Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss

Yeah, as I said you have to rely on the screens at the far end of the grounds.

I dunno if it's just me and my eyesight, but I find if you're sitting behind the goals, the opposite screens are too far away to actually be useful.
Considering you thought Goldy took 8 marks and LMac played on Darling I think it might be you’re eye sight.

This explanation makes no sense. A journalist was independently investigating an issue with North Melbourne membership seat allotment at Marvel, randomly spoke to someone who also posts on here, then they dropped the investigation they were meant to be conducting and suggested the poster follow up with the club.

Again, to clarify (and not having a go at you here H2H but it seems multiple people have missed this crucial point);

The issue at the time was thought to be the AFL/Marvel Stadium taking seats from all Marvel Stadium clubs. Because that is how NMFC representatives portrayed the issue to NMFC members.

The 'story' was thought to be an AFL/Marvel Stadium issue.

After NMFC reps told me that 'all Marvel Stadium clubs were losing these seats', I made multiple posts about this. I posted it on the mainboard of BF. I posted it on Reddit. I tweeted about it to several NMFC fan accounts. And all of these posts were from the angle of 'hey the AFL is screwing us!'.

Again, to clarify (and not having a go at you here H2H but it seems multiple people have missed this crucial point);

The issue at the time was thought to be the AFL/Marvel Stadium taking seats from all Marvel Stadium clubs. Because that is how NMFC representatives portrayed the issue to NMFC members.

The 'story' was thought to be an AFL/Marvel Stadium issue.
A journalist picked up and started investigating based on an email to NMFC members (that a lot of us don’t even get), approaching a random NMFC club member before dropping the idea? Maybe it’s because I’m not a reserved seat holder, but it seems like something that would have very limited public interest regardless.

I hope those of you who are affected do raise a fuss and get a better outcome.

A journalist picked up and started investigating based on an email to NMFC members (that a lot of us don’t even get), approaching a random NMFC club member before dropping the idea?

No.

Let me break it down a little more sequentially in the hopes of clarifying;

1. NMFC emailed reserved seat members in bays 35-39 telling them they had to move
  2. In follow-up phone calls with these members, NMFC staff told us that 'ALL marvel stadium teams' were being impacted by this.
  3. I made posts on BigFooty main board, the AFL reddit, and on Twitter kicking up a stink about this, from the angle of 'hey fellow Marvel teams - look what the AFL is doing to us!'
  4. It was at that point the reporter started looking into it.
Hope that makes sense.

So it wasn’t the AFL or marvels choice?

I put over 3k a year into this club

I was ok with donating during Covid
I am dealing with 10 wins in 4 years
I accept the 4 games in Tassie and the fact membership prices didn’t reduce even though we lost a home game

I don’t think I’m ok with being lied to

I’ll be cancelling my 27 years of two memberships today and my sons membership as well

That’s enough
Bye

You think I'm happy with being followed around and abused?

Cmon mate.

Maybe you shouldn't sneak around spreading people's personal information in an effort to hurt them then lil' fella.

FWIW I only got interested in all this because someone posted your bragging about talking to the journo about how the club betrayed you in a group chat I'm in.

You can convince yourself all you want you said or did nothing, or its all just me, but reality is lots of other people have seen what you did here and gone "oh jeez that's pretty rank behaviour".

No.

Let me break it down a little more sequentially in the hopes of clarifying;

1. NMFC emailed reserved seat members in bays 35-39 telling them they had to move
  2. In follow-up phone calls with these members, NMFC staff told us that 'ALL marvel stadium teams' were being impacted by this.
  3. I made posts on BigFooty main board, the AFL reddit, and on Twitter kicking up a stink about this, from the angle of 'hey fellow Marvel teams - look what the AFL is doing to us!'
  4. It was at that point the reporter started looking into it.
Hope that makes sense.
That is what I assumed happened - the journalist responded to a poster‘s complaint, no-one was investigating independently. It’s neat to say defensively that no one here proactively drew media to the issue before clarifying with the club, but I think we all know that putting comments into those forums is laying a bait. And again, I don’t think that’s the wrong thing to do when you feel ripped off, whether it’s your footy club, your airline or your phone company. None of them should be able to operate without scrutiny because their customers feel loyalty.

This explanation makes no sense. A journalist was independently investigating an issue with North Melbourne membership seat allotment at Marvel, randomly spoke to someone who also posts on here, then they dropped the investigation they were meant to be conducting and suggested the poster follow up with the club.

Indeed.

That is what I assumed happened - the journalist responded to a poster‘s complaint, no-one was investigating independently. It’s neat to say defensively that no one here proactively drew media to the issue before clarifying with the club, but I think we all know that putting comments into those forums is laying a bait. And again, I don’t think that’s the wrong thing to do when you feel ripped off, whether it’s your footy club, your airline or your phone company. None of them should be able to operate without scrutiny because their customers feel loyalty.

Dunno about you, but I didn't ring Optus to sign my little one up the day they were born like I did with my footy club.

And if an airline had the performance of my footy club's men's team, I'd have stopped flying with them years ago.

Reality is that all Marvel clubs ARE affected by this. We are just out first and copping the full brunt accordingly.

The club certainly had a messaging fail here but accusations of betrayal and deception are melodramatic bullshit.

More importantly, the cub has been hammered all year in the media, and we are not exactly swimming in cash as is.

For people to go actively courting media attention so they can push a negative story about the club leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

Especially when they are also opening up a direct line to the CEO while in contact with the journo.

The club sending emails to affected members stating that their seats were being taken as ‘they had been reclassified by Marvel/AFL’ then when challenged stated that they’re being used for corporate revenue raising isn’t a messaging fail.

It’s a blatant lie, and will cost members.

I guarantee you this thread has been read at the club - for very good reason, they've clearly stuffed their messaging on an important issue.
Yeah, it's the core issue.

The hamfisted way they have handled the messaging of these changes is pretty unforgivable given the affected members are probably among the most hardcore rusted ons they have.

They've been pretty much disrespected and that is sooooo not on.

The club sending emails to affected members stating that their seats were being taken as ‘they had been reclassified by Marvel/AFL’ then when challenged stated that they’re being used for corporate revenue raising isn’t a messaging fail.

It’s a blatant lie, and will cost members.

The seats were moved because of the Marvel redevelopment and the AFL owns Marvel outright.

No redevelopment, no seat moves.

Yeah, it's the core issue.

The hamfisted way they have handled the messaging of these changes is pretty unforgivable given the affected members are probably among the most hardcore rusted ons they have.

They've been pretty much disrespected and that is sooooo not on.

It would be interesting to know how many of those members have taken it with the voluble intensity as seen on here.

I was worried about the lack of an option to purchase premiership club reserved seats memberships so I emailed the club just to double check nothing is changing there. Lachie rang me pretty soon after and confirmed that reserved seats are still an option but they're just waiting on this side of things to be finalised before they put them up for sale.

It would be interesting to know how many of those members have taken it with the voluble intensity as seen on here.
Dunno.

How long's a piece of string?

In hindsight the smart move would have been to telegraph the changes with those affected and keep them updated along the way.

Open dialogue = respect= less tears would be my take.

Again, repeating myself here:

Carlton are the only other Marvel Stadium team who have released their membership seat options for 2024, and they have the exact same access tehy did in 2023. See below.

So, no. Our seats weren't moved because of the redevelopment.

1694481641246.png

The seats were moved because of the Marvel redevelopment and the AFL owns Marvel outright.

Wrong.

The club saw $$$$ and used the redevelopment as a front to flog them off because ‘the rooms are bigger.’

Even when we’re absolutely flying, we’re not going to attract a full suite of corporate suckholes.

LOL. Turn it up. That’s only a part of the truth and you know it. Stop being mischievous. The whole truth is that the redevelopment has provided an opportunity to utilise a new function room for tenant clubs. The NMFC wants to maximise revenue and as such has taken the reserved seats that are linked to the new function room away from current members. That’s because they want to use the function room to its fullest potential. They didn’t have to do this. Other clubs may follow our path. They may not. This isn’t the AFL’s doing. It ours. All the AFL have done is provide a new function room to tenant clubs. That’s it. The whole truth. :stern look

Again, repeating myself here:

Carlton are the only other Marvel Stadium team who have released their membership seat options for 2024, and they have the exact same access tehy did in 2023. See below.

So, no. Our seats weren't moved because of the redevelopment.

View attachment 1800741

I reckon it is a bit more complex than that myself, but let's not let facts or nuance get in the way.

LOL. Turn it up. That’s only a part of the truth and you know it. Stop being mischievous. The whole truth is that the redevelopment has provided an opportunity to utilise a new function room for tenant clubs. The NMFC wants to maximise revenue and as such has taken the reserved seats that are linked to the new function room away from current members. That’s because they want to use the function room to its fullest potential. They didn’t have to do this. Other clubs may follow our path. They may not. This isn’t the AFL’s doing. It ours. All the AFL have done is provide a new function room to tenant clubs. That’s it. The whole truth. :stern look

"Part of the truth" lol.

Thanks for that Ahzura Mazda.

The fact is that the AFL redevelopment of Marvel is the root cause behind all this.

Perhaps Chad and LeakWhatYouyreToldAboutClarko34 can hook you up with their journo mate.

DiligentJoyousEasternglasslizard.gif

From what I can read here the club is leveraging the premium seats for higher level membership. Seems nothing to do with Marvel/AFL enforced changes. Seems a straight corporate decision to maximise revenue. The club seems to be spinning this the best way that they can without actually just telling the truth - we can make more money from your seats if we move you. If I am reading this wrong please explain.

So it wasn’t the AFL or marvels choice?

I put over 3k a year into this club

I was ok with donating during Covid
I am dealing with 10 wins in 4 years
I accept the 4 games in Tassie and the fact membership prices didn’t reduce even though we lost a home game

I don’t think I’m ok with being lied to

I’ll be cancelling my 27 years of two memberships today and my sons membership as well

That’s enough
The last thing this club needs is to lose loyal members like yourself but they should have thought about the consequences of their actions by doing what they have done. So disappointing for everyone this involves.

Resource 2024 Membership thread - it begins - with a kiss