List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

You're not a mod here? News to me. No idea what you're on about with the magic comment, certainly not an adjective I've used. I'd suggest you remind yourself we're all on the same team here. Your posting style is pretty abrasive tbh, and if posters are having a crack at you, you might have a long wonder why.
Some observations from someone who isn’t and is unlikely to ever be a mod:

Settle down Rambo - the bit about "pretty abrasive” is pretty subjective imo. Some peeps on here are invested, frustrated
and so on. I don’t think we need to take the to and fro too personally tbh. phantom13 is a passionate but a fairly respectful poster who has been around the block. Take a chill pill. :)

Completely disagree on this one Gringo. We need to back them all in, else we're forked. And remind me, since Lyon left last time, who were the successful admin or coaching panel we had on board? In fact, since GT or even Alves, what have we done, who have we intstalled successfully? Absolutely no one.

Ross Lyon and Seek.com guy are the best hope we have. Get used to it I'd say and back them in!

This is holding no-one to account. We were ****ed because we wouldn't employ people with experience or knowledge and kept extending contracts for incompetents. Just because you aren't as bad as other people doesn't mean you're good.

I wouldn't sack Lyon now, I'm giving him next year but if at the half way mark of next year we aren't looking like we are likely to finish top 8 he should come under serious pressure to resign or be moved on. Lyon has built a footy department and set some standards. I appreciate that but he's being paid as a coach not a director of footy.

If he's not good at coaching get someone with youth and ideas and keep him as a DF.

Jack Steele doesn't run our Club. He's an average to good midfielder at best. And if he has an attitude problem with the Senior Coach he should be moved on forthwith.
This isnt how modern sporting clubs work.

The club needs to manage the egos, you reckon Richmond didnt have all sorts of issues with Dusty? Collingwood and DeGoey, noting neither of them is a captain as well.

You're not a mod here? News to me. No idea what you're on about with the magic comment, certainly not an adjective I've used. I'd suggest you remind yourself we're all on the same team here. Your posting style is pretty abrasive tbh, and if posters are having a crack at you, you might have a long wonder why.
if you go to the St Kilda main forum there is a button at the top called "moderators" If you click that you can see the moderators for the St Kilda board.

I think it's probably a bit of an example of how the club is a bit stuck in the past. Lyon is a tough love operator but with a generation who are used to being coddled.

We shopped guys like Gresham and Howard around. Then expect them to come back and play like robots without any skin off them.

Lyon has told Steele some tough home truths but rather than inspire him it looks like it's burdened him.

If I've been shopped around and then told they'll have me back but only if the club doesn't get what they want, doesn't make the player feel good about themselves or the club.
When did we 'shop' Gresham around?

And when did we expect him to come back & play?

Howard?

I'm a little lost at what you mean here.

Steele is the captain of the club... if he can't be challenged & then respond accordingly then he shouldn't be near the leadership group let alone the head of it.

You are really reaching now...

Jack Steele doesn't run our Club. He's an average to good midfielder at best. And if he has an attitude problem with the Senior Coach he should be moved on forthwith.

He doesn't run the club but you have unhappy employees you won't get good performances.

This isnt how modern sporting clubs work.

The club needs to manage the egos, you reckon Richmond didnt have all sorts of issues with Dusty? Collingwood and DeGoey, noting neither of them is a captain as well.

Umm cough cough if Steele was even half the player those guys are we wouldn't be having this conversation.

Howard?

Steele is the captain of the club... if he can't be challenged & then respond accordingly then he shouldn't be near the leadership group let alone the head of it.

Apparently told him that he should go look at what's out there and then told him we'd keep him if we didn't get what we wanted. Not sure it's true but that was the rumour.

These posts are doing my head in.

“We should trade our good players while they’re still good so as to get valuable draft picks”

and

“We shouldn’t shop our players around because they will get p1ssed off and want to leave”.

How do we trade without shopping around?

Fair dinkum; who’d want to be a club administrator

Some observations from someone who isn’t and is unlikely to ever be a mod:

Settle down Rambo - the bit about "pretty abrasive” is pretty subjective imo. Some peeps on here are invested, frustrated
and so on. I don’t think we need to take the to and fro too personally tbh. phantom13 is a passionate but a fairly respectful poster who has been around the block. Take a chill pill. :)

I'm also invested, for a long time, and frustrated. Am I not allowed my opinion? Phantom13 is a big boy and I'm pretty sure he can take a little bit of feedback. Not sure we need you stepping in. Though I do take your point on board and as such will sign off for tonight. Peace campaigner. :)

This is holding no-one to account. We were ****ed because we wouldn't employ people with experience or knowledge and kept extending contracts for incompetents. Just because you aren't as bad as other people doesn't mean you're good.

I wouldn't sack Lyon now, I'm giving him next year but if at the half way mark of next year we aren't looking like we are likely to finish top 8 he should come under serious pressure to resign or be moved on. Lyon has built a footy department and set some standards. I appreciate that but he's being paid as a coach not a director of footy.

If he's not good at coaching get someone with youth and ideas and keep him as a DF.
Lyon needs to see out his contract, however, I want to see the succesion plan well in advance of that.

Nah, youre off here.

You seem to think his decision to sign with us or others will be based on a singular thing and it absolutely wont.

Being dismissive of the multitude of inputs that would be going into this decision is dumb IMO.

If Hawthorn is making him feel the love and were not then it might be the difference, youre trying to speak as an authority on a persons feelings.

Again, i dont think he is, but its folly to categorically state that.
I’m dismissing a made up narrative that has come from Bigfooty with not a single link anywhere that hints it could be a real genuine fact.

You and others are talking about Battle feeling loved and needed and having his balls fondled. There is nothing to say that is or isn’t happening.

It shouldn’t even be apart of the conversation because it is baseless and is twisting what is fact about the current state of play.

That is what I am dismissing.

Put something with a credible link on the table and I’ll happily not squash it and discuss to death.

But when we have people saying - well he hasn’t signed and it’s because he isn’t feeling the love. Like they actually know and it’s not made up speculation crap.

That’s someone’s opinion and I’ll happily call crap like that out - the same way people don’t like some stuff I post.

Except…. My track record says I usually get someone like Twomey backing my player movement information up as fact.

McClure and Cleary discussing Hawks and Pies into Josh Battle… how he is unlikely to get 900k+… more likely to trigger end of first round compo and land saints an early-mid 20s pick.

Sam mentions briefly big Ro having his head turned by offers from other clubs all in the first 15 min of episode.

well i took one positive out of that=competition,collingwood and hawthorn,if either one,especially hawthorn after last year really want him and dont want to lose,they will go higher

but honestly if he goes for less than 900k and we get band 2,im happy to just move on,its an internal issue or a battle issue,or both,but if he goes for 900k plus and we are not given band 1,we as a club really have no hope ever,i think that would be as good as the afl telling us that directly

at that point we might as well make it all about little wins at the trade table and gaining high picks,maybe sandy winning a flag,because we aint winning a flag

Howard?

Shopping a player around…

Every player gets to talk to clubs. A club can’t “shop” someone without them then agreeing to a trade.

A player can however strong arm a club to trade them.

So this notion that again, we are forcing people out and making them feel unloved is crap.

Re Howard, we let him explore his options. There was clubs interested in him the player.

There were no clubs interested in our price. Which was a first rounder. (Thats the basic understanding I had) I don’t know if there was more to this re salary matching etc.

We offered Gresham a deal we thought he was worth. Same as Battle. We had Ross sit down with Gresham to stay.

Gresham chose to leave.

Same principal with TDK. But he chose to stay at the blues.

I’m dismissing a made up narrative that has come from Bigfooty with not a single link anywhere that hints it could be a real genuine fact.

You and others are talking about Battle feeling loved and needed and having his balls fondled. There is nothing to say that is or isn’t happening.

It shouldn’t even be apart of the conversation because it is baseless and is twisting what is fact about the current state of play.

That is what I am dismissing.

Put something with a credible link on the table and I’ll happily not squash it and discuss to death.

But when we have people saying - well he hasn’t signed and it’s because he isn’t feeling the love. Like they actually know and it’s not made up speculation crap.

That’s someone’s opinion and I’ll happily call crap like that out - the same way people don’t like some stuff I post.

Except…. My track record says I usually get someone like Twomey backing my player movement information up as fact.
You want a credible source for how Josh is feeling.

I mean a few people have now noted he might feel a little cold given your “source” had said we offer 800x6 and effectively said take or leave it.

You really, genuinely can’t see how another club might go “we think your worth more and we see you being a Captain/whatever” and that potentially influencing his decision.

It’s a discussion around his feelings and that impact on the decision making process, facts don’t really play into it. We’re all speculating you’re just claiming it’s fact he’s happy.

I'm also invested, for a long time, and frustrated. Am I not allowed my opinion? Phantom13 is a big boy and I'm pretty sure he can take a little bit of feedback. Not sure we need you stepping in. Though I do take your point on board and as such will sign off for tonight. Peace campaigner. :)
I haven’t told you you can’t have an opinion. Nor did Brian.

Seeings you provided me with feedback let me offer some back, don’t take mine or anyone’s post personally.

McClure and Cleary discussing Hawks and Pies into Josh Battle… how he is unlikely to get 900k+… more likely to trigger end of first round compo and land saints an early-mid 20s pick.

Sam mentions briefly big Ro having his head turned by offers from other clubs all in the first 15 min of episode.

They said he could get a 850-900k offer because he is unrestricted but they don’t believe him to be worth that amount.

They literally are discussing the argument happening in here.

There is no new information other than supporting Twomey from last week saying he is definitely a gettable target for clubs.

Umm cough cough if Steele was even half the player those guys are we wouldn't be having this conversation.
Steele was argurably better than DeGoey in his AA 5th in the brownlow year. Since he’s been injured and out of form. Maybe both this things are related to his frustration.

Howard?

Tend to agree on Steele but conversely as captain he should be able to challenge the coaches. How do we know he hasn’t and gotten no response.

Ross, BJ have never come across as feedback takers

They said he could get a 850-900k offer because he is unrestricted but they don’t believe him to be worth that amount.

They literally are discussing the argument happening in here.

There is no new information other than supporting Twomey from last week saying he is definitely a gettable target for clubs.
But couldn’t possibly be disapponted that the saints won’t give him an extra $50k right?

If he walks for $850k and we get band 2 we’re gonna look ****ing stupid.

“We should trade our good players while they’re still good so as to get valuable draft picks”

and

“We shouldn’t shop our players around because they will get p1ssed off and want to leave”.

I'd happily do it and not **** up everything I touch like the last lot of clowns.

But couldn’t possibly be disapponted that the saints won’t give him an extra $50k right?

If he walks for $850k and we get band 2 we’re gonna look ****ing stupid.
That’s effectively what they said and the argument everyone in here agrees on.

My point was that there was no new info.

and

I'd happily do it and not **** up everything I touch like the last lot of clowns.
I first became a member in 1973.

I’ve ridden through 52 years of pain and hardship with this club.

I’ve endured years where we’ve hardly won a game. Endless wooden spoons and the real prospect of folding.

I’ve seen Tony Lockett, one of the only bright spots in our horror years be traded to Sydney.

I’ve had the rare prospect of a premiership ripped from my heart in 1997, 2009 & 2010.

I’ve watched the club appoint a dwarf as coach and seen him turn into a maniacal, psychotic dwarf.

I’ve been through all that and yet I’m still here.

However, the appointment of gringo2011 as an administrator of our club would indeed finish me off 😩

I first became a member in 1973.

I’ve ridden through 52 years of pain and hardship with this club.

I’ve endured years where we’ve hardly won a game. Endless wooden spoons and the real prospect of folding.

I’ve seen Tony Lockett, one of the only bright spots in our horror years be traded to Sydney.

I’ve had the rare prospect of a premiership ripped from my heart in 1997, 2009 & 2010.

I’ve watched the club appoint a dwarf as coach and seen him turn into a maniacal, psychotic dwarf.

I’ve been through all that and yet I’m still here.

However, the appointment of gringo2011 as an administrator of our club would indeed finish me off 😩
Gring list manager.
George head coach.
Dard director of coaching.
Mowman trainee receptionist.

Sign me the **** up