Training 2024 Pre-Season

I was there today and he was a little bit behind but pretty similar to those guys. For me it’s not his tank it’s his footy instincts and craft that I don’t see enough progression in. I don’t see him as close to 1’s as some other onlookers.

Agree with that - the lad tries his heart out and wants to do well (saw him miss a simple 20 metre pass in a drill early on because his ball drop was awful & he knew it) but unfortunately you can’t pull your Sox up if u haven’t got any - will be very surprised if he makes it - will only play AFL if we have horrendous big man injuries

I agree mate. He tries his heart out and is very brave but I don’t see him as a No 1 ruck in a good side and his forward work is a fair way behind the others.

There has been a few murmurings that has already had to be pulled into line

One of which that one player had to go and get him to training after he called in ill because of a heavy night

Not sure if true .... but word is that he is bit of a campaigner .... disappointing if true

Come on we wanted Campaigners , we had too many mummy's boys who made their beds remember.
Now you get a bad boy and you all cry about it.

Agree with what is being said on Max Heath. There was a drill early in the session on the boundary line. Ball thrown in and Ruck contest then mids getting to work. Poor Max was stuffed after about 6 contests in 3 mins against RoMa. He won a couple of taps but geez it's another VFL season and seeing if he can progress that fitness level by the look of it.

Bloody RoMa smiling all the way through it too.

Come on we wanted Campaigners , we had too many mummy's boys who made their beds remember.
Now you get a bad boy and you all cry about it.
Who is crying about it?

Just passing on what I heard from a fellow Saints supporter that has connections

Kid has plenty of tools to be a gun .... but if his attitude sucks then the likelihood is that wont make it ..... Joffa said he likes a beer .... could be that he has heard the same story

Doubt NAS will be a winger - found his spot at half back due to Enright‘S smart thinking & is set up now physically, confidence & experience wise to completely dominate that position - & don’t forget RTB always has a defence first mantra.

I think Nas may well become our Tom Stewart. An intercepting defender, who is also very attacking.

I was surprised in 2023 how physical a player Nas had become. And with more size again I think he will be a standout for us in 2024 and beyond.

Byrnes was looking great at the start of last year before dropping off, hopefully he can build on some of that early form.

I feel like our future wingers are going to be NAS and Wilson, but they both still have to prove themselves (NAS on the wing at least), but for the time being, there's a spot alongside Wood that's up for grabs.

Byrnes has a lot of tools, it's just a shame he doesn't have a bit more size to him. Hopefully he can have a big year and at least generate some trade value.

Wilson looks like a pure onballer to me? Feel like he'd be wasted on the wing.

This writing off of 21 yr old Max Heath is uncalled for. Its a well-known fact that big men take much longer to develop - Marshall was only just drafted at 21. Moose has almost 3 pre-seasons under his belt and is starting to show signs in the forward line with a couple of big hauls of goals. Can't forget that Row was drafted 2015, debuted in 2017, and really only broke out in 2019 as a full time ruck - at the age of 25, 4 years after he was drafted. Played as a key forward in 2017 & 2018, which is probably where Heath starts his career hopefully later on this year/early 2025, 3ish years on from when he was drafted.

Heath is taking a bit longer by way of years in the system compared to Marshall, but certainly is far ahead of 21 yr old Row. Heath was taken in the same draft as the likes of Ned Moyle (1 game), Jacob Edwards (delisted), Alex Mirkov (YTD), Lachlan McAndrew (2 games), Aidan Begg (3 games). The ones with games were all out of necessity and got dominated, so compared to them, Heath certainly isn't behind schedule.

We just need to be patient, and honestly, there is no rush at the moment as Row still seems to have plenty in the tank and we'll always have another mature backup ruck whether its Campbell or another recruit after Campbell moves on.

This writing off of 21 yr old Max Heath is uncalled for. Its a well-known fact that big men take much longer to develop - Marshall was only just drafted at 21. Moose has almost 3 pre-seasons under his belt and is starting to show signs in the forward line with a couple of big hauls of goals. Can't forget that Row was drafted 2015, debuted in 2017, and really only broke out in 2019 as a full time ruck - at the age of 25, 4 years after he was drafted. Played as a key forward in 2017 & 2018, which is probably where Heath starts his career hopefully later on this year/early 2025, 3ish years on from when he was drafted.

Heath is taking a bit longer by way of years in the system compared to Marshall, but certainly is far ahead of 21 yr old Row. Heath was taken in the same draft as the likes of Ned Moyle (1 game), Jacob Edwards (delisted), Alex Mirkov (YTD), Lachlan McAndrew (2 games), Aidan Begg (3 games). The ones with games were all out of necessity and got dominated, so compared to them, Heath certainly isn't behind schedule.

We just need to be patient, and honestly, there is no rush at the moment as Row still seems to have plenty in the tank and we'll always have another mature backup ruck whether its Campbell or another recruit after Campbell moves on.
didn't you hear? he missed a kick. The kid is DONE. Done ya hear!

I’m not sure the comparisons with Marshall are around the mark.
Marshall was very good CHB at VFL the year he got drafted.
He’s a genuine footballer, has a nice field kick, reads the play well and takes a good mark. All traits he showed at underage level but he was an undersized ruckman at the time, and a bit too slow to play CHB at the highest level.
Heath came in raw, has some great traits but after 3 years in the system could still go either way. This year will be very important for him, we would hope to see him consistently tearing teams apart in the VFL for really coming on next year.
If he plays at the same level as last year, it’s hard to see him bridging the gap to be a dominant ruckman by 2026/27

Heath isn’t far ahead of Marshall at the same age, he’s on an AFL list but Marshall was regularly putting together impressive VFL performances at the same age and just looked a footballer

Agree with what is being said on Max Heath. There was a drill early in the session on the boundary line. Ball thrown in and Ruck contest then mids getting to work. Poor Max was stuffed after about 6 contests in 3 mins against RoMa. He won a couple of taps but geez it's another VFL season and seeing if he can progress that fitness level by the look of it.

Bloody RoMa smiling all the way through it too.
To be fair, it's not easy to wipe the smile off Ro's face.

Disagree. He does have the tools and IMO is a slow burn. Rucks are very rarely any good before 25 so he has years of development.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Suspect 4-post poster is suspect.

Post a source, or piss off.
Reckon they are Adelaide based and had a source on Keeler as well.
Probably the same who had burner accounts all.over the net claiming Shoenmakers was bullying disabled kids.

Never a reliable source with these trolls.

Who is crying about it?

Just passing on what I heard from a fellow Saints supporter that has connections

Kid has plenty of tools to be a gun .... but if his attitude sucks then the likelihood is that wont make it ..... Joffa said he likes a beer .... could be that he has heard the same story
Nope, reference was to him buying beer for his mates and getting suspended last year.

Have heard nothing about him except the rumours from one person with numerous burner accounts across SM, and now this rumour.
Until something substantial is sources, I will continue to ignore it and watch him on track.

That's a pity. Sounds like another Tim Elliot and another .... forgotten the name of the other ruckman that spent 6 years on the list and may only got 4 games....

Lewis Pierce?

I certainly haven’t given up hope for Heath
We have no idea what’s going on in the background (I don’t anyway )
I also have no idea about what goes into the development of a young ruckman
But maybe at the end of the 2023 season he was told 2024 was to be a bulk up year for him
Put on 10kg through the break/preseason/2024 playing season

Next years break and preseason to just maintain weight whilst working on the tank- plan to have a good crack at AFL level 2025 - he would still be one of the youngest ruck men going around in 2025 if that were the case

I hope there is a plan for him - whatever it is - he’s not just going about it day by day in the hope that something just happens

Heath was quite encouraging as a forward at Sandy, and is still learning his craft as a ruckman.

When you’re as enormous as he is, and have dominated at junior level because of it, you have to effectively completely re-train when the guys you’re competing with are the same size but have much more experience.

He’s doing just fine from what I’ve seen, whether or not he becomes a gun, or even just a regular Senior player.

This shit is ridiculous.

FWIW, his top games at VFL level have been;

Rnd 4, 2002 vs Suns - 16 disposals, 28 hitouts, 3.0

Rnd 2, 2023 vs Ess - 10 touches, 23 hitouts, 5.1

Rnd 15, 2023 vs Werribee - 12 touches, 44 hitouts, 1.0

The potential is there.

Training 2024 Pre-Season