2023/2024 Gold Coast Draft & Trade periods

Any chance for Adam tomlinson with recent reports?

Any talk about over payments being an issue of previous management is a little deceiving as if the player has signed a contract in the last 5 years ( and I would say that’s all of them) them that’s in the Dew / Cameron era and that is directly attributable to the current regime. It appears they are now correcting but it’s an error of their own making

I'm guessing there was an issue with the payments over the last 5 years as we have just recently bought in Wayne Campbell to help out.

Dew has nothing to do with player contracts, it's mostly Wayne Campbell now and Craig Cameron.
We are definitely more hesitant now to offer big contracts to borderline best 22 players.

It has a bit to do with previous management as you can't pay Bowes 400k in his third season and tell him you have to take a pay cut in his 5th season.

As players develop they usually earn more money.

We are currently in the same boat at GWS with over paying players to stay, at least we don't have 1/4 of our salary locked into 2 players like GWS.

Until the AFL step in and try to fix this it's going to be a reoccurring issue with expansion clubs.

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

It’s been a slow burn but I think overpaying players had to be done at the time to avoid more players leaving
And that makes sense, clearly we’re a little too generous in some cases

Any chance for Adam tomlinson with recent reports?

Soft as Luko, can’t even find a role for Luko so would be pretty hard to fit Tomlinson in

Fair enough, haven't really followed him recently to be fair. Thought he may have been a decent upgrade on Graham but by the sounds they are not really comparable

One thing is that 3-4 years ago we were easily the youngest list and we still had to pay min 95%, so obviously somebody had to get overpaid, even young players. But no doubt generally Suns and GWS pay/paid extra to keep players.

The current situation is interesting as I believe after Rankine leaving we don't have to dump salary urgently. All players mentioned - Sharp, Fiorini, Corbett, Bowes, Sexton - their contracts expire in 2023 except Bowes (2024). Corbett is out of contract as is Burgess, Markov, Tsitas, Constable. Obviously, the last 2 are on peanuts. Don't forget Day, Thompson contracts also expire in 2023. That's some serious money.

If you believe Herald numbers (Miller, King) it would confirm the GC Bulletin article that recently Suns signed players for a little less than what they would get somewhere else.

It looks to me that we decided to limit overpaying and actually trying to create cap space by spending only 95% and accumulate funds for a 1-2 top players on the market next 1-2 year (or even this year, but I seriously doubt) or use it on Anderson, Rowell if we have to overpay them.

Another aspect is as players mature, we select players we want to keep. We can't keep them all and consequently some only as depth on good coin. Pretty obvious it's Davies, Hollands over Fiorini, Bowes. Flanders also looks in. We probably keep Constable as cheap depth.

Personally, I don't think we are even close to GWS situation. I don't believe we have any player on 1M plus. By all reports, GWS have 4 and on long-term contracts (Coniglio, Greene, Whitfield, Kelly). Rankine is the only player from Suns best 22. You could argue 4 best 22 (2 best 5-10) are leaving GWS.

In future, we will still have to overpay to attract players from other clubs (all clubs do) unless it's their last chance (Holman, Constable, Casboult) but you would hope that majority players on the list will be willing to stay for a bit less due to culture, camaraderie, finals lure. Bringing too many top picks means 400K in 3-4th year and more pressure down the track while sorting them out. More role players like Farrar and Holman, good academy kids are gold for us.

Considering how many picks we already have and number of players potentially leaving/being pushed, get ready for some one-sided trades. Looking forward for melts.

Looks like he should be hanging around Frank Street Labrador.
He's extremely unpopular in the recruitment circles. Every Club dreads dealing with this clown.
He has certainly gone 2 knuckles deep in to us on several occasions, Saad and 2MP are prime examples

Looks like he should be hanging around Frank Street Labrador.
He's extremely unpopular in the recruitment circles. Every Club dreads dealing with this clown.

He has to win trades to keep his job as the team doesn't win

One thing is that 3-4 years ago we were easily the youngest list and we still had to pay min 95%, so obviously somebody had to get overpaid, even young players. But no doubt generally Suns and GWS pay/paid extra to keep players.

The current situation is interesting as I believe after Rankine leaving we don't have to dump salary urgently. All players mentioned - Sharp, Fiorini, Corbett, Bowes, Sexton - their contracts expire in 2023 except Bowes (2024). Corbett is out of contract as is Burgess, Markov, Tsitas, Constable. Obviously, the last 2 are on peanuts. Don't forget Day, Thompson contracts also expire in 2023. That's some serious money.

If you believe Herald numbers (Miller, King) it would confirm the GC Bulletin article that recently Suns signed players for a little less than what they would get somewhere else.

It looks to me that we decided to limit overpaying and actually trying to create cap space by spending only 95% and accumulate funds for a 1-2 top players on the market next 1-2 year (or even this year, but I seriously doubt) or use it on Anderson, Rowell if we have to overpay them.

Another aspect is as players mature, we select players we want to keep. We can't keep them all and consequently some only as depth on good coin. Pretty obvious it's Davies, Hollands over Fiorini, Bowes. We probably keep Constable as cheap depth.

Personally, I don't think we are even close to GWS situation. I don't believe we have any player on 1M plus. By all reports, GWS have 4 and on long-term contracts (Coniglio, Greene, Whitfield, Kelly). Rankine is the only player from Suns best 22. You could argue 4 best 22 (2 best 5-10) are leaving GWS.

In future, we will still have to overpay to attract players from other clubs (all clubs do) unless it's their last chance (Holman, Constable, Casboult) but you would hope that majority players on the list will be willing to stay for a bit less due to culture, camaraderie, finals lure. Bringing too many top picks means 400K in 3-4th year and more pressure down the track while sorting them out. More role players like Farrar and Holman, good academy kids are gold for us.

Considering how many picks we already have and number of players potentially leaving/being pushed, get ready for some one-sided trades. Looking forward for melts.
I reckon you nailed it in this post mate.

Personally, I am too much attached to players. I hate players leaving and takes me a bit of time to adjust. I will even miss Conroy and Murtagh playing VFL :)

I am actually a bit surprised that the club has the courage to do it.

Re-signing Anderson and Rowell, hopefully, before the season starts is a key to our future. Both look committed to the cause. We should have money to match whatever offers from outside in the worst case scenario. Pay Anderson whatever it takes.

According to Fox sports yesterday, Suns are one of 8 teams interested in Meek. It does not make too much sense?
“I think Meek is most likely to head to GWS where he’s going to jump from about $300,000 a year to about $600,000 a year and get a three or four year deal,” he said.

“GWS is the most likely, but Gold Coast, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda and Geelong are all showing interest in Meek.

According to Fox sport yesterday, Suns are one of 8 teams interested in Meek. It does not make too much sense?

I like him as a player and had him in my Ultimate Footy team all year. He is an AFL level ruck but agree with Witts and Moyle doesn't strike me as a need. Geelong should be all over him.

Tarryn thomas close with jed Anderson?