Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Agree generally, and specifically you describe the first part on the celebration, the momentum part -- but the 2nd part he deliberately pushes Seb's face with an open hand. There's no missing it. It's a strange moment, no harm in speculating on it.
I think hes just going for the headrub instincitvely after making contact but also bungles that.

Easy for Z-Z reckons Derwayne.

Horrific commentary all year round

ee7a1a1e8057fdd323002f450a8a02f2.jpg

Wardlaw looks a star quality kid and so does Sheezel. We don't have top end still and it highlights how slow burn ours are. We are still calling Clark and Coffield promising kids. They're mid 20s.
Wardlaw has got great energy in the middle but he made plenty of mistakes in that game, he will need plenty of development.

For what it's worth that energy in the middle is 3/4 of the battle, and unfortunately Gresham, Crouch and Steele have been pretty flat of late. Hunter brings a bit when he's in the guts, but Windhager and Owens both bring plenty and should be given opportunities there. We have players that can play the role Owens has up front, but not many that can bump and grind in the middle the way he does.

Wardlaw has got great energy in the middle but he made plenty of mistakes in that game, he will need plenty of development.

For what it's worth that energy in the middle is 3/4 of the battle, and unfortunately Gresham, Crouch and Steele have been pretty flat of late. Hunter brings a bit when he's in the guts, but Windhager and Owens both bring plenty and should be given opportunities there. We have players that can play the role Owens has up front, but not many that can bump and grind in the middle the way he does.

Wardlaw was in his third game and it was a high tempo game. He kept going in and finding it under extreme pressure and finding a way out. He looked like he could be the best of the lot if he'd got on the park last year. He reminds me of Clayton Oliver where he just finds ways of extracting the ball no matter how hard it gets. I'd be very confident off that performance that they have a player who will be absolute top shelf.

I reckon they nailed that draft, best way to set yourself up for the future.

I'd Steven Baker you all.

I was more poking fun at Jesus being an AFL player, being as he used to hold suppers and crap on a bit then go go "buh bye" upwards, that screams intercept defender and him pissing off forwards. Moses for example would be a forward, come with me and part the centre corridor for clean disposal forward and reward.

Why so violent? You need scripture in your life and inserting peoples into AFL parlance for lols.

Wardlaw was in his third game and it was a high tempo game. He kept going in and finding it under extreme pressure and finding a way out. He looked like he could be the best of the lot if he'd got on the park last year. He reminds me of Clayton Oliver where he just finds ways of extracting the ball no matter how hard it gets. I'd be very confident off that performance that they have a player who will be absolute top shelf.

I reckon they nailed that draft, best way to set yourself up for the future.

Something to look forward to for North with guys like Wardlaw, Sheezel and Phillips in their midfield, then they also have LDU who didn't play yesterday.

Tarryn Thomas still has a lot of potential too providing he can get his act together off the field, he played pretty well yesterday and kicked a good goal.

We need signatures on this E-Petition yes stadium yes team
sign and then check email and confirm that’s all
e-petitions

If there are any Tas supporters here and that support the stadium build. Please sign the petition above, I’ve had a enough of these “no stadium” voters dominating the Tas media lately

What annoys the hell out of me is the whinging and complaining about the money should go on housing and education and health.
Yes I agree there needs to be a big focus on housing education and health but are people so stupid to believe that if the stadium wasn’t built that money would go into those sectors anyway because I could guarantee you it wouldn’t.
People really can’t see the money the new stadium will bring into the state.
Pisses me off.
No we didn’t need a brand new stadium but hey why not take it and no it’s not robbing housing and health.

Just watched it 10 minutes ago and not seeing anything like that

He pushes Seb's face with his open hand, it's only shown once during the coverage - I'm definitely not imagining it lol. Nothing in it you'd think but Gresh does strike me as a different sort of unit.

Now I certainly ain't no pies supporter but I'm genuinely having a little trouble with all this faux outrage over the de Goey hit. Ole Kano et al calling it a "cheap shot", Sheed with his comments, lots of other sensationalist commentary around it in the media.

Now of course he's gonna go for a few weeks, but to me it really didn't look nearly as bad as what has been made out, no real malicious intent that I could see. Just a bad split second decision in the heat of a contest. Jordy ain't no sniper, and to be honest I think Kane fckn Cornes owes him a public apology at the very least.

Now I certainly ain't no pies supporter but I'm genuinely having a little trouble with all this faux outrage over the de Goey hit. Ole Kano et al calling it a "cheap shot", Sheed with his comments, lots of other sensationalist commentary around it in the media.

Now of course he's gonna go for a few weeks, but to me it really didn't look nearly as bad as what has been made out, no real malicious intent that I could see. Just a bad split second decision in the heat of a contest. Jordy ain't no sniper, and to be honest I think Kane fckn Cornes owes him a public apology at the very least.
I find it funny that people were at pains to defend Tom Stewart last year and concerned for his mental health because his hit was “so out of character” yet DeGoey is a weak dog shotting prick.

Stewart went out of his way to hit Prestia, DeGoey chose not to move.

They’re at least equal in terms of the footy action if not Stewart’s is worse.

I find it funny that people were at pains to defend Tom Stewart last year and concerned for his mental health because his hit was “so out of character” yet DeGoey is a weak dog shotting prick.

AFL media have their pets and their media shilling, Pies are a big club so you can get away with pot shotting the party boy club o long as it's not litigious in nature, with the Cats, they are the AFL country darlings about how great it'd be if every club was blah blah blah get gud North, so can;t rubbish them as that flies in the face of good news stories and puffing chests about farm life.

Somehow I doubt Cameron has been nipped on the toes by some pissed off yabbies. Likewise, I doubt he got even by hurling one into an electric fence and cackling at the pop as I had last laugh and you got put in a pot bitch. But yeah same diff as to why danger was a great bloke when he ran 40m to shoulder barge a face and KO yet Paddy was a sniper that bumped when he braced for contact on oblivious Hawk, one's a media darling on a AAMI advert and one in national TV about how Essendon is F'd and buggered off to South Australia.

What's wrong with upgrading Bellerive or Launceston? Just curious.

As stated Launceton is getting upgraded, Bellerive is in the wrong spot ie residential - impossible to get out of quick and little if no scope for upgrade.

Saying that they are both fine for AFL footy for now (as evidenced by Hawthorn and North playing at Launceston and Bellerive).

The AFL have stipulated a stadium as part of the licence, to be honest some Tasmanians are carrying on a fair bit against the stadium being built. If it ain't built the money for the stadium will not go towards Health and Housing - will be lost. Coming from someone who advocates need for more investment in Health and Housing but it is not one or the other.

I see it as an investment in the state albeit and expensive one. There is a bridge being replaced up the river from where the stadium is to be built for more $s with no outcry at all.

As stated Launceton is getting upgraded, Bellerive is in the wrong spot ie residential - impossible to get out of quick and little if no scope for upgrade.

Saying that they are both fine for AFL footy for now (as evidenced by Hawthorn and North playing at Launceston and Bellerive).

The AFL have stipulated a stadium as part of the licence, to be honest some Tasmanians are carrying on a fair bit against the stadium being built. If it ain't built the money for the stadium will not go towards Health and Housing - will be lost. Coming from someone who advocates need for more investment in Health and Housing but it is not one or the other.

I see it as an investment in the state albeit and expensive one. There is a bridge being replaced up the river from where the stadium is to be built for more $s with no outcry at all.
Quite enjoyed this thread on the subject

De Goey gets offered 3 what a ******* joke
A week more than Kozi (which I think was worse looking but didn’t result in a concussion) a week less than Stewart (which I think was worse looking and resulted in a KO).

For once I think they probably got it right.

De Goey gets offered 3 what a ******* joke
1686041217035.png

I loved that they stated something about consistency as if it's the first time they've seen that word, popped it in Google and went "oh, so that's what it means..."

If you read the transcript;

DeGoey "yeah I'm guilty"
Pies "we like 3"
AFL "we like 4"

AFL argument: These other things are like this thing, I like similarities! Oh and jumping at injuries, poor poor Hewett could have been decapitated.
Pies argument: he's contrite, lookit at him, wouldn't hurt anyone in Bali, this thing is its own thing, I have NFI what that AFL bloke is shitting on about. did I mention Jordi is contrite and very sorry?"

Then tasting and judgement. So that argument took about an hour, then they spent around 40mins all "hmmmm is Jordi full of piss and did the AFL rep nou? No, fair enough, Pies win." So you have the above statement;

DeGoey said yep, I bumped, guilty.
Hewett did indeed get injured, and it was a bump.
DeGoey was indeed sorry about it all.
Consistency!

**** them, Collingwood fans are losing their shit after wanting Caminiti out for months for their pissy ginger flog getting a retaliation slap. JDG is a good player but dumb as ****. Should get a dumb campaigner loading.

* them, Collingwood fans are losing their s**t after wanting Caminiti out for months for their pissy ginger flog getting a retaliation slap. JDG is a good player but dumb as *. Should get a dumb campaigner loading.
Oh I shed no tears for him don’t get me wrong. Just think the whole “Tom Stewart didn’t mean to ****ing decapitate Prestia” crowd now baying for blood are a touch hypocritical.

Besides Tom Stewart looks like the sort who’s enjoy watching his missus doing the rounds at a swingers party without partaking himself, weirdo.

* them, Collingwood fans are losing their s**t after wanting Caminiti out for months for their pissy ginger flog getting a retaliation slap. JDG is a good player but dumb as *. Should get a dumb campaigner loading.

De Goey getting the same amount of weeks as Caminiti is a joke, what De Goey did was way worse and there was no mitigating factors like the West Coast player instigating it or dropping his knees.

Collingwood can considering themselves very lucky he will only miss 3 matches, it still won't stop their moron supporters complaining about it though.