Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

Probably his best game all year. Was clean and explosive from congestion. Played in the middle every time we needed to clamp down. Is that new under mini? Think so.

The problem is the gap between his best and worst and he should be at that career stage where that gap is small but sadly it’s not.

He is also not slow despite what many say.

Probably his best game all year. Was clean and explosive from congestion. Played in the middle every time we needed to clamp down. Is that new under mini? Think so.

The problem is the gap between his best and worst and he should be at that career stage where that gap is small but sadly it’s not.

Last couple of weeks he's pinch hit in the middle.

Ideally he'd take Cotch's midfield minutes and we'd replace Cotch with a genuine forward like Cumbo, but the match committee like Edwards last year don't have the guts to get rid of him.

He is not when he is fit, like he is now. He now has some good games under his belt. The main problem with Graham this year is he came in underdone and took a lot of games to get his running game up to where he needs it to be.

Last couple of weeks he's pinch hit in the middle.

Ideally he'd take Cotch's midfield minutes and we'd replace Cotch with a genuine forward like Cumbo, but the match committee like Edwards last year don't have the guts to get rid of him.
That's bc our MC is The Australian Cricket Team selectors.

very very solid game by Jack, but as TigerImposter has mentioned about 400 times :D half our premiership boys are slow and getting slower and we MUST inject some promising speed, some on the edge of our best 22 will inevitably retire and one or two others may need to find new homes.
Well what excited you more TT ?
4 quarters of the Walrus plodding around?
or
1 quarter of Coulthard doing laps over the Hawks?

Our side won’t be complete until we can slot Clarke Brown and a fully fit MRJ in it. It kills me to watch Clarke and Brown in the vfl while some of those guys are stealing games from them with nothing more to offer.

or

Our side won’t be complete until we can slot Clarke Brown and a fully fit MRJ in it. It kills me to watch Clarke and Brown in the vfl while some of those guys are stealing games from them with nothing more to offer.
Jack Graham has a message for you ;)
beatles art.jpg

or

This year is a nothing year TI and thats just the way you have to treat it and finals are just a dream so not fussed when the kids get played
With a new coach in 24' and another preseason into Campbell , Smith , Green , Brown , Sonsie , Banks , Clarke , Ryan , Bradtke , Bauer & Gibcus

Thats when i would like to see the transformation of the team

This year is a nothing year TI and thats just the way you have to treat it and finals are just a dream so not fussed when the kids get played
With a new coach in 24' and another preseason into Campbell , Smith , Green , Brown , Sonsie , Banks , Clarke , Ryan , Bradtke , Bauer & Gibcus

Thats when i would like to see the transformation of the team
I understand mate , but I would love games into some of those kids.
Out of your list I'M not fussed with these guys not getting games as they still have development to do in the VFL:
Campbell, Smith, Green, Ryan, Bradtke

These guys if fit should all be playing:
Bauer, Gibcus, Brown, Clarke , Trezise and Banks.

I know it's hard to fit them all in, but JR8 and Cotchin retire. KMAC, JGTI, Pickett and Grimes should not be instant best 22 next year. So spots should be available.

I understand mate , but I would love games into some of those kids.
Out of your list I'M not fussed with these guys not getting games as they still have development to do in the VFL:
Campbell, Smith, Green, Ryan, Bradtke

These guys if fit should all be playing:
Bauer, Gibcus, Brown, Clarke , Trezise and Banks.

I know it's hard to fit them all in, but JR8 and Cotchin retire. KMAC, JGTI, Pickett and Grimes should not be instant best 22 next year. So spots should be available.
I think they will be once there is no chance of finals and really cant blame Mini for having a go at getting there as that would be what has been told to him to go for. but if we lose 2 more games then the experimentation and transition will start

My Daughter's friend from Primary school her family are big donors at Carlton and her dad has done scouting for them for about 15 years. Used to see him all the time but still catch up a few times a year. This guys a straight shooter.

I remember the figures cos I remembered it as Stuart Maxfield (27) x Craig Lambert (4). Heaps of 💩 players out there getting overpaid on promise. Us and North bumped Hamish Hartlett up to $800k cos we were desperate for a doozie. Tigers were paying Conca $600 and the swap for a homesick Gaff fell over cos they pissed themselves that he was getting that. Polecs probably still getting $750k to play Xbox. Graham would be on $600k or not much less. Which is a joke when Vlastuin, Grimes would never been paid as much as the near uaeless plodder.
Always someone who knows someone who knows someone on here 🤣🤣

It doesn't matter what we think all that matters is what is. Paddie Dow and Cam Rayner were both extended 3 years $2mil deals before playing a single practice match. Don't know what year they're at or if extended again but that put them on $666k for years 3-5.

Rayner would be lucky if gets extended again on $400- $450k. Dow would be lucky if his next contract is $150-$200k. I'm only assuming but imagine Graham and or his manager were told Hopper and Taranto are in Sonsies here your not progressing in the mid queue you're 3 steps back now. We overpaid you. You didn't deliver so your next contract justifiably will be SFA. He's hardly gonna go to Port saying I've been getting $600k so with cost of living increases I want $630k.

He was plan B in case Horne Francis fell over. Unluckily for us it went through cos now we've got a 1 dimensional plodder who amazingly for a bloke in his prime who plays near the action is rarely in top 10 best players. He's dined out on the 2017 GF and would be lucky if he's improved 10% overall on his small sample sized debut year.

Funnily enough everytime I bagged him as useless last year a dozen fanboys would defend him and get personal in their responses. Finally even the die hards have realised after 7 years he's borderline useless. Although someone will post some bullsh1t image of his average km's, repeat sprints.... etc. I still reckon in a 1 on 1 training drill I'd run him down and get away from him 8/10. I'll take pick 60 to move him on. About all he's worth now.

Hard not to laugh at this diatribe written right before Graham's good run of recent form about 6 weeks ago.

Jack Graham must have been dining out on the 2017 GF and failing to improve 10% overall when he finished runner-up Best & Fairest 2021.

Jack Graham 5 of last 6 games(v Brisbane taken out where the whole team had a shocker) averages:

19 disposals

4.8 tackles

2.0 goals + goal assists

2 clearances

Just 1.4 clangers

6.6 contested possessions

15 effective disposals

5.8 score involvements

3.2 intercepts

300m gained

These are all perfectly healthy numbers for his role. This is the approximate sort of production you would reasonably expect from him in the remaining 5 matches this season based on his material form. We don't have someone better that could come in and beat that.

He is playing well and you are carrying on like a drama queen about a problem that does not exist.

Hard not to laugh at this diatribe written right before Graham's good run of recent form about 6 weeks ago.

Jack Graham must have been dining out on the 2017 GF and failing to improve 10% overall when he finished runner-up Best & Fairest 2021.

Jack Graham 5 of last 6 games(v Brisbane taken out where the whole team had a shocker) averages:

19 disposals

4.8 tackles

2.0 goals + goal assists

2 clearances

Just 1.4 clangers

6.6 contested possessions

15 effective disposals

5.8 score involvements

3.2 intercepts

300m gained

These are all perfectly healthy numbers for his role. This is the approximate sort of production you would reasonably expect from him in the remaining 5 matches this season based on his material form. We don't have someone better that could come in and beat that.

He is playing well and you are carrying on like a drama queen about a problem that does not exist.
Don't let facts get in the way of a good lynching

He has also 8 games of under 15 disposals, and 7 above, so selective stats don't always tell the whole story.
On this occasion, yes he plays well against Brisbane and lately he is playing pretty well, but he has had some ordinary patches as well.

He was just doing the team thing as always. The ordinary patch was when we were tanking for Coulthard. :)

very very solid game by Jack, but as TigerImposter has mentioned about 400 times :D half our premiership boys are slow and getting slower and we MUST inject some promising speed, some on the edge of our best 22 will inevitably retire and one or two others may need to find new homes.
I thought Hopper and Tarranto into the club and a fit Dusty might squeeze JG out of the best 22. I thought Sonsie or Cumberland would be in the 22, Not so.
According to AFL tracker. JGTI actually topped the distance run. 15.5kms. He relegated KMac to bronze medal.
JGTI was actually 3rd fastest on the ground. 31.3km.

Importantly played a good game.

I could live without Kmac or JGTI but knowing RFC they will be with us again.

Of the 4 retirements only 2 are in the 22 and Dow, Biggie delisted. Mansell and Hugo probably go around again. Plus the class of 21, Gibcus, Sonsie, Bank, Clarke and Brown all look promising.

At least we are winning.

I thought Hopper and Tarranto into the club and a fit Dusty might squeeze JG out of the best 22. I thought Sonsie or Cumberland would be in the 22, Not so.
According to AFL tracker. JGTI actually topped the distance run. 15.5kms. He relegated KMac to bronze medal.

Of the 4 retirements only 2 are in the 22 and Dow, Biggie delisted. Mansell and Hugo probably go around again. Plus the class of 21, Gibcus, Sonsie, Bank, Clarke and Brown all look promising.

At least we are winning.

This!

When will posters stop calling him slow and a plodder? He is alot of things but slow isnt one of them. He is a rare beast athletically, just a very hot and cold player.

This!

When will posters stop calling him slow and a plodder? He is alot of things but slow isnt one of them. He is a rare beast athletically, just a very hot and cold player.
He is slowish off the mark, but he is a power runner when up and running and can run at high speed for a long time. Has he ever chased anyone down around a pack like for example Bolton does. His first 20m is average and he doesn't have much lateral movement but up and running he cover the ground very well.

Fair assessment, his top end speed is elite but doesn't hit top speed as fast as someone like Bolton, but who does? Very few can do that.

This!

TigerImposter my man you can disagree, but the facts dont lie. Your opinion however wrong it is, its still yours little buddy and you can have it ;)

At least we are winning.

Winning?

We are smashing the back out of it ttt. :)

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received