Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

Jack Ross was fourth in one of them, not top in every one of them.

I'm not saying Graham is faster than Balta, Rioli etc. but he's clearly faster than what we all thought.
I would say that pionts to him working harder than pretty much anyone else in the team which is no surprise.
Hard nut that runs from contest to contest. That his role and he does it pretty well.
Fast enough over a short distance I think but will never keep up with an actual fast player.

I’m sure I posted it in here last year but occasionally I love to go to a game and just watch a player, it gives you an incredible appreciation of what they do I used to just go and watch two oppo teams play and do it too where it’s a lot easier.
Andrew McLeod still the one who most blew me away and I remember the day I did it with Rance in 2015.. was incredible.
But I did it with Jack Graham almost by accident one day early last season or in 2018 can’t remember after a lot of his pre game warm up was in front of us.
Remember telling my mate I’m following Graham today and he reckoned I was mad.. he’s probably right.
But I’m so glad I did because what I saw was this bloke who seemed to be able to run hard to the next contest even though he looked cooked at the last one, much like a Robert Harvey.
But as the game went on the efforts became more and more epic, many didn’t involve touching the footy at all but perhaps a desperate effort to lay even a fraction of a shepherd to give us a split second, just get a hand full of jumper to pressure an opponents kick, almost blow himself up just to give us a 4 on 3 or a 5 on 3 even if he was completely done and almost useless by the time he got there and so on.
I had never seen anything like it and kept telling my mate, well by the end of the day he was on the watch more than I even and just blown away “would you look at this campaigner?? Did you see what he just did” He is his favorite player easily since that day.

I’m sure I posted it in here last year but occasionally I love to go to a game and just watch a player, it gives you an incredible appreciation of what they do I used to just go and watch two oppo teams play and do it too where it’s a lot easier.
Andrew McLeod still the one who most blew me away and I remember the day I did it with Rance in 2015.. was incredible.
But I did it with Jack Graham almost by accident one day early last season or in 2018 can’t remember after a lot of his pre game warm up was in front of us.
Remember telling my mate I’m following Graham today and he reckoned I was mad.. he’s probably right.
But I’m so glad I did because what I saw was this bloke who seemed to be able to run hard to the next contest even though he looked cooked at the last one, much like a Robert Harvey.
But as the game went on the efforts became more and more epic, many didn’t involve touching the footy at all but perhaps a desperate effort to lay even a fraction of a shepherd to give us a split second, just get a hand full of jumper to pressure an opponents kick, almost blow himself up just to give us a 4 on 3 or a 5 on 3 even if he was completely done and almost useless by the time he got there and so on.
I had never seen anything like it and kept telling my mate, well by the end of the day he was on the watch more than I even and just blown away “would you look at this campaigner?? Did you see what he just did” He is his favorite player easily since that day.
That’s awesome man! Finding a different way to have true appreciation of how good the players are.

I’m gonna try this when we are allowed back at the footy
Thanks

Lo
Would love to do it with aarts or castagna... both work their ass’s off Up and back the ground

That’s awesome man! Finding a different way to have true appreciation of how good the players are.

Thanks
It really is awesome to do.
The Rance one was an incredible day particularly behind him he was reading the play so far ahead of everyone it was incredible, it’s the day I realized just how good he really was.
I did it with Liam Baker once too and I’ll be honest I hadn’t really given him moments thought til then.
He’s one of the cleanest I’ve ever seen with his ball handling I had no idea.

The Rance one was an incredible day particularly behind him he was reading the play so far ahead of everyone it was incredible, it’s the day I realized just how good he really was.
I did it with Liam Baker once too snd I’ll be honest I hadn’t really given him moments thought til then.
Baker doesn’t fumble... and it’s hit the ball and contest 100 miles an hour

Thanks
Lo

Would love to do it with aarts or castagna... both work their ass’s off Up and back the ground
I did it with Liam Baker once too and I’ll be honest I hadn’t really given him moments thought til then.

A great player to watch off the ball is Dan Rioli puts in a ton of work

Ditto Lambert
I have had the good fortune of having a friend who is now a family member of Kane and he is a legit work horse
Even during the off season he lives at the gym never fails to try and improve himself

I have had the good fortune of having a friend who is now a family member of Kane and he is a legit work horse
Even during the off season he lives at the gym never fails to try and improve himself
Same 😁. My sister-in-law asked me to watch out in the draft for her friend because he might get drafted. Low and behold it was Kane and he was coming to us lol. Have been watching him ever since. Work horse is right he is everywhere during a game. He gets into position to be used in the possession chains whether they use him or not. There’s a reason he’s the one that usually gets tagged. So important for us imo

Great bloke as well
I’ve met him a couple of times at baby showers and engagement parties kinda thing and I’ve gone full Richmond nuff every time and he’s always been just a great down to earth guy even remembering my name and stuff

I honestly couldn’t speak more highly of him

Yeh..... that doesn't mean much without context of how that technology works.

Functional speed and agility or speed over distance Graham wouldnt be considered quick compared to others in the side even if it did capture him at a split second moment moving at high speed.
So the tech had the same opportunity to catch EVERY player for .03 of a second and JG happened to be the fastest. Soooooo that makes him the quickest Tiger this year. Which part of that don't you understand ? Lol

There's a huge difference between being fastest over 20 m and having the highest top speed. Plenty of guys with slow acceleration have high top speeds. Jack is fast when he gets going. What's the problem with that I wonder?

Graham is not fast but he runs at his high speed all game relentlessly.

I remember a game last year when he was following Sidebottom around and it was late in the game and the ball popped out to Graham's advantage and he took off like it was the first Q. Sidebottom, who is an elite endurance athlete himself just stood there going what the **** as he took off. Not to sure I have seen a player like him, absolute workhorse.

Richmond boost with Graham to stay a Tiger

Premiership midfielder Jack Graham has knocked back significant offers from several AFL clubs to remain a Tiger with the in-form midfielder set to sign a long-term deal with Richmond.

The 22-year-old was a star in Richmond's 2017 premiership, kicking three goals as he shut down Adelaide midfielder Rory Sloane in what was just his fifth game for the Tigers.

He then missed the 2019 grand final with a shoulder injury that he suffered in the preliminary final but remains a Tigers hero after playing out the preliminary final in obvious discomfort to help Richmond to a famous come-from-behind win over Geelong.

His decision on the eve of the finals is a huge boost to the Tigers as they look to win their third flag in four years.

Essendon, Carlton and Adelaide were interested in securing the South Australian who has now played 51 games with the Tigers, having proven a steal at pick No.53 in the 2016 national draft.

They saw him as bolstering their growing midfields as well as lending big-game experience to their young midfields, but loyalty and what could be as long as a four-year commitment from Richmond won the day.

View attachment 970518

He has been among Richmond's best regularly since the middle of the season, not only as a defensive tackling machine but also showing his growing ball-winning prowess as he comes out of the shadows of the Tigers' midfield stars.

His decision opens the way for several other inside midfielders to potentially change clubs with Gold Coast's Will Brodie believed to be in the Bombers' sights while the Suns are interested in dual premiership Tiger Nathan Broad.

The Tigers head into the qualifying final against the Brisbane Lions as warm favourites, having won seven of their past eight finals and two of the last three premierships.

They have not lost to the Lions since round seven 2009.

Have always thought Will Brodie will become a damn good player. If Broad is going to the suns maybe we could have Brodie as part of that deal.

What a great way to watch, and appreciate what a player does off the ball! Thanks for the recap, its something that gets missed given we all watch the contest and ball. :thumbsu:

What would be funny is if you had binoculours out, and you watch him even when he hits the bench.

Great bloke as well
I’ve met him a couple of times at baby showers and engagement parties kinda thing and I’ve gone full Richmond nuff every time and he’s always been just a great down to earth guy even remembering my name and stuff

I honestly couldn’t speak more highly of him

Awesome account mate.
Ive spoken to Jack. Jack Reiwoldt that is at the golf club during our respective rounds. It was 2016 and we were shit. I mentioned dont worry about this year, lets just win it (the flag) next year.
And we did.
So you can all thank me.

Have always thought Will Brodie will become a damn good player. If Broad is going to the suns maybe we could have Brodie as part of that deal.
On the Suns, Will Brodie and Peter Wright are not attracting suitors and might have to stay and work on their weaknesses.

I tried that once but it was bloody tough looking through one eye by the last quarter and falling off my seat.

I did the same with Joel Bowden one day as part of my level 1 coaching course about 20 years ago and was left with a similar feeling. For years Joel has been perceived as a bit of a seagull with just the odd intercept mark. But i watched him that night repeatedly fill the hole in front of Cam Mooney and Ben Graham (I think?), getting smashed in the contest time after time. His stats were pretty ordinary that night and we got done like a dinner, but he earned my eternal respect from then on. Just kept getting up and dusting himself off for the next Geelong inside 50. Unfortunately a few years later we had that game where he got about 18 uncontested marks and 200 SuperCoach points in a (successful) tactical ploy by Wallace, and forever got stigmatised as a cheap stats accumulator by oppo flogs.

Never bought into the cheap stats stuff some on here believe. He was smart so he did what had to be done but always thought he was a class footballer.

Was like that in U18's, Larke Medalist, would knock up getting the ball at that level. Just knows how to be involved, with or without the ball - it's why Dimma loves his application.

Did the same with Brett Deledio. U2 Tigers got us into the rooms for Terry's game address, and afters. Never have I seen a bigger show pony (Deledio, not U2 ;))

It motivated me a few games later to do what you did, but with regard Deledio. He was us against Goddard a lot of the day, and possession wise was an OK game, when you analysed the options and effect, Deledio was pretty ordinary actually, with Goddard having less possessions but a bigger impact on the game. It's really good thing to do, dedicate your efforts to one player every now and then - kind of gets you in their shoes and understand how much off the ball matters as on the ball.

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received