Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Feels like we have been poorly coached for over a decade. Richmond had a heap of GOPs that looked way better within the Tigers structure. Hardwick is a gun.

Maybe we have a few players on our list that will be far better with a structured game plan.

Lyon made Clinton Jones look like a gun ffs. Confident there are a few on our list that may surprise us.
Small sample size, but the structure and attack on the ball was something so apparent yesterday, that it made the coaching since 2012 look absolutely second rate.
The players have totally bought in and why not, Lyon is crystal clear on what he wants and has a direction.
gringo said he liked being a blight on the competition and I agree. 10 goals to 7 will suit me.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Small sample size, but the structure and attack on the ball was something so apparent yesterday, that it made the coaching since 2012 look absolutely second rate.
The players have totally bought in and why not, Lyon is crystal clear on what he wants and has a direction.
gringo said he liked being a blight on the competition and I agree. 10 goals to 7 will suit me.

And at the moment we have zero choice to play that way even if we wanted to play differently. I said 2 weeks ago we are only going to kick about 10 goals a game so to win we have to obviously keep the other side to under 10. Obviously we aren’t going to win all the early games doing that but 50/50 would be a huge win.

2 weeks for Pickett is a joke.

His actions were intentional, the potential for injury because of the nature of the action were extreme.

AFL should appeal and send it to the tribunal and request 4 weeks.

He doesn't play for us, 3 match subtraction for "they might have good representation and make us look stupid".

Pickett should have been graded higher than Buddy, Buddy was careless as he pulled a Fyfe and just wafted in, here's a shoulder to the face and nonchalant try for the ball. Pickett as intentional since "I'm going to bump" as opposed to "I am going to contest", Buddy as careless since he didn't choose to bump, he just raised the shoulder as he went past and Collins was at a different angle to then get chin music, Kozzy literally supermanned into the face.

Doesn't look good that Kozzy is in the 2023 tribunal book on page 5 full spread, no doubt that the AFL moved to cover their arse in an obvious deflection to grade the two as careless because they couldn't make an argument for Buddy to be deemed intentional but they could with someone like Long previously because they spun a narrative and hand of god it. Only solution, rules for me and not for thee.

I kid of course, but Kozzy really should have been intentional and not careless, he gave up all notion of autonomy & duty when he left that ground, the chooks are roosters and puffing at this point.

He doesn't play for us, 3 match subtraction for "they might have good representation and make us look stupid".

Pickett should have been graded higher than Buddy, Buddy was careless as he pulled a Fyfe and just wafted in, here's a shoulder to the face and nonchalant try for the ball. Pickett as intentional since "I'm going to bump" as opposed to "I am going to contest", Buddy as careless since he didn't choose to bump, he just raised the shoulder as he went past and Collins was at a different angle to then get chin music, Kozzy literally supermanned into the face.

Doesn't look good that Kozzy is in the 2023 tribunal book on page 5 full spread, no doubt that the AFL moved to cover their arse in an obvious deflection to grade the two as careless because they couldn't make an argument for Buddy to be deemed intentional but they could with someone like Long previously because they spun a narrative and hand of god it. Only solution, rules for me and not for thee.

I kid of course, but Kozzy really should have been intentional and not careless, he gave up all notion of autonomy & duty when he left that ground, the chooks are roosters and puffing at this point.
Unless they change the rules regarding the mro and the bump it couldn’t be more than 2.

1679297774398.png

1679297800297.png
I suggest you read the 2023 book "unless intentional" under the rough conduct and there's the table to advocate it's 3 instead of 2, take your blinkers off for one second before shooting from the hip.

My view, hence me posting the bit you quoted, Koz was not careless in entering to smack Smith, his intention, given he made no movements to smother a kick at all on his approach, was to take that body, thus, he had no intention to contest that disposal. Not hard to come to that conclusion. Given Koz then left the ground, he gives up all right to what his body does and how it impacts any other player as he has lost autonomy in duty of care instances.

This is under careless for example;
1679298647492.png
Kozzy has a duty of care not to split Smith up the middle after he has disposed of the ball and should have made moves to avoid that contact and arrest his momentum. What did Koz do? Turn, brace, lift.

1679298760716.png

You enter that at pace, you are at an angle to the kicker, the kicker has disposed of the ball just as you arrive you have two choices;

1. You GTFO, abort abort abort don't care how, you have that momentum so you need to arrest it.
2. You do what Koz did, you turn, you brace for contact, and you take that body.

You collect that player in the face and you are not grounded at the point of contact, to me, you entered to bump that body and that is intentional as you have shown nothing to state otherwise.

How is that hard to understand?

View attachment 1634934

View attachment 1634935
I suggest you read the 2023 book "unless intentional" under the rough conduct and there's the table to advocate it's 3 instead of 2, take your blinkers off for one second before shooting from the hip.

My view, hence me posting the bit you quoted, Koz was not careless in entering to smack Smith, his intention, given he made no movements to smother a kick at all on his approach, was to take that body, thus, he had no intention to contest that disposal. Not hard to come to that conclusion. Given Koz then left the ground, he gives up all right to what his body does and how it impacts any other player as he has lost autonomy in duty of care instances.

This is under careless for example;
View attachment 1634957
Kozzy has a duty of care not to split Smith up the middle after he has disposed of the ball and should have made moves to avoid that contact and arrest his momentum. What did Koz do? Turn, brace, lift.

View attachment 1634958

You enter that at pace, you are at an angle to the kicker, the kicker has disposed of the ball just as you arrive you have two choices;

1. You GTFO, abort abort abort don't care how, you have that momentum so you need to arrest it.
2. You do what Koz did, you turn, you brace for contact, and you take that body.

You collect that player in the face and you are not grounded at the point of contact, to me, you entered to bump that body and that is intentional as you have shown nothing to state otherwise.

How is that hard to understand?
Didn’t bother reading any what you said or copied because irrelevant. Gerard whately who has unbelievable knowledge of the tribunal said today that mro has never classed a bump as intentional if no injury so they aren’t going to start now unless given a directive from the afl. It’s that simple.

My son likes sitting on level 3 so we wander up and you get a really good view of the field up there. I'd come back from a win last year and feel like we got away with it. There was so little organisation and structure. Players would hang each other out to dry by playing for themselves. Yesterday that had flipped, it was hunting like a pack of hungry velociraptors, players shifting from one player to another and instructing a team mate on who they wanted covered while they moved off. You looked at what Freo had ahead of them and saw that we'd blocked the whole field up. No half arsed efforts, no pulling up short when they couldn't be bothered.

Lyon is a structural master. Proudest I've been of this club in years. I'm going to enjoy going to the footy this season.

My son likes sitting on level 3 so we wander up and you get a really good view of the field up there. I'd come back from a win last year and feel like we got away with it. There was so little organisation and structure. Players would hang each other out to dry by playing for themselves. Yesterday that had flipped, it was hunting like a pack of hungry velociraptors, players shifting from one player to another and instructing a team mate on who they wanted covered while they moved off. You looked at what Freo had ahead of them and saw that we'd blocked the whole field up. No half arsed efforts, no pulling up short when they couldn't be bothered.

Lyon is a structural master. Proudest I've been of this club in years. I'm going to enjoy going to the footy this season.
Webster exemplified it all day. There was one play in our back pocket where he took on two opposition players, flung his head over the ball like a mad-man, and got it going back our way. Out of everything good we did yesterday, those moments were my favourite.

RTB and Webster will get along well
Webster was very good yesterday

RTB and Webster will get along well
Webster was very good yesterday
I think he might be the only player who Ross coached from our current crop - might have to fact check that.

He's as hard as nails, has been his whole career but really put in yesterday. Some of his efforts were unreal. Routinely in bad positions but managed to get us out of them with just guts and courage. Bit like how the group played as a whole but thought Webster led the way.

Jury still out on Howard for me, still nerves whenever he has the ball but the rest of the backs are a pretty dependable group. Battle mentioned on the post game interviews that he hopes he will stay in the backline now - a sly dig at the amount of times we've moved him around. He was fantastic yesterday too.

I think he might be the only player who Ross coached from our current crop - might have to fact check that.

He's as hard as nails, has been his whole career but really put in yesterday. Some of his efforts were unreal. Routinely in bad positions but managed to get us out of them with just guts and courage. Bit like how the group played as a whole but thought Webster led the way.

Jury still out on Howard for me, still nerves whenever he has the ball but the rest of the backs are a pretty dependable group. Battle mentioned on the post game interviews that he hopes he will stay in the backline now - a sly dig at the amount of times we've moved him around. He was fantastic yesterday too.
We are a better side with Howard in the team he is lacking a bit of confidence, reckon Wilkie & Battle are much happier with Howard out there

Jimmy was drafted as Ross exited. Ross said in the presser he’s learning about all players and he’s learned that Jimmy is very brave (as I think you mentioned yesterday)

Cheers mate. I thought Jimmy was with us in 2011 but that probably was the 2011 draft, meaning his debut was 2012. Close!

I think Ross and Webster were the 2011 draft so doubt they did more than shake hands. Geary would have been the last of his boys. Hill is probably the only current one.

Yeah I had a look. Webster made his debut in 2013 under Scott "Juggernaut" Watters. He told him he'd be making his debut by tearing down the 2009 GF poster of the team and writing it on the back.