Discussion 2024 General AFL Discussion

Not surprising after the GF and Dean Cox's decision not to apply for the WC job.
Yeh this feels like it should be a bombshell but instead its a pebble in a pond to me.

Odd timing, does the trade and draft period, shows up to day 1 of pre season and says "nahhhh"

Yeh this feels like it should be a bombshell but instead its a pebble in a pond to me.

Odd timing, does the trade and draft period, shows up to day 1 of pre season and says "nahhhh"
Taken this list as far as it can go.

Will more than likely be announced mid year for the Tassie Job

This has been on the cards for Sydney for well over 12 months.

Such a well organised club, had the succession plan implemented long ago. Didn't tell the media, just quietly go about their business in developing players/coaches and making grand finals.

On CPH2145 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Rekon the Swans talked to Longmire and Cox when the WCE job came up and probably put a plan in place. Longmire's then had a couple of weeks to think about it and decided it's easier to just give Cox the clean air to takeover.

Will be very interesting to see if they now take a half step backwards.

I would assume Cox has a very different idea about how he wants them playing (hence the clean air) and it might take a bit of time to adjust.

That could also be why they went after forward line options in the draft.

The likes of Amarty and McLean might be getting limited game time in 2025 and beyond...

Reckon you can rule out the Swannies now for 2025 Premiers

Even though they finished top of the ladder they got found out a few times this season ..... not sure the change of coach will rectify that

Put the clamps on 1 or 2 of their stars and they are very beatable
They won't win a flag with Amartey, McLean and McDonald in the same forward line.

From Dwayne's article above...

“I reckon kids want to barrack for them, they've got this crazy Hokball thing going social media-wise, they're cool.”

Shame "kids" won't be able to access social media next year.
I saw a story about the SM ban for minors today. Part of me thinks "Good on you Australia!" and part of me thinks "what kind of draconian mentalness is this?"

It won't work and allows government to ID check everyone. Also want to control "the truth". It's very much draconian. Like the UK they are arresting dissidents and going towards some kind wanna be totalitarianism.

Just the least of it means that we will all have to verify our age for big footy. Not sure how you do that, but surely it has to be a full identification or its useless.

However if you go to a pr0n site you just need to click the button that says "i am over 18" so off to the pr0n sites go the kiddies.

Personally i'm not over the moon about it, Facebook, Google etc already know way too much about everyone and their online habits, it will just give them more.

“I reckon kids want to barrack for them, they've got this crazy Hokball thing going social media-wise, they're cool.”

Shame "kids" won't be able to access social media next year. 💩
Well that might put a small spanner in the works!!
🤣🤣🤣

Nanny country.
Government should not be parenting.

Let’s not even start talking about pill testing at festivals and the mixed messages that sends.

Shame "kids" won't be able to access social media next year. 💩
If we had a season like Hawthorn did this year there’s no way the media would try to pleasure us like they’re doing to Hawthorn now.

Nanny country.

Let’s not even start talking about pill testing at festivals and the mixed messages that sends.

You'd be better off running a critical thinking and e-safety program through schools. It won't do anything.

It won't work and allows government to ID check everyone. Also want to control "the truth". It's very much draconian. Like the UK they are arresting dissidents and going towards some kind wanna be totalitarianism.
When you pair it with the misinformation bill they were trying to push through it starts to become alarming. Digital I.D. to get on on internet, RBA already in beta with a CBD currency. Government overreach is alive and well.

My kids are 12 and 9, I am already conditioning them that they may have to pursue opportunities overseas. Between the taxes, the cost of houses, household debt, the red tape, mass immigration policy, it is not the same Australia we grew up with.

When you pair it with the misinformation bill they were trying to push through it starts to become alarming. Digital I.D. to get on on internet, RBA already in beta with a CBD currency. Government overreach is alive and well.

My kids are 12 and 9, I am already conditioning them that they may have to pursue opportunities overseas. Between the taxes, the cost of houses, household debt, the red tape, mass immigration policy, it is not the same Australia we grew up with.

It is world wide. The US will be worse once they give the technocrats the keys and from there everyone will be coming in behind them. Elon will make the "illegals" the Trojan horse to chip everyone and biometric passport us all.

No its not.

Nanny country.

Pill testing is common sense harm minimisation. Kids will always take drugs, if we can reduce the chance that they'll die from it we absolutely should.

The Internet would be significantly better if 16 and unders were banned from it, but I can't advocate for the Government banning more things. It should be up to the parents, not the Government, to control stuff like this.
However if you go to a pr0n site you just need to click the button that says "i am over 18" so off to the pr0n sites go the kiddies.
Yeah I've been over 18 since I was 13
Nanny country.

Agree with your first two points, but I like the idea of pill testing. They are going to do the drugs regardless of how much education you give them. It's never going to stop them.

Having a place where they can legally get their drugs tested, and find out if those drugs are going to potentially kill them - is one thing that might stop them taking drugs.
The alternative is that they simply take the drugs without knowing there was a bad batch.

Would love John Longmire in some kind of role at St Kilda. Realise it's a longshot, but we'd be mad not to try and pursue him.

Discussion 2024 General AFL Discussion