Player Watch 2023 Father Son player watch - McCabe, Dear and Maginness

Guys, I keep deleting posts referencing this, but can we move away from suggesting or making juvenile jokes about the bloodlines of players.

This is a public forum and parents of players do read here.

Interesting half of football from Sandy vs Eastern. I'll focus on the three main players of interest:

Calsher Dear
Cal looked strong out there, playing from the goal square and taking ruck contests inside the forward 50. Got one goal on the end of a coast-to-coast, but set up a few with some nice hands below his knees and solid tapwork. One play in the third he met the contest just outside 50, the ball spilled to the ground, and he beautifully and cleanly picked it up from the ground in one hand, did a 180 do face the goals again, and unleashed a handpass wide to Ashcroft or Sanders (?) that lead to a goal. He had a few chances to really outmuscle his opponent that just went missing, often getting his hands to it just a second late. It's not going to get him three votes, but a good game to build on for the season, just need to see some more goals from the kid.

Ned Maginess
Ned looked really clean and crisp with the footy in hand today. Took a few nice intercepts, has a really sharp eye for open players, and has a beautiful handball on him. He really does look like Will Day for mine, string bean off the wing with superb spacial awareness and vision. He seems a bit lost when playing the wing, he looks a lot better when he gets to be at the fall of the ball instead of 15 meters outside of it, but his spread and defensive efforts helped Sandy get over the line in the end. Another half that was good without being great.

Nick Watson
I'll say this, the kid is unreal as a forward. Deft touch, has plenty of strength and speed, and knows how to drop his knees and when to fly high for a grab. As a midfielder, he was alright, great at getting his hands on it and bursting through when left unchecked. A few times he opted for a bit of a panic handpass after taking contact that he really could stand through, but all around a good game. I didn't see the first half but apparently, he was outstanding there as well.

I won't be able to watch Harley Reid live this arvo, but I'll comb through the replay and go through the notes later. Will post stats as well when Coates get the accountants out of bed.
New favourite poster. Appreciate the time you have put in. Amazing contribution. 👍

He’s not a forward.
star wars GIF

Suppose Sicily is a forward too
Well if we're going to go that route...
Will Played as a forward today.
Will played as a forward for his school all last season.
As far as I can tell, Will played the majority of his games at u18s level as a forward.

Now I'll admit I'm not that big a Hawks fan. I only watch games that don't clash with my tri-annual Pétanque tournament review sessions, so if you have greater insight please let me know, but if I am not mistaken:
Sicily will not play forward tomorrow.
Sicily did not play forward last week.
Sicily did not play forward at any point last season.

That's Will Lorenz, unless you've got some ripper secret about a players disputed heritage.

Whose great-grandfather and great-great-uncle played for Essendon and North Melbourne respectively.

Well if we're going to go that route...
Will Played as a forward today.
Will played as a forward for his school all last season.
As far as I can tell, Will played the majority of his games at u18s level as a forward.

Now I'll admit I'm not that big a Hawks fan. I only watch games that don't clash with my tri-annual Pétanque tournament review sessions, so if you have greater insight please let me know, but if I am not mistaken:
Sicily will not play forward tomorrow.
Sicily did not play forward last week.
Sicily did not play forward at any point last season.
Pétanque = underrated

If he shoots the lights out as a forward his draft stocks go way up. I’d rather him play back this year, we get him cheap then he can explode as a 19/20 year old

He's not going to go higher than our first rounder anyway, unless he becomes a top 4 or so talent.

It will hurt our draft stock when we have to match a bid, but honestly I'd rather he perform really well as a KPF and know he was an top (KPF) talent, as opposed to being a good talent, and just wear the cost.

I have not done write ups yet for this rounds games, but here are my initial thoughts on our FS prospects

Will McCabe - I liked what I saw from him as a KPP in the u16s champs for a strong SA side and the u17s game he played late last year, he is tall I believe 196cm, he is quick and is very courageous and jumps into packs, he can also run from defence when playing there and when he goes forward he averages around 2 goals a game which is important, at school footy and u18s sanfl level he seems to be playing forward, I think atm he is likely a 2nd rounder who depending on development might go up the ranks a bit, everything depends on development with him because he is so slim physically.

Ned Maginness - 188cm winger, seems to run well like his brother and kicks it a bit better than Finn(he does have a bit of a strange drop at times), very slim still, had a couple intercept marks, went for a few runs, was safe with poss, didn't really tackle much or pressure much, wasn't a star in the midfield, but he has good athletic traits, after 1 game I would say somewhere in the range of 40-rookie, I would like to see more samples of how he plays, but I saw potential there and I would like to see a larger sample size of form.

Calsher Dear - played mostly FF for Sandy and didn't take advantage of the opportunities that came his way, picked up a few ground balls and his deft hands helped team mates score, but overall he was the tall guy in the square that dropped most of his marking contests, kicked a goal out the back of a contest, I need to see more because I'm not sure he gets drafted if that's his normal game, but it's only 1 game so far, he also seemed short against his opponents in the goal square.

Not sure if posted already, but just read Ned Maginness was one of the best on ground and Calsher Dear kicked the match winner for Sandringham in round 1 on the weekend. Excellent news.

Will McCabe running out for round 1 for Central District this Saturday. Most likely in the reserves to start.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app