List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Clark and Howard will be gone to North and Sydney respectively, we’ll use the two picks we get for them to bundle up for GC’s pick 4.

Gresham will leave for the Bombers and with that compensation we’ll get Henry. We’ll trade a late fourth or third to Melbourne for Jordon to avoid Gresham’s compo being affected.

A future second or third will be given to Carlton for Dow and we’ll pick up a delisted player such as Philp to upgrade on Peris for small forward depth.

McKenzie and Jones will be kept on a 1 year deals with a games played clause for a second.

We’ll go to the draft with Picks 4, 12 and 31 and aim for Duursma and another speedy mid.

In: Henry, Jordon, Dow, Philp, Picks 4, 12, 31
Out: Clark, Howard, Gresham, Bytel, Connolly, Adams, Peris

GRESHAM WEIGHS INTEREST

JADE Gresham will soon decide his next steps after meeting with clubs in recent weeks, with the St Kilda free agent catching rival interest.

As revealed on Gettable last month, Essendon has had interest in Gresham as a free agent option and remains in a group of what is around three clubs who have interest in the Saint.

St Kilda has not got an offer in front of Gresham, who this week had his exit meeting with the club and said he would spend time thinking on his future with the Saints crashing out of the finals.

Richmond met with Gresham but it is understood that is unlikely to be his destination.
Hmmm

Essendon Hawthorn….. Collingwood?

Where does that leave Higgins and Butler? Peris was in the twos, I don’t think Ginnivan would be playing there.
Watching their backs and making sure they perform. They're currently nearly undroppable because they have no pressure from within. Having one of them play VFL or all three if they're performing won't be a bad thing.

Clark and Howard will be gone to North and Sydney respectively, we’ll use the two picks we get for them to bundle up for GC’s pick 4.

Gresham will leave for the Bombers and with that compensation we’ll get Henry. We’ll trade a late fourth or third to Melbourne for Jordon to avoid Gresham’s compo being affected.

A future second or third will be given to Carlton for Dow.

McKenzie and Jones will be kept on a 1 year deals with a games played clause for a second.

We’ll go to the draft with Picks 4, 12 and 31 and aim for Duursma and another speedy mid.

In: Henry, Jordon, Dow, Picks 4, 12, 31
Out: Clark, Howard, Gresham, Bytel, Connolly, Adams

Jordon is a ufa, no need to trade

GRESHAM WEIGHS INTEREST

JADE Gresham will soon decide his next steps after meeting with clubs in recent weeks, with the St Kilda free agent catching rival interest.

As revealed on Gettable last month, Essendon has had interest in Gresham as a free agent option and remains in a group of what is around three clubs who have interest in the Saint.

St Kilda has not got an offer in front of Gresham, who this week had his exit meeting with the club and said he would spend time thinking on his future with the Saints crashing out of the finals.

Richmond met with Gresham but it is understood that is unlikely to be his destination.
Doesn’t sound like anyone will offer him good coin. Reckon he stays

A future second or third will be given to Carlton for Dow and we’ll pick up a delisted player such as Philp to upgrade on Peris for small forward depth.

I like the idea, but I doubt Howard and Clark's value will add up to enough to match pick 4s points value. With their current picks you'd say Sydney's 22 and North's 39 is the closest to both their values (maybe slightly unders). We probably need to include 31 or a future second to make it worth GCs while. Would still take it though.

Suns ain’t giving up pick 4 for a couple of 20s picks. The dogs are offering 10 and 17.

Henry's "trending upward" is a very small sample size. He had 15 disposals against the Hawks in his last game. It's hardly consistent form.
Talk about sample size. You’re using one game?!
that’s a very minute sample size.

How about comparing his previous year to this year? Or even the first half of this year to the 2nd half of this year?

He has clearly improved.

We had poor pressure up the ground all season but had the best defence in the league.
Second time we had more than 90 kicked on us was in the final.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Well that’s just completely untrue.

And if you actually listen to Daniel Hoyne and Kingy or watch First Crack/On the Couch etc, it was one aspect of our game that was actually in really good shape.

Well that’s just completely untrue.

And if you actually listen to Daniel Hoyne and Kingy or watch First Crack/On the Couch etc, it was one aspect of our game that was actually in really good shape.
Every time we were beaten and that was 12 times we were flogged out of the middle.
We lost one game less than we won came 6th got flogged in the mids in those games and still was the best defence in the league.
Shows where stats are weak as the only measure and people who rely on them are a bit ignorant and pretty deluded.

Billings to me just feels like such a nothing vanilla player.

If were going to keep him I wouldn't be opposed to trying him on half back - would he be better if the ball came to him rather than he had to find it? His clean disposal could be of use there.
This is an excellent suggestion…Carlton did the same with Zac Fisher with great success!

It’s probably been talked about but can’t believe Jack Peris was delisted! He has great speed , endurance and tackling pressure. Isn’t that what the game is all about at the moment. He no doubt has things to work on but surely a 1 year contract or rookie list was worth a go.
Being able to run fast in a straight line & tackle just isn’t anywhere near enough at the highest level…he’s also very small
He lacks footy smarts…no, I think the club made the right call

Not a big day in the outrageous rumour stakes today however the last entry is a very strong candidate for best so far.

All the ingredients, a one post newbie, a random bloke who has a n offspring who knows the player and a player touring the Linton St facilities a month ago. Pretty impressive trope hitting there. Kudo's

Trade Period so Far

1.Phillipou for a 12-14 pick

2. Steele for an 18 y.o potential

3. Alison to North for a 3rd

4. Trade Ross because he once went @50% DE

5. Higgins traded back to Richmond

6. Jack Ginnivan commits to Saints. One post user who heard from a random whose son knows Ginnivan

Still like Hately & Bianco for a bag of chips each, new coach, new team may be all they need. Think if Hately wants to make it he has to get out of his home town.

Don't rate either to be honest. I'd rather have a crack at Hollands, I think he's got more elite traits. Zac Fisher from Carlton too. Maybe have a crack at D'Ambrosio.

Every time we were beaten and that was 12 times we were flogged out of the middle.
We lost one game less than we won came 6th got flogged in the mids in those games and still was the best defence in the league.
Shows where stats are weak as the only measure and people who rely on them are a bit ignorant and pretty deluded.

Wrong again mate!

Yeah let’s not bother to look at stats they’re useless.
Let’s instead just use Joffaboy’s guess as to what happened in games as our indicator for what goes wrong.

Just to get you educated, pressure around the ground isn’t based on your teams ability to “win in the midfield” it’s your teams ability to shut down the oppositions ball movement, which is mostly reliant on your mids/wings and forwards.

The point is our “defensive system” (which encompasses the whole ground) helps to protect the back six.
Our defense was really good all year and that was largely based on our ability to pressure teams around the ground and force tough entries or poor shots on goal. Our backline was also very good, but it was mainly due to our defensive setup.

On Saturday that fell apart, which is why so many of our defenders found themselves in one on one situations or scrambling to get back to defend.

So no it was not entirely the backlines fault. Even Rance/Silvagni types would’ve struggled to defend some the easy entries we allowed.