Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Collingwood had an unmitigated disaster with their versions of it though. If you make a wrong move they will hang you out to dry on it. Fortunately we aren't very high profile so don't have the media ready to take us down. It's a bit of a worry that we haven't handed over the person responsible yet. If we can't find them it looks a bit like we weren't trying. Unless they've found her and she's a bit NQR and so the AFL and media are happy to let it slip past with some discrete management. They've shown pictures of the culprit in the past.
That's more about Collingwood racism issues being a systemic within the club while this racist incident was conducted by an individual. Clubs cant control what individual members/supporters do in the stand so criticising the entire collective doesn't achieve the change necessary.

If they haven't found the culprit yet, it's more likely that person isn't a member of a club or their details aren't on record anywhere to be identified (i.e. with the ticketing organisation). I'd highly doubt we aren't trying to find them or aren't handing them over to the AFL.

That's more about Collingwood racism issues being a systemic within the club while this racist incident was conducted by an individual. Clubs cant control what individual members/supporters do in the stand so criticising the entire collective doesn't achieve the change necessary.

If they haven't found the culprit yet, it's more likely that person isn't a member of a club or their details aren't on record anywhere to be identified (i.e. with the ticketing organisation). I'd highly doubt we aren't trying to find them or aren't handing them over to the AFL.

Collingwood had a bad history but the stuff with the teenage girl just blew up massively, Eddie tried to stage manage it and everything he did made it worse. probably the start of his demise. I'm a bit surprised that we aren't wearing this more as a club because in the past clubs have taken heat for a few bad supporters.

I feel like they might know who she is and have decided that she is mentally ill or not really someone that can be held 100% responsible for their actions for what ever reason. They don't usually miss us on these things and the AFL haven't come down hard on us either. There is an appetite for making them face some kind of recourse in the community but it's gone quiet.

I don't want to hear the media crack it with Ross for any gameplan BS this year.

Last night was an AWFUL game between two of the supposedly best midfields in the comp.

Bont/Libba/Treloar/Smith/Macrae
vs
Neale/Dunkley/McLuggage/Ashcroft/Zorko

Both teams running with weakened back lines. Both teams with much hyped forward line 'stars'.

17 goals for the game and I rekon 5 of those came from free kicks.

GTFO

I don't want to hear the media crack it with Ross for any gameplan BS this year.

Last night was an AWFUL game between two of the supposedly best midfields in the comp.

vs

Both teams running with weakened back lines. Both teams with much hyped forward line 'stars'.

GTFO

I reckon Lyon has made it fashionable to make it a dour scrap again but Collingwood are the poster boy for fast attractive footy. There is room for both. Richmond were pretty good at making footy scrappy and no-one complained.

vs

GTFO
Its pretty overblown anyway. Yes we are super defensive and are hard to score against but our gameplan is very much "move the ball fast and attack asap" which is good attractive football for me. Reality is it kind of comes down to a "shit on Stkilda" mindset more then anything.

People gotta watch the game rather than the score line. Low scoring footy can be entertaining af if both teams are giving it a real crack and there’s talent and willpower on display. Volume of score is overrated

Yeah, I thought last night was an exciting game even if it wasn't a display of beautiful skills and structures. It went down to the wire and the score stayed tight. Give me that over watching some of the good sides bash up a weaker side.

vs

GTFO

Both clubs last night had 80 turnovers each. For comparison, last weeks match for us against bulldogs was 58 to 61.

If thats the price of having "open free flowing football" I dont ****ing want it. They were hot garbage last night and barely strung 3 possessions together before hoofing it directionless to an opposition player. Thats what i expected from us when we were bottom 4, but these are meant to be top 4 contenders.

Collingwood had a bad history but the stuff with the teenage girl just blew up massively, Eddie tried to stage manage it and everything he did made it worse. probably the start of his demise. I'm a bit surprised that we aren't wearing this more as a club because in the past clubs have taken heat for a few bad supporters.

I feel like they might know who she is and have decided that she is mentally ill or not really someone that can be held 100% responsible for their actions for what ever reason. They don't usually miss us on these things and the AFL haven't come down hard on us either. There is an appetite for making them face some kind of recourse in the community but it's gone quiet.
I’m not.
Because the industry as a whole has taken huge strides against racism, and the club issued a statement immediately.

Most journos would realise that these days this type of ugliness is not a reflection of the club as a whole, but an individual racist supporter. And let’s be honest, we will never get rid of all of these rotten apples.

If the club has managed to find this person, maybe they’ve decided naming and shaming is not the way to go and maybe try to educate instead and include a private apology?
And I’m ok with that.

I reckon Lyon has made it fashionable to make it a dour scrap again but Collingwood are the poster boy for fast attractive footy. There is room for both. Richmond were pretty good at making footy scrappy and no-one complained.
Against the Dogs we did both.

Kinda a bit lol, Pies were very iffy on oversight for a long period, decades, I mean they had players cavorting with known criminals, others partaking of semi illegal instances and ill repute and it was all "nothing to see here" until it actually reached media circles. We all take the piss with what the Blues did and do, but almost all of their issues are in house and of their own design and they've only themselves to blame, but the Pies all had grubby fingers in things that were just slightly questionable to borderline "why are you doing this, stop this instant", all whilst being straight racist pricks on the side since it came with white privilege club compared to say Bombers worker tradie club or us as the side that could barely be counted as a side club.

It's why say, people like Cuz and what JUH is doing gets applauded by mostly everyone, but people like Goodes who do the same things, half support, half just see him as an angry little ant and with that half, him yelling at a 13yo did wonders to his image with them, and again much like the Long Walk you have people treating things with respect, open communications and loud and proud statements that are inspiring v chest beating, I'm right you're wrong, this is combative here in image.

Edwardo was simply the wrong man holding the baby at the end, even when he's trying to be humble and trying to do the right thing it's 5 seconds until he's a turnip glowing red and getting slightly miffed about perception then rubbishing something in the driveby, it's just the way he's wired as he's a strong personality but it's abrasive in nature. In something like this, you needed to tuck that tail and be as contrite as possible in how bad you and every around and before screwed that pooch then plans for the immediate and future, not abrasive and thus combative or owning the decades long stuff up.

Has anyone purchased a footy record online? I haven't bought one in ages so I don't know if the covers are different for different games but I wanted to grab the Saints one for this weekend.

I don’t really care who wins or loses tonight, I just want to see Trent Cotchin play like shit and/or get dumped into the turf.

I don’t really care who wins or loses tonight, I just want to see Trent Cotchin play like s**t and/or get dumped into the turf.

After the rain turns his ramp into a mop, so that when he's dumped they can use him to try and clean up the surface from that point.

We should be wearing a replica of our very first jersey tomorrow night and then progressively wear replicas of all our other significant jerseys throughout the year.
Yes that may mean we have 15 or 20 different outfits for the year. Why not.

Everyone wants their opponent to be dour.
Do you think the Lyon game plan makes us look dour ?, because i've really been liking some of our flow from backline to forward.

Agree we move the ball well and its good to watch

In the Dogs game we showed both the ability to defend to the death and then switch with some ease to a quick, exciting attack.

If we are able to get that right in the majority of games we’ll have a very good season.

Not dour so much as locked down. I reckon the Dogs were similar to us last night. Just make every ball a contest and every disposal rushed. It's fast and high intensity but low scoring. It's actaully good to watch I reckon.

That Carlton v Richmond game in round one was so boring because it went end to end but had no real energy to it.

We’ve been making our opponents look dour. I think our ball movement has been pretty good we just haven’t been great at that last kick inside 50 but that should come.