Teams 2025 Rate My Pre-Season Team

An Idea for a team.
Thought I should share it.
This is V1.18 in my list of saved teams strategies.
Idea is to make a trade saving starting team structure.
To do this I believe you need a minimum of 12-14 keepers and hopefully 10-12 are the top averaging players or scorers in each line.

Also if you are going to build a side with any early bye players like Roberts, Mills, Kiddy etc.
Some which share a bye early.
Why would you not starts Guns like N.Daicos, Merret or Flanders and only lose 1 gun each bye round and rotate around them.
Ultimately saving trades to get them in later.
Cost for my team is sacrificing my whole FWD line which could cost early, but I believe may be easiest line to upgrade during MOO Season.

Note this of course is just an Idea and very dependent on which rookies priced players pop up.

View attachment 2198561
Love your detailed responses to other posters dabombers . Great content. Appreciate you taking the time.

FWIW I don't like this current set up for one reason. You have mid rookies on the bench who will likely outscore on field rookies on other lines. Batting too deep in the mids IMO. Long way to go to the start line though. :)

Hi all,
I'm interested in hearing your thoughts on starting high priced players like Bont.
For 10 years I've played mainly for leagues and frustratingly never won my main cashie despite always making finals (though had a respectable 1200's overall last year) thanks to the wisdom gained through many hours reading here.

I understand the wisdom of starting Bont if targetting overall as you'll fall too far behind early without him.
But for leagues, would you think it better to start value picks sub $600k and pick up the Bont, Daicos, Butters types at lower prices as the magic number reduces?
No mate, not from my experience in playing leagues. This is all I've ever played for each year.
Not sure how competitive your league(s) are, but without the top premiums from day one, you'll struggle to even make finals, let alone win one.
For mine, playing for leagues is the true GnR approach with a couple of mid pricers.
In saying that, my starting team last season was absolutely spot on, no corrections needed in the first two rounds. Yet made one GF and missed the finals in my other league. Go figure

Version 1.2 - 2k left over

Wanted Flanders & Naicos so decided to run them over Sinclair & Butters atm
Not sure if the right move but cbf spending 3 trades/waiting weeks to get both after their bye

Sicily I like with the additions of Battle/Barrass. Mitchell has stated he will play back. Want those +6 for intercept marks

Passing on Macrae as he looks old to me playing last year. Will probably avg 95-100 which is still a win

Think Oliver/Ashcroft is good value can see them both going 110+

TDK just have a feeling he could burn you not having him if he goes 120+

If I need money JHF>Macrae would be the easy pick. Don’t think not starting JHF will burn you tbh

13-15 keepers if I’m lucky - any feedback is appreciated
1736336633604.png

Love your detailed responses to other posters dabombers . Great content. Appreciate you taking the time.

FWIW I don't like this current set up for one reason. You have mid rookies on the bench who will likely outscore on field rookies on other lines. Batting too deep in the mids IMO. Long way to go to the start line though. :)
Thanks pincrusher, most of it is just my ADHD type brain dribbling Ship and overthinking things.
Thats why they go on and on because when I start writing I don’t know where the thought will go or when it will finish, sometimes they just go round and round in circles.

That team originally had Flanders as flex ready for round 2 bye switcheroo.
And was just starting Sinclair in the mids for a hidden mid to defence switch.

Here is how I expect my team to look apart from rookies after we learn more.
1736375755397.png
Also I will split one or at the most 2 Premo’s to 2 or 4 MidPricers on price changes if the premo is a failed experiment or there are a few MPP’s that become must haves with -50 or more BE’s.

Playing Oliver as Flex is only because out of the Def/Mid’s I have picked his average should be better than my worst on-field rookie, but until I see how he is running around like the pig of old. He is a better safety buffer.

Also trying to save trades by batting deep in all lines except the FWDS which I mentioned I am willing to sacrifice or use correction trades when they are on the bubble.

I am deliberately trying to start the guys I found hardest to get into side during upgrade season when they started of last season on fire.
Starting with them and pivoting is easier than getting them once they hit high $600 to $700k.

For me it is a new style of playing for me as I have always had 5 or more MidPricers.

Everyone picking Tracca and Oliver - both kents wanted a trade end of last season- reckon they’re gonna actually get back to their best this year or just mail it in and request a trade end of the year again

Lots of kents not picking Gawn aswell - risky business - he embarrassed kents that didn’t get him last year…

1736378977424.png

This is the latest iteration of my “zero bucks, zero ****s” venture.

The positions that are changing the most are M2/M3, to Peatling or not to Peatling, D1, and whether I take a TDK/Hodor at flex over any player up to $580k or thereabouts.

English is also another that had been in and out, which allows me to go TDK to R2 and another $620k to spend in flex or elsewhere.

Was 2023 an aberration? Is he really just a 105-110 type of player? Or can he get back up around that 120+ mark again?

View attachment 2200159

The positions that are changing the most are M2/M3, to Peatling or not to Peatling, D1, and whether I take a TDK/Hodor at flex over any player up to $580k or thereabouts.

English is also another that had been in and out, which allows me to go TDK to R2 and another $620k to spend in flex or elsewhere.

Was 2023 an aberration? Is he really just a 105-110 type of player? Or can he get back up around that 120+ mark again?
I’m just not sure I can pick Mills for 350k.

I know I’m cherry-picking a bit here, Sherminator, but I don’t see how I can not pick him for $350k

IMG_5033.jpeg

We get a free look at him in round 0 as well.

Everyone picking Tracca and Oliver - both kents wanted a trade end of last season- reckon they’re gonna actually get back to their best this year or just mail it in and request a trade end of the year again

Lots of kents not picking Gawn aswell - risky business

re. Oliver:
I simply can't not pick Oliver priced at 84. Even if he goes 100-105, he's a fine M8 or stepping stone.
Last year he wasn't fit to play local footy, let alone AFL. I think the coaching staff played him for his mental health (being part of the team, etc), not his playing ability and what he was adding to the team.
Apparently he's on the up and started preseason in December (compared to last year, where he hadn't returned until late Jan).

re. Trac:
Trac is slightly unders when you remove the spleen match in which he had 40% TOG. Averaged 106.5 before that. His scoring was ok with a few big scores, aside from one out-of-the-ordinary low score (remove that and he was averaging 110+). I think worst case you get 105, best case you get 110-120.

Dees had a very poor year on-field and off-field, it can't get much worse. Even if they're not playing for the club, they'll play for themselves.

re. Gawn:
I'm sure he'll score well, but he's 33yo and I don't wanna pay full price for him. I think Xerri can top or at least match him. Then I think TDK and Meek will improve a lot.

View attachment 2200159

Great side ....it's amazing what configurations you can obtain, if you stick to cheap rookies

It's now just a question of if those cheap rookies get games .....early on with best 18, it won't be a big issue .....but cash you get enough cash generation if you have a lot of red dots ??

Has anyone managed to crack the “Zero bucks, Zero ****s” code yet?

The closest I’ve gotten is $300 remaining.

View attachment 2192903

I mean, I don’t hate it, but round 12 could get a little messy

title of your sextape ☝🏻
Having hardly any cash in the bank gives me major anxiety. I started with $80k itb last year, that'll be my aim again.

Great side ....it's amazing what configurations you can obtain, if you stick to cheap rookies

It's now just a question of if those cheap rookies get games .....early on with best 18, it won't be a big issue .....but cash you get enough cash generation if you have a lot of red dots ??
Thanks Wayneo.

I’m not a huge fan of starting the really expensive rookies unless they force my hand (see McKercher) or they are absolute guns in their first season (Daicos/Walsh). H Reid as well.

As always, there’ll be plenty of cheaper rookies, we’ve just got to pick the right ones based on role/maturity. Then there’s the dreaded vest, but flex mitigates that somewhat. Generally I like pure GnR with a sprinkling of an MP here and there, but I think there’s some real value across the board with the midprice options and fallen premos.

Keen for the practice matches to start so we can all change our teams a thousand times again.

I know I’m cherry-picking a bit here, Sherminator, but I don’t see how I can not pick him for $350k

View attachment 2200174

We get a free look at him in round 0 as well.
I guess his 2024 makes me nervous, what is his role and injury history.

Will he be a keeper or will he make cash.

He may still make my team.

Having hardly any cash in the bank gives me major anxiety.
Yeah, I don’t think I could do it either.

Anywhere from $30-$100k for corrections seems about right depending upon your situation.

Teams 2025 Rate My Pre-Season Team