Training 2023 Pre Season

We were saying it 2 years ago. It's just that it's 2 years on and leading by example is not enough.
I just don’t understand what people think he is doing wrong

Don’t know what else you can but lead by example

He seems to be giving plenty of instructions at the games I see

Just my opinion but should be captain until Windy is ready

I dunno if steele should be captain or not, but I just think wilkie would be better is all, I've thought that from the start. Steele definitely leads by example, and from the outside it's hard to judge his performance, but if RTB, goddard, lenny etc think someone else would be better, i'd back it. I reckon steele wilkie co captains would be best outcome

Ideally l agree with that.
The things l don't like is that Jack can seem to get in his own head a bit too much and that Wilkie shows an IQ and leadership style that puts him at the top of the class.
I'm not saying l know what's right but l don't see him as being enough of an uncompromising kent. Maybe I'm just old...

?

your takes sound like US cable tv
Go Away GIF by Bounce

I’d take that any day over the absolute DROSS being peddled on here right now…

This right here is what is going to drive us fans crazy over the next 6-12 months.

We are going to have to sit through watching huge, and at times embarrassing, turnovers over and over again.

We are transitioning from a 'gameplan' that involved banging the ball on your boot high and long... ie chaosball... to an actual gameplan which requires our guys to actually hit specific targets.

This is gonna be ugly for a while- lots of our best 22 have gotten by for years being unable to hit up the broad side of a barn.

All it takes is one weak link in the possession chain and we've killed it.
It's the right plan long term- but it's gonna be ugly for a while.
You have it wrong.

What they are working on is not a “precision” game plan built on ball retention.

It’s about quick ball movement (3 seconds) that will have elements of chaos to it.

It should hopefully remove the bomb it to king tunnel vision as most forwards should be 1v1 or mids running into open space.

Then it’s all about defensive structures and placements to allow us to win the ball back and defend scores - closer to a top 4 side.

Last piece is the amount of stoppage work they are doing. But with more midfield numbers

Bytel Coffield Owens Phillipou Windhager Wood Higgins Sincs Roma Campbell Crouch Byrnes Clark Hill Ross Paton - yet to see Steele Billings Jones Gresham in this stuff. Probably a few names I’ve forgotten who have joined in too.

Now they won’t tolerate bad disposal in obvious circumstances. But it’s not going to be clean disposal all over the park.

Infact, it will be the shorter sharper handballs that will be noticeable immediately

We were saying it 2 years ago. It's just that it's 2 years on and leading by example is not enough.
It’s easier to be seen as a good leader when you have strong leadership above you.

The buck stops with RTB.

All I kept hearing under Ratten was: We couldn’t do this, we didn’t do that. We weren’t ready to play. We need to be better etc

He seems pretty introverted. Wilkie is probably the only one that has a bit more of a loud voice to direct traffic and maybe Howard. Still prefer your captain around the ball in modern footy though. Steele is probably not going to lose the captaincy unless he wants to let the pressure off himself and start concentrating on his own game though.

We don't have many natural leaders at the moment. When there are a few more heir apparent types coming through we can revisit it then. Windhager has a bit more of the alpha vibes and might develop into a good enough player to take it in a few years but right now Steele looks set in stone.

You have it wrong.

What they are working on is not a “precision” game plan built on ball retention.

It’s about quick ball movement (3 seconds) that will have elements of chaos to it.

It should hopefully remove the bomb it to king tunnel vision as most forwards should be 1v1 or mids running into open space.

Then it’s all about defensive structures and placements to allow us to win the ball back and defend scores - closer to a top 4 side.

Last piece is the amount of stoppage work they are doing. But with more midfield numbers

Bytel Coffield Owens Phillipou Windhager Wood Higgins Sincs Roma Campbell Crouch Byrnes Clark Hill Ross Paton - yet to see Steele Billings Jones Gresham in this stuff. Probably a few names I’ve forgotten who have joined in too.

Now they won’t tolerate bad disposal in obvious circumstances. But it’s not going to be clean disposal all over the park.

Infact, it will be the shorter sharper handballs that will be noticeable immediately

I don't believe I have it wrong at all.

I'm not suggesting at all that we intend on this occuring in a slow kick, mark, kick etc keepings off style.

The point I made is we will be trying to get the ball by hand and foot to specific targets.

This is in stark contrast to the last half decade or more under cho and ratts where we have just tried to gain territory kicking to space and zones and then (in theory) either:
A. locking the ball in
B. Winning a contested ground ball or
C. Taking a contested mark.

It doesn't matter that lyon wants to institute a fast retain possession gamestyle.... we are gonna face the same fundamental issue, no matter what the speed.

Our players are going to have to unlearn 5+ years of being allowed (and encouraged) to pass the ball to territory, and instead learn to look for and find a teammate.

That is gonna look messy for quite a while because we have quite a few best 22 guys who are naturally butchers by hand and foot when fatigued and/or under pressure.

To reiterate, im not talking about us playing high precision keepings off.

Im talking about us having quite a few best 22 guys who will struggle regularly under pressure and/or fatigue to get the ball to a teammate at better than a 50/50 proposition.

Im not talking about high precision- im talking about us having guys who will struggle to even get the ball to their teammates advantage- let alone lace out on their chest uncontested.

When you are playing any sort of ball retention gameplan- one weak link in a chain like that is all it takes to undue a lot of good work.

Hopefully our best 22 ball butchers can improve under lyons system, but I think if that happens it's gonna take a good part of the season

Dump Steele as captain?!

FMD you lot are just finding s**t to debate now.
Spot on, they make shit up and it becomes gospel.

Last week it was get rid of Wood and play Windy Owens and Phillipou as our starting mids.
The delusion is great during off season.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think with Ross wanting us to be a running side with quick ball movement a lot more of the onus for that comes on the blokes who DONT have the ball in their hands.
Running off the player to create options, running into space to create options, running to the advantage play to create options.
Create three 1st phase options and simultaneously begin creating 2nd phase options and mate, the oppo won’t know where to go. (Hopefully our blokes do 🤔🤣).
It should be easiest job for the player who actually has the ball.

Steele is our best choice for skipper and should continue indefinitely. End of. Our best player, an "inspirational" type, and easily our most marketable player (at least until King has his breakout year) - and yes, this bit is important in the reality of modern football, as much as we wish it wasn't.

This doesn't stop Wilkie / Howard / Windy / whoever being a good leader. Does Wilkie all of a sudden have more influence because he gets to toss the coin at the start at of the game - I sure as hell hope not. He should be leading by example, using his voice to give feedback, dictating on-field instructions, preparing well, being a good example to the youngsters, all of that, without needing a (c) next to his name in the Record.

You have it wrong.

Thank god on the last bit. We never seem to get ourselves out of trouble or be attacking with hand balling.

I dunno if steele should be captain or not, but I just think wilkie would be better is all, I've thought that from the start. Steele definitely leads by example, and from the outside it's hard to judge his performance, but if RTB, goddard, lenny etc think someone else would be better, i'd back it. I reckon steele wilkie co captains would be best outcome
Steele talked after Ratts left that that he knew players were disappointed in not being picked and not told why. I found this disappointing. As captain, Did he not help the players enough

Any track watchers noticed us working on kick outs? Would love to see us doing something different from the Howard short chip to a pocket or bomb to a pack

developing a new kick out strategy that actually works is exactly what the opposition thinks we'll do, you clearly know nothing about meta game theory, the howard bomb to the wing into turn over is the superior strategy

Training 2023 Pre Season