Injury 2024 Injury Thread

From memory one was Young giving away a 50 in the centre square and one was Johnson giving away a free for rushing one through outside the protected area, so he could probably feel a little aggrieved copping blame for these ones.
Looking at the highlights there was a turnover from McDonald where he kicked it straight to oppo and that immediately led to a score.

Cox looked like a 3-4 month hammy, looked real bad

Got to remember he will need match fitness after its healed too

I'd also be shocked if McDonald wasn't an ACL

I would be amazed if these aren't the outcomes.

Cox looked like he has been shot, i doubt we seen him until the final 8 or so rounds.

Cox looked like a 3-4 month hammy, looked real bad

Got to remember he will need match fitness after its healed too

I'd also be shocked if McDonald wasn't an ACL
Agree on cox, he knew it was bad straight away too.

I’m still holding hope that omac isn’t that serious. Didn’t look like an acl to me. With no basis I’m guessing 6 weeks.

There is some hope with Oscar. Our medics couldn't tell for sure. I think he had a lot of swelling from the bones impacting, it looked very sore. I sit at the dug out, so can see the players just a few meters away.
McDonald could be anything, really hoping he has had a bit of luck here.

Nice little push in the back to Cox that helped pull that Hammy.. and no free kick

Shouldn't have been playing forward tbh - underdone with no pre season games - should have played Voss

You play Voss forward then Andrews is stuck on Amiss all game instead. I think Cox playing forward was actually the best option for us. Wouldn’t have wanted him playing underdone in defence.

Beginning to wonder if the lac of preseason matches is contributing to the increased injury rates in these first few rounds.

You would normally use 3-4 preseason games to push yourself to the limit, without exceeding it, pulling back when you start to feel fatigued, with the intent to be able push a little harder the next week.

Instead they've basically gone from 0-100 in a couple of weeks, without being able to build resilience in those muscles/ligaments required for structural support.

Correlation =/= causation and all that, but sometimes the most obvious answer is the right one.

Nice little push in the back to Cox that helped pull that Hammy.. and no free kick

Shouldn't have been playing forward tbh - underdone with no pre season games - should have played Voss

Concur.. not sure what value there is playing Cox as opposed to Voss or even draper in that particular defensive forward role on Harris Andrews. Looked to be running in mud around the ground.

The injuries suck. The cox hammy is the most concerning as the highest value and most important player of the 3.
I feel Walker can come in for worner and that probably might have happened regardless.
Cox getting repeated serious hammy injuries while on a 6 year deal makes me very nervous though…
OMac - he’s probably a depth player too in reality it’s just losing cox that makes it annoying in the short term not to have him. Crushing for him on a personal level though.

Thank * Amiss didn’t get injured when that campaigner from the lions pushed him into the post though
Did the brissie dog get reported for helping amiss into the post?

Watchig vision of after the game and Ryan and Fyfe talking to him, Omac seemed to say “grade two” and then shrugged his shoulders.
🤷‍♂️

We have the shortest session (as well as other teams that played their first game today). It's truly fkd our season is a full ten days shorter than some other teams. Not an insignificant disadvantage.
Nah, it’s going to be a full 18 days longer than some other teams in the end. Don’t worry about it.

I don’t think it worth getting all hot bothered about the fixtures. One could argue that it helped us that Brisbane played last week and Coleman and Neale sustained injuries.

The early start to the season is certainly resulting in more injuries. Harder grounds and less conditioning before the season starts I reckon contributing factors. That should be looked at more than some teams starting earlier and essentially having a longer season.

I get more hot and bothered about the northern academies and the massive advantage they (Brisbane, GC, Sydney and GWS) get. Each of those clubs bar GC have played in GF’s the one that hasn’t (GC) has been a basket case and the AFL have handed them extra concessions anyway. Yet they get four new top 20 draftees using a bunch of later picks. Sydney and GWS seem to get top 10 academy picks very regularly.

I don’t think it worth getting all hot bothered about the fixtures. One could argue that it helped us that Brisbane played last week and Coleman and Neale sustained injuries.

The early start to the season is certainly resulting in more injuries. Harder grounds and less conditioning before the season starts I reckon contributing factors. That should be looked at more than some teams starting earlier and essentially having a longer season.

I get more hot and bothered about the northern academies and the massive advantage they (Brisbane, GC, Sydney and GWS) get. Each of those clubs bar GC have played in GF’s the one that hasn’t (GC) has been a basket case and the AFL have handed them extra concessions anyway. Yet they get four new top 20 draftees using a bunch of later picks. Sydney and GWS seem to get top 10 academy picks very regularly.
Wait until tassie come online.
Another team funded by the west, Adelaide, and the Melbourne big 6 clubs.

Of course I dislike the academies and concessions for the northern clubs and the priority picks for the likes of Norf, but I disagree with your take that they are a bigger integrity problem than an uneven fixture.

I know which advantage I’d rather have - the one that involves getting top 5 picks for chump change.

Injury 2024 Injury Thread