Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

And he could leave for tassie in 2028 for something like a pick 15+.

He could stay and win a Brownlow.

imagination GIF

Definitely agree. I think one of the key things we need to focus on (and have no choice but to do so) is ensuring improved ball usage across the field, and prioritising getting the ball into the hands of the good ball users.

Good teams find a way to enter 50m through their best ball users - our issue is we don't have enough good ball users and those that are don't deliver it inside 50m nearly enough. I think we add to the quality of use by foot by adding (hopefully) Reid and Sanders. Whoever else we select with McKay compo will be a good user, whether it's Curtin, Watson, Duursma or McKercher.

Our top inside 50's per game this year:
LDU: 4.93
Zurhaar: 4.69
*TT: 3.91
Simpkin: 3.82
Hall/Scott tie: 3.50

How this compares to other best ball users in the comp:
AFL Inside 50 Leaders:
*1. Gulden: 6.92
2. Parish: 6.24
*3. Rozee: 6.09
4. Petracca: 5.95
5: Dangerfield 5.88
*6. Warner: 5.84
*7. Bont: 5.77
*8. Dawson: 5.68
*9. Shai Bolton: 5.59
*10. Butters: 5.27

The * denotes players I'd consider very good ball users. I'm a fan of LDU, Zurhaar, Simpkin and Scott, but they're not our best ball users - Scott has improved but he and Simpkin are still in the lower half of ball users in our team I would think. We need it in the hands of guys like TT and Sheezel going inside 50 more than others.

This is one reason i'm keen to keep Powell, he's one of our better decision makers and ball users going inside 50.

192cm is fine for a chf

I’ve liked his games this year has impact in air and on ground

For a late pick seems worth it to me

I'm not saying 192cm isn't fine for a CHF. I'm saying that combined with being poor in basically every athletic trait suggests he's basically no chance of getting drafted.

There's no way he's finding the ball at AFL level because he will get no separation and isn't big or strong enough to contest in the air.

I'm not saying 192cm isn't fine for a CHF. I'm saying that combined with being poor in basically every athletic trait suggests he's basically no chance of getting drafted.

There's no way he's finding the ball at AFL level because he will get no separation and isn't big or strong enough to contest in the air.
Are you just going on pre season test results or have you actually watched him play? Check out his National Champs games. He was influential in the forward for VC. Big tank, def strong enough in the air, great footy IQ and looked athletic to me? I think he’s more than a chance at late pick.

Lies. Don't you remember how well Ben Warren made it work?!

(Or was that Warren Benjamin?)

Are you just going on pre season test results or have you actually watched him play? Check out his National Champs games. He was influential in the forward for VC. Big tank, def strong enough in the air, great footy IQ and looked athletic to me? I think he’s more than a chance at late pick.

Souup watched him being conceived mate