Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven

How is he bad for the young group?

Not like he's ever been arrested out on the piss.

He's always diligent in his training and recovery.

As he gives no real leadership. No one expects nor knows Lmac can take the game at the scruff of the neck lol he has barely any impact on the game and when he barks orders, obviously no one is listening as we purposely went out and recruited experienced and leadership. Even the coaches identify that we have shit leadership.

What you said in bold is an expected requirement? Wow he is diligent in his training and recovery, take a bow Lmac for doing what every footy player does when they get into the AFL lol Lmac if on the trade table would barely get a game in the AFL in another team let alone be a leader.

This is one reason why we are so shit. We have a bunch of average players in the their wrong roles. Every team that is successful has a great on field leader.

Watch the difference when we actually play with a proper leader like Parker and got experience like Caleb etc

Look at Sheezal. He is attached to Parker’s hip already. Finally the young core will actually learn and develop from true leaders! 💙

As he gives no real leadership. No one expects nor knows Lmac can take the game at the scruff of the neck lol he has barely any impact on the game and when he barks orders, obviously no one is listening as we purposely went out and recruited experienced and leadership. Even the coaches identify that we have shit leadership.

What you said in bold is an expected requirement? Wow he is diligent in his training and recovery, take a bow Lmac for doing what every footy player does when they get into the AFL lol Lmac if on the trade table would barely get a game in the AFL in another team let alone be a leader.

This is one reason why we are so shit. We have a bunch of average players in the their wrong roles. Every team that is successful has a great on field leader.

Watch the difference when we actually play with a proper leader like Parker and got experience like Caleb etc

Look at Sheezal. He is attached to Parker’s hip already. Finally the young core will actually learn and develop from true leaders! 💙
Yeah I’m confused why they’re pursuing this with both captains. It’s like they know it doesn’t work, similar to persisting with Taylor, Drury and Lazaro. You know it’s not going to give the desired outcome and they surely know it will soon run its course - but why take the risk in effecting these young guys development. Tbh, both seemed to be better players when they weren't captains. If they can’t see that, it seems like an ego thing at this point.

I drove past Arden st the other day, I’ve been there many, many times and this is probably a stupid question but, we all know how hard it is to park around that area, where exactly do the players park? Just wherever they can get? They know all the good spots like a good local
should? Do many of them live close in like Kensington and walk or car pull? I’d hate to be running late looking for a space around Arden St.

where exactly do the players park? Just wherever they can get?

Genuinely this, yeah.

I had a chat with Majak about this a few years ago at an inner sanctum event and he said that some of the playing group get (tongue in cheek) competitive about who gets the best parks each day. Others usually end up around Dryburgh st and the surrounds.

We’re really shit because players that possess basic skills and requirements are made out to be exceptional.

I drove past Arden st the other day, I’ve been there many, many times and this is probably a stupid question but, we all know how hard it is to park around that area, where exactly do the players park? Just wherever they can get? They know all the good spots like a good local
should? Do many of them live close in like Kensington and walk or car pull? I’d hate to be running late looking for a space around Arden St.

We should have politely asked them to drill us an underground carpark while they were in the area making the new rail tunnel tbh. Another Jen Watt failure.

Just wait til Viney leaves and grab his spot

AFL captains aren’t much more than mascots imo. They just need to be good enough not to get dropped and responsible enough not to appear on the back page for the wrong reasons.

The leadership/mature age group as a whole is far more important. That’s why we’ve been poor.

We’re really shit because players that possess basic skills and requirements are made out to be exceptional.

Yes that too. As I said its one of the reasons why we are shit, we have lacked proper leadership on field for a whole now, and seems like the club has put it on their top priority lists to address that.

Its more about the confidence and belief. We get that from the strong leaders on the ground when we are losing a lead or getting smashed etc

we heard that last year. It worked in one pre-season game against Collingwood, and then we got found out

The risky fast ball movement worked in one half of footy against Fremantle.

The excitement in the ground at half time was palpable.

It also worked at times vs Carlton on Good Friday.

Unfortunately the backline of Biggy, Pink, K. Dawson and early season Corr simply couldn’t handle the reverse pressure. Add in the undersized back flankers (Colby, Fisher and Sheezel) and we couldn’t handle the ball coming back the other way.

We also had a group of mids and wingers (of various abilities) not known for defensive accountability and two way running: LDU, Stephenson, Stephens, CCJ, Wardlaw and Powell. Some out of laziness, some out of softness, some out of lack of tank.

Yes we slowed the ball down in the second half of the season but we also got more solid because:

Backline improved with:
  • Comben
  • Logue
  • Archer being what Luke McDonald should be
  • Corr’s form improving

Midfield improved with:
  • Sheezel coming in and dominating
  • Phillips sometimes doing defensive roles
  • Colby moving onto a wing

The close losses to Collingwood and Melbourne were our best performances

We definitely have the potential to improve a lot next season with:

• Darling upgrade to Pink as second tall forward
  • Daniel upgrade at half back flank
  • Parker and Jy as competitive half forwards with good defensive instincts
  • FOS defensive accountability and tank in whatever role he takes (likely wing)
  • Natural improvement from at least some of Wardlaw, Sheezel, Colby, Powell and Duursma

I think we now have the players to better cover turnovers if we do try to move the ball fast again.

Rear view mirror but felt sick at the end of the Collingwood choke that rather than propel us, that would (hopefully temporarily) smash us mentally.

Although we had a couple of competitive hitouts after that the experience of playing so comprehensively well only to combust meant we never took any meaningful scalps for the season and even regressed vs WC in Tassie.

For mine that was leadership. Both organisation and having some mature players who could convincingly command their posts. Think a Scott Thompson dominating his opponent, team under siege.

It wasn't just fitness that saw us hit such a predictable stop at a certain point on the game.

~We need a leadership change. Not just the mature heads brought in but a symbolic shift too.

Rear view mirror but felt sick at the end of the Collingwood choke that rather than propel us, that would (hopefully temporarily) smash us mentally.

Although we had a couple of competitive hitouts after that the experience of playing so comprehensively well only to combust meant we never took any meaningful scalps for the season and even regressed vs WC in Tassie.

For mine that was leadership. Both organisation and having some mature players who could convincingly command their posts. Think a Scott Thompson dominating his opponent, team under siege.

It wasn't just fitness that saw us hit such a predictable stop at a certain point on the game.

~We need a leadership change. Not just the mature heads brought in but a symbolic shift too.
Ultimately, this was probably why we were so aggressive during this trade period getting experienced heads from successful clubs. Especially ones that have been in leadership groups and captaincy roles.

To unleash the potential of the young talent, they need protection from all the gunfire that comes with it. They need guidance.

The huge fluctuations in form were down to our young lads simply getting cooked against the teams with bigger bodies. Our leaders letting them down was alarming though and this has been an issue since we started this damned rebuild.

We didn't rate our internal leaders and I think the direction the club has taken perhaps put pen to paper for a few blokes that might've jumped.

Ultimately, this was probably why we were so aggressive during this trade period getting experienced heads from successful clubs. Especially ones that have been in leadership groups and captaincy roles.

To unleash the potential of the young talent, they need protection from all the gunfire that comes with it. They need guidance.

The huge fluctuations in form were down to our young lads simply getting cooked against the teams with bigger bodies. Our leaders letting them down was alarming though and this has been an issue since we started this damned rebuild.

We didn't rate our internal leaders and I think the direction the club has taken perhaps put pen to paper for a few blokes that might've jumped.
For a second and admittedly this is a masochistic exercuse, imagine the alternate track had we prevailed.

All our youth (and some older guys too) taking out the reigning premiers.

We haven't knocked down a previous or upcoming premier since 2019. And that was a new coach anomaly.

I'm convinced we would've taken 2-3 more scalps and really finished with momentum.

Now we have to generate our belief ALL from within rather than know we've produced objective signposts towards success. That takes a lot more mental strength, to find confidence in something you're yet to demonstrate.

Interested I Like It GIF by UFC

The Collingwood game was like a jam-packed sequel to the Fremantle game. Showed what we can do when we put it all together, but also what is ultimately holding us back. Really, really should have been a win. So much of what goes wrong on-field for us is mental and cultural. It felt like when the Pies started coming for us our players began acting out a pre-determined path to losing, because of course we have to lose to the reigning premiers. That's what we do.

That game and the West Coast loss were the ones that unsettled me the most, even more than that familiar pain of the last two smashings.

Yes but it's been pretty well established that a bunch of disgruntled middle aged men on an online footy forum have a far superior idea of what it takes to be a club captain than anyone who is currently playing the game.
These same disgruntled middle aged men on an online footy forum have a far superior idea of what it takes to be a recruiting officer, a coach, a CEO, a president, a medical officer and a boot studder so surely they could captain a club in their sleep.

Surely.

Yes but it's been pretty well established that a bunch of disgruntled middle aged men on an online footy forum have a far superior idea of what it takes to be a club captain than anyone who is currently playing the game.

Yeah how dare anyone with a strong opinion post it on big footy without being fully qualified physio / assistant coach brother of Clarko who works at the club and played AFL for 15 years

Give it a break.

For a second and admittedly this is a masochistic exercuse, imagine the alternate track had we prevailed.

All our youth (and some older guys too) taking out the reigning premiers.

We haven't knocked down a previous or upcoming premier since 2019. And that was a new coach anomaly.

I'm convinced we would've taken 2-3 more scalps and really finished with momentum.

Now we have to generate our belief ALL from within rather than know we've produced objective signposts towards success. That takes a lot more mental strength, to find confidence in something you're yet to demonstrate.
We definitely need to win a bunch of games in a row next year to build some confidence in the plan and group.
The Hawks and Blues win streaks the last few years completely changed the morale and trajectory of their teams.
We need something like that, even if just three games in a row, to give them confidence they can do it.
Taking a top 8 scalp as well would help them build belief as well.

These same disgruntled middle aged men on an online footy forum have a far superior idea of what it takes to be a recruiting officer, a coach, a CEO, a president, a medical officer and a boot studder so surely they could captain a club in their sleep.

Surely.

I personally am not even disgruntled. I am sick of being shit as a fan. Lmac as a captain is just part of the huge amount of issues IMO and we are fixing that issue with our drafting.

I just want better for us roo boys. And I believe all these moves with Parker etc is going to make a bigger difference than most people believe. Its great timing. A lot of clubs on the rise, same pattern.

It's about players leading by example, which we have severely lacked. Not necessarily captain titles.

Simpkin plays hard and is courageous but he is far from a smart, experienced footballer who knows how to hold a lead. Lmac and Corr are part of the problem, rather than the solution.

We saw what Yeo did when we nearly lost to WC. You see what Sicily regularly does for the Hawks.

Look at that Pies game, the WC loss, the Freo game, even the GWS one and a few other that we lost comfortably. We were competitive or winning for most of the game but gave up avalanches of goals over a 10-15 min span. We even did our best to almost lose the 3 that we won.

If we had a Parker type to step into the middle and calm the farm then we probably stop those collapses and win 3+ more games.

Instead we have Simpkin being courageous but ultimately hacking the ball forward and we have Lmac and Corr melting under the pressure along with the youngsters.

We definitely need to win a bunch of games in a row next year to build some confidence in the plan and group.
The Hawks and Blues win streaks the last few years completely changed the morale and trajectory of their teams.
We need something like that, even if just three games in a row, to give them confidence they can do it.
Taking a top 8 scalp as well would help them build belief as well.
I reckon that if we get 3-4 in a row then the sky is the limit. We've got the talent.

Honestly believe it would have been better to delist luke happy meal and traded Jy. Fresh start, new era.

Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven