Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia Re-Signed for 2025

I was a little taken aback yesterday as I don't think I've heard a tigers player cop more abuse at a game from tiger fans.
Admittedly it's close your eyes and hold your breath when he gets the ball but I can appreciate his unrewarded running and ability to link up.
It's happened two weeks running now and although I'm not a fan of him this Bronx cheering and abuse of him is unpleasant and unwarranted. Unfortunately yesterday we were with a group of people and seven kids under ten and blokes were carrying on when he touched it which left me being a stick in the mud and having to telli them to support the team and grow up. As much as I carry on here I am the complete opposite in public especially if children are present . I see going to the football with family and friends as a God given privilege and a day out to enjoy each each other's company win , lose or draw. It annoys me to hear abuse and immature behaviour from adults as it creates another generation of imbeciles. My own brother was sooking it up at quarter time and wanted to go home , yet he organised the large gathering to be there . I couldn't care less about the scoreboard and was happy to be at the game as I find it difficult to get to games due to my family commitments.
The other disappointment of the day was that Greene character carrying on like a jerk and the crowd giving it to him as my son and another kid started going on Greene watch for the day and booing him. I was left having to have a chat with my fella at HT telling him that wasn't on and not why we go to the game.
We are VFL junkies and this just doesn't get in the spotlight at games as the crowd is too small to focus on incidents like this and there are no giant scoreboards amplifying the graphics.

its bad enough reading the rubbish here
Hopefully you're not referring to me as I'm only critical on what he's dished up and the the excuses people are coming up for his ineptness and it's based only on his professional abilty as a footballer on the field. The abuse at the ground has gone to a level based on personal attacks and not abilty/ output.

mostly the bagging he gets in game day and autopsy threads
so if thats you then yes
but i couldnt tell you who becouse i will mostly skim those comments
as they arnt worth giving any time too
i think player brought in cop it a fair bit on these threads and a lot of other players get a easy ride but each to there own

mostly the bagging he gets in game day and autopsy threads
so if thats you then yes
but i couldnt tell you who becouse i will mostly skim those comments
as they arnt worth giving any time too
i think player brought in cop it a fair bit on these threads and a lot of other players get a easy ride but each to there own
Game day threads I'm too occupied to do bagging . If I'm at the game I generally make light comments relevant to the game . Yesterday when people were going troppo at quarter time I lightly quoted something around ," The rain has come to save us" . Also I'm an old fart who cannot multi task by watching and typing simultaneously.

I notice Prestia is ranked 6th for disposals, excluding Ellis who is 4th with 80% ef the remaining are

67.8% ef Lambert ranked 5th disposals
66.6% Grigg 3rd
66.2% Prestia 6th
65.3% Cotch 2nd
61.6% Dusty 1st

And bringing up the rear for no other reason to show his EF% isn't to flash either is Jack with 57%, and those bagging Prestia should note his disposal whilst not the best and could improve is still inline with our other best ball geters.

I notice Prestia is ranked 6th for disposals, excluding Ellis who is 4th with 80% ef the remaining are

67.8% ef Lambert ranked 5th
66.6% Grigg 3rd
66.2% Prestia 6th
65.3% Cotch 2nd
61.6% Dusty 1st

And bringing up the rear
57.5% Jack
I'm not sure what you're quoting here. Can you provide a link to assist us to what your point actually is? If it's what I think you're implying then sixth would be about right as he's an outside midfielder( hired to be a ball winning machine) at this stage who isn't in the furnace doing the hard yards which shows him up to be pretty ordinary.
Comparing him to Jack and other players not in his field is near enough useless. Also just to inform you it's not about quantity here , but more importantly quality. We discussed last week how stats only tell a small picture and can be manipulated to exaggerate the truth. When you quote stats disposals are meaningless if a bloke makes heaps of clangers under next to no pressure in comparison to Martin who is busting his arse in the coal face. Prestia has little defensive pressure and low tackles which our game plan relies on and finally if he's not involved in impacting the scoreboard or involved in score assists and as an outside slow plodder he's under performing. His numbers should be like Brandos as he's not in the coal face , but rather closer to an outside witches hat looking for a cheapie so he can then extract off. He's failing bc of his high clanger count here alone.
Those numbers on their own appear to be next to useless on the proviso of their lack of detail and all other relevant data left out that quantifies a player. Sorry Bazzar, but until this 16km slow marathon runner gets this so called another preseason under his belt you're clutching at straws to convert the people who actually watch this guy play. I'm sure all of the BF mob would have been on here by now in his defence if he had even been half decent.
I just wish the club would make the hard call on him and got him 100% match fit rather than embarrassing him by playing him.
Maybe even without this imaginary preseason he needs its not possible. I hope he proves me wrong.

Game day threads I'm too occupied to do bagging . If I'm at the game I generally make light comments relevant to the game . Yesterday when people were going troppo at quarter time I lightly quoted something around ," The rain has come to save us" . Also I'm an old fart who cannot multi task by watching and typing simultaneously.

all good TI as I said I don't know who as I just try to skim all the bagging of players as its all from wanna be"s
the comments on this player is all based on pay packet and draft picked used as he is easy in our top 10 for output this year

if I was a player thinking of coming to a club and read all of this while doing research of that club well I think I might just say pass

So in the grigg thread someone posted stats showing he is the second worst kick in the league. Are we allowed to criticize him now?
Dangerfield is second worst this year after Grigg
Reckon Geelong supporters hang shit on Danger?
395185_036996775250076bd7cc209db56425ac.png

A few guys in there I wouldn't mind in our team

Not a personal attack RD.

But the boos always come from the cheap seats.
Didn't hear anything in the MCC members.

You've got to call it as you see it TI, god help us if we all had the same opinion.. He's been average this year end of story, can't go pumping up a guys tyres when it's not warranted.
At the moment it is not looking like a favourable trade. Of course things can always change and if that happens we reserve the right to jump on board the Prestia bandwagon :D

You've got to call it as you see it TI, god help us if we all had the same opinion.. He's been average this year end of story, can't go pumping up a guys tyres when it's not warranted.
At the moment it is not looking like a favourable trade. Of course things can always change and if that happens we reserve the right to jump on board the Prestia bandwagon :D

Based on his output this season yes correct. He's under performing based on his pay rate and his previous seasons at GC. But everyone knows the bloke has been playing under duress, underdone. So if you take this into account, I'd say he's doing OK, and as mentioned, once a full healthy preseason under his belt I'm backing he will get back to dominant best. He also adds a lot of structure and depth to our side which is much needed.

You realise he didn't do a full pre-season in 2016-17, 2015-16, 2014-15 and 2013-14?

Even more reason to back off until he has a full one!

I mean, with the injuries he has had, what, he's just going to have a full pre-season out of the blue?
If he s suffering with injuries - as some like to repeat - he is at long odds to have another full pre-season this year.
And no, I won't back off. What are we doing recruiting blokes who can't complete pre-seasons and why are people continually offering up excuses for him.

You realise he didn't do a full pre-season in 2016-17, 2015-16, 2014-15 and 2013-14?
Jesus!! 2010-2011 was his first preseason. So he's had two preseasons since being drafted. Hope he can reverse that trend
Maybe I am being over dramatic but alarm bells would have been sounding for me if I was on the FD down at Tigerland.

He came to us as damaged goods and we obviously think we can fix him, would have to say we have done bloody well so far this season.

I am not too concerned yet, next year, if he doesn't get back to his best then I will worry.

Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia Re-Signed for 2025