Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

Absolute trade bait get what we can from him imo he tried to leave last season. we don't need ppl at the club who aren't committed.
I do not rate Graham at all but players publicly touring other clubs is an interesting one. JG and Soldo visited other clubs. As did Dusty back in the day.
Dunkley tried to get to brizzy for a couple of years..
Lack of commitment? Or just AFL trade and list management business.

I live in NSW where the sports news has NRL players moving clubs mid season some times.

If Graham didn't want it the visit to the club to be public why not just have his manager do it or do a zoom call with a coach or 2..

After I've found the tracker running numbers on the AFL app. I think JG must be doing a Willie Rioli and putting in some other players GPS. Cos he Top 5 in a few of the running stats almost every game.

I do not rate Graham at all but players publicly touring other clubs is an interesting one. JG and Soldo visited other clubs. As did Dusty back in the day.
Dunkley tried to get to brizzy for a couple of years..
Lack of commitment? Or just AFL trade and list management business.

I live in NSW where the sports news has NRL players moving clubs mid season some times.

If Graham didn't want it the visit to the club to be public why not just have his manager do it or do a zoom call with a coach or 2..
what Jack Graham done was reasonably harmless in my opinion he was just dipping his injured big toe in the water and having a look around and also getting a free trip to see his parents and a couple of mates in SA

After I've found the tracker running numbers on the AFL app. I think JG must be doing a Willie Rioli and putting in some other players GPS. Cos he Top 5 in a few of the running stats almost every game.
Luke dahlhaus always used to cop the wrath of Geelong supporters as he had high milage running numbers as well, but little visible constructive output.
chris scott would often pump up his tyres too. then he got too slow and gonski.

Why does that surprise you, that is his no.1 asset. Graham doesn't play midfield because he has the turning circle of the Queen Mary, but he is a great straight line runner. He usually gets the ball, usually handball receive, at top speed and keeps running.

Jack loves leading to Graham because he is always running in a straight line and has a very straight kicking action. And that is what he does all game. When we play well Graham is a great linking player as he is always running past and linking play, very few can keep up with him. But if game is not played 'the Richmond way' then he is often unsighted because he is just chasing the ball that is already gone.

Why does that surprise you, that is his no.1 asset. Graham doesn't play midfield because he has the turning circle of the Queen Mary, but he is a great straight line runner. He usually gets the ball, usually handball receive, at top speed and keeps running.

Jack loves leading to Graham because he is always running in a straight line and has a very straight kicking action. And that is what he does all game. When we play well Graham is a great linking player as he is always running past and linking play, very few can keep up with him. But if game is not played 'the Richmond way' then he is often unsighted because he is just chasing the ball that is already gone.
reckon i've Jack Graham put the footy down Jack Reiwoldt's throat about 6 times in his whole career.

before the internet I'd notice fast running because it was visible in the form of players chasing or out running an opponent, A la Markov, Balta, Hugo But the distance tracker throws up suprises. Tall defenders like Broad and Gibcus run further than I'd thought. JGTI motors around further and quicker than it seemed to me. The other surprise is Richmond's team running numbers are always up there . Win, lose or draw. No lack of fitness just not playing that well. Winning games is great but the minus Not winning by by big enough margins.

When we play well Graham is a great linking player as he is always running past and linking play, very few can keep up with him. But if game is not played 'the Richmond way' then he is often unsighted because he is just chasing the ball that is already gone.
And that's the problem. We no longer have the players to play that game. Not all the time anyway. More like some of the time. Too many older guys on the decline with a revolving door of younger guys who aren't consistently at the level yet. Graham isn't the problem but his lack of pace around the ball means he doesn't really fit in when we don't have the ball.

And that's most of the time these days. He'd be more effective as a permanent sub who comes on when the pace has gone out of the game, or if it's a wet day. Otherwise...

looking at Ben Cunnington run around in the warm up with his kids it reminded me he has the same sort of gait, pace and body shape as our boy Jack Graham. both plod but Graham does more the defensive power running has a better top speed at full pace..... Cunningham is more your Plodder that attacks the ball pretty much the whole game and a very very good extractor

Not sure if you're praising Graham or potting him, lol.

Could be something to do with what I've had to drink tonight, but I digress...

Not sure if you're praising Graham or potting him, lol.

Could be something to do with what I a has to drink tonight, but I digress...
just for the record Cunnington had 24 nice touches and 2 goals. going out the door as a very solid contributor. different roles of course but that would be an excellent game in Jack Graham's book

Speed through the middle is a BIG issue. Bolton needs more time in there and Martin needs to be in there for majority of game time. That Hawthorn game was pretty damning. We got smashed by a bunch of kids from stoppages and centre bounces. They were getting there hands on the ball and just breaking away at will. Our mids (especially the recruited ones) are in and under extractors not outside carriers. We are being left for dead at stoppages. It’s a real issue

Not sure if Taranto is all that good at flicking it out for the run and spread. Maybe we don’t have the runners maybe it’s a bit of both.

Graham is a completely useless list clogger who couldn't get a kick in a street fight. Can some delusional flog please put up the useless stats that show he is an elite runner or even better the hilarious stats that "prove" we're a better team with him than without cos I need a good laugh to cheer me up from having watched the train wreck that's been our season since the bye.

standbyme-movie.gif

Graham is a completely useless list clogger who couldn't get a kick in a street fight. Can some delusional flog please put up the useless stats that show he is an elite runner or even better the hilarious stats that "prove" we're a better team with him than without cos I need a good laugh to cheer me up from having watched the train wreck that's been our season since the bye.

View attachment 1773490

Game high 7 tackles.

Shoulder Shrug Idk GIF by MOODMAN

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received