong, would improve the key defensive posts which are a massive liability.

He’s big, athletic, strong and not very good at football. Hard pass.

Oh, I wish. If we landed a player of actual merit like one of these two then we know we have made it as a club. Dunkley would slot in nicely and is the right age and talent to stack our mids. Logue could be handy off half-back, but I’d prefer a proper KPD with the right size.

We’ve been pretty successful at brining in role players (Ellis, Markov, Chol, Casboult—just ignore Atkins for now) and the draft picks have been mostly fine, so we have a good young core and some experience.

But landing a genuine “big fish” that can catapult us forward has not happened in many, many years.
I know there is probably no chance he's interested in moving to the Suns, but Dunkley would transform the Suns. He's a star and largely being wasted by Crazy Bevo. Just needs to be let loose to hunt the ball. Imagine a midfield of Dunkley, Miller, Anderson and Rowell with cameo's from Swallow, Hollands and Davies.

Dunkley to Port is gaining a lot of momentum

Wonder if Darcy Parish would be gettable given the instability at Essendon. Doesn’t seem to be enjoying his footy there. We would have a surplus of first round picks to get it done.

We should definitely be looking at the Bombers. All clubs should be.

We should be making calls to Parish, Merrett, McGrath, Redman and more.