Player Watch #29: Will Phillips - tags N.Daicos vs Collingwood - subbed off at 3/4 time??

He needs to be the player that gets his hands dirty particularly in CBA's and around stoppages. He's shown he can get busy in traffic. I don't really care about what he can't do as long as he's
value adding by complimenting the others.
Yes the first touch hit to player

Target him and he can release to the others on the move

Clarko has said on several occasions that our midfield mix isn't right but he's yet to try the most obvious solution, give Phillips 3 games like he did with Lazarro. If it works great we've solved one piece of the puzzle if not we try something else.

He need to start looking for a new club now.
Leave now while you've got the chance to have some finals success in your career.
'More opportunities' gives him the scapegoat not to look bad.

Clarko has said on several occasions that our midfield mix isn't right but he's yet to try the most obvious solution, give Phillips 3 games like he did with Lazarro. If it works great we've solved one piece of the puzzle if not we try something else.

Entirely possible that Will is the one to unlock Xerri’s to-the-feet ruck work and release LDU, Powell and GW into 2nd and 3rd possession.

I can't bring myself to listen to clarko's pressers anymore, but I did see a quote somewhere of him saying we need a big body mid. Is this correct? If so, it doesn't bode well for Will.

Having said that, he probably offers more 'in the trenches' than most of our other mids (except GW of course).

I can't bring myself to listen to clarko's pressers anymore, but I did see a quote somewhere of him saying we need a big body mid. Is this correct? If so, it doesn't bode well for Will.

Having said that, he probably offers more 'in the trenches' than most of our other mids (except GW of course).

It is clear we need a big bodied mid, or two. Watched Ginbey on the weekend and he isn't just big, but powerful. For some reason we tend to just draft 1 v.good to elite trait and just accept the rest.

It's possible but that something may not necessarily be sinister or a career threatening concern. It could simply be that Clarko and the selectors recognise a specific flaw that they want Will to work on and until they see improvement in that specific area, he needs to keep plying his trade at the lower level.
Does anyone think we have any flawless players playing in the 1s?

The closest we had was TT and he more than made up for it behaviour l-wise.

The issue is we have too many players with one great feature but a bunch of poor features. Even worse, 2 way running, power in the contest and speed is common across most of them. So that means that if you are in this bunch you are ideally going for a smaller number of roles.

If you've played team sport at any level, you will have experienced the coach picking on your deficiencies while overlooking someone else's.

It is clear we need a big bodied mid, or two. Watched Ginbey on the weekend and he isn't just big, but powerful. For some reason we tend to just draft 1 v.good to elite trait and just accept the rest.
Definitely need some size in there, LDU has it but doesn't play overly big, also gets sat on constantly when it is just him. In the interim I'd happily get more games into Greenwood even though he is slower, there is plenty of pace in the centre now compared to even a couple of years ago.

There is very little point in playing Greenwood, even if he is more than serviceable. He won’t be there when we next play a GF, probably not even when we next play a final

Yeah mate let’s flog the **** out of Wardlaw Powell Sheezel McKercher and throw them to the wolves. We are lacking midfield strength, you obviously didn’t see what Cripps did to us on Good Friday.

Couldn't disagree more.

By that logic 12 players wouldn't be getting a game and we'd be an even bigger basket case.

Ive played a bit of devils advocate in this thread, and pointed out where he stands, but ive come to the resolution he needs to play this week.

We need his in and under work against Geelong down there. Compete all day with Atkins, Parfitt, Bruhn at the coal face.
Come on, don't be soft. We don't need to gift Will games, we have plenty of other players we can rotate inside. If he really wants to play seniors, he can bang the door down with his performances in the twos.

Completely understand this perspective.

I just think bring him in against those similar type players, and get him to crack in.

Drop Shiels. Stephenson sub.

Ive played a bit of devils advocate in this thread, and pointed out where he stands, but ive come to the resolution he needs to play this week.

We need his in and under work against Geelong down there. Compete all day with Atkins, Parfitt, Bruhn at the coal face.

tbh, I don't want to see him near Bruhn. Or Holmes. Both from the same draft.

I'll put a whole through the TV and then drink my feelings.

tbh, I don't want to see him near Bruhn. Or Holmes. Both from the same draft.

I'll put a whole through the TV and then drink my feelings.

On the contrary, I think it would be a reasonable basis to assess whether or not Will is the bust that people love to call. If they destroy him, we supporters of Will might need to re-evaluate.

I think we have enough evidence to make the call on Phillips vs Bruhn and Holmes. More than enough.

For the record, I reckon just play him and see what happens. I'd be making 6 changes this week. Can't hurt.

He's not even been an emergency! The time to re-evaluate is long gone.

It's interesting how everyone is saying we don't need anymore mids in the draft, yet we can't win a clearance against top sides. Surely, the mix is wrong and at least trying Phillips in there is worth a shot