AFL Player #31: Zach Reid

Moore is five times more athletic and quicker.
For me height is not an issue. It will be the lean frame and the lack of speed. He does not look like he will have a KP body for a while yet. If he can not play on the big slow blokes and lacks the speed off the mark to intercept then he is going to have an issue I think.
He’s probably just stopped growing. He is probably another 3 preseasons of being the final product, body wise. When he is, he will easily be able to play on the big slow guys. It’s a wiry frame but he’s just starting to look strong, and will get there I reckon.

Big question mark about what the next 2 years look like. Expectations from most are for physical maturity by his age (Eg Perkins hitting his straps) and he simply won’t be there. I still hope he can show some strong glimpses. I reckon Scott will be inclined to get him into the ones when he can. They seem to rate him internally.

For me height is not an issue. It will be the lean frame and the lack of speed. He does not look like he will have a KP body for a while yet. If he can not play on the big slow blokes and lacks the speed off the mark to intercept then he is going to have an issue I think.
I think he has similar traits to Moore. Just lighter and less developed.

Moore is extremely agile for a guy of that height, probably the most all-round athletic guy I've seen over 2m in the AFL (followed by Daniher, who is a more natural footballer IMO).

Reid doesn't have the speed and agility of Moore, but does have a reasonable tank from his combine results and could read play well and kick fairly well from memory.

At Reid's height without particularly noteworthy speed or agility he'll need to have the body strength to stand genuine FF or ruckmen IMO.

Hard to get a read on where he's at physically due to injury and that's he's still been growing since he was drafted. Certainly has actual football ability though, not just a somewhat athletic tall bloke.

Moore is extremely agile for a guy of that height, probably the most all-round athletic guy I've seen over 2m in the AFL (followed by Daniher, who is a more natural footballer IMO).

Reid doesn't have the speed and agility of Moore, but does have a reasonable tank from his combine results and could read play well and kick fairly well from memory.

At Reid's height without particularly noteworthy speed or agility he'll need to have the body strength to stand genuine FF or ruckmen IMO.

Hard to get a read on where he's at physically due to injury and that's he's still been growing since he was drafted. Certainly has actual football ability though, not just a somewhat athletic tall bloke.
I still think Zach has good athleticism for his size.

I think he's fine - or he was when he was U18 - but not in the same category as Moore as a highly athletic tall. Also how much Reid has (or hasn't) lost due to extra growth and injuries we don't really know yet.

We also saw with BZT that once he'd started to mature his movement did improve so not necessarily a lost cause if a super tall 21 / 22 year old isn't moving that well given his history.

Mate - regardless of the difference in maturity, it’s apples and oranges.
I still maintain that he has similar traits. Tall. I think he will have good aerial ability, good athleticism and importantly read the play well. He needs to bulk up for sure. I never said he will be on the same level as Moore. Mate.

Agree - I hope for the team's sake that Reid can make it but I also worry about his speed.

Is Harris Andrews fast, he's not slow, but he's insanely clever and knows where to be.

Goes to show how good and durable Harris Andrews and Darcy Moore have been for their teams when both of them played full AFL seasons from the get go.
But that seems to be the exception not the norm with tall blokes.

Hayes doesn’t seem overly quick or athletically gifted either but from what I’ve seen he seems to have footy smarts. Is it conceivable that Hayes could have a chance of being a player before Reid from what you’ve seen.

Goes to show how good and durable Harris Andrews and Darcy Moore have been for their teams when both of them played full AFL seasons from the get go.
But that seems to be the exception not the norm with tall blokes.
Moore had plenty of hamstring problems in his early years from memory, Harris has been almost perfect in regards to injury.

Hayes doesn’t seem overly quick or athletically gifted either but from what I’ve seen he seems to have footy smarts. Is it conceivable that Hayes could have a chance of being a player before Reid from what you’ve seen.
Maybe. Hayes looks like he has a different build and will be stronger than Reid but my opinion is he is still another season away from really pushing the blokes that are there. He could well make it in defence before Reid. At the end of the day I think Reid just needs a development year which he may well get with no injuries to him and others. McKay is obviously going to be FB for the next 5 or 6 years. Laverde will play his role for at least next year and I am not ruling out Wiedeman as a defender so the likes of Reid / Hayes / Cox do have time to really build VFL form next year anyway. I still think that Reid will be suited to second ruck / forward . I know people are saying we have 4 other rucks but that is what list builds are about. Some blokes surprise and others do not get there.

AFL Player #31: Zach Reid