Player Watch #42 Robbie Fox - The Fantastic Mr Fox

Fox.jpg

Robbie Fox

Player Profile

Capable of playing as a defender, shifting forward or pinch-hitting in the ruck, Robbie Fox is a versatile option for Sydney Swans coach John Longmire. The Tasmanian is also one of the best endurance runners at the club and can take a strong contested grab. Sydney rookie-listed Fox in November 2016 and he’s since fought hard to become a regular member of the Swans’ best 22. He played 11 senior matches in 2019. Draft history: 2017 Rookie Draft selection (Sydney) No. 34.

Robbie Fox

DOB: 16 April 1993
DEBUT: 2017
DRAFT: 2016
RECRUITED FROM: Burnie Dockers (Tas)/Coburg Lions (VFL)

Last edited by a moderator:
And probably much more expensive & with greater exposure/pressure which we may not want.

Then save the money and don't have the role at all. I really do not get the hide away mentality. Harley, who I believe treats the job as another dot point on his CV, never rocks the boat.

I really like Pridham (and Colless before). They were pretty quiet but people and the industry listened when they spoke.

Pridham's support for a formal look-see at the AFL's performance and structure shook up the Commission more than the antics of McGuire or Kennett.

Much of the media's attention on AFL bureaucracy has been on who will replace Baron Gil. The terrific Gale has been seen as the pea but Harley is in the wings. I expect Harley chose Charley Corporate as a loyalist who may take over his job in due course.

Then save the money and don't have the role at all. I really do not get the hide away mentality. Harley, who I believe treats the job as another dot point on his CV, never rocks the boat.

I really like Pridham (and Colless before). They were pretty quiet but people and the industry listened when they spoke.

Pridham's support for a formal look-see at the AFL's performance and structure shook up the Commission more than the antics of McGuire or Kennett.

Much of the media's attention on AFL bureaucracy has been on who will replace Baron Gil. The terrific Gale has been seen as the pea but Harley is in the wings. I expect Harley chose Charley Corporate as a loyalist who may take over his job in due course.
Sounds like it could or could not be the case. Maybe we should come back to this post in 4 years time?

Wrong thread for it but perhaps the rumour that we are preparing for Cox to take over in a few years may also include Horse moving up to head of the football department and Gardner taking over from Harley.

Ireland took that course and it worked out fine. Swans have been good at succession planning over the years so I wouldn't get too bothered. Judge the individuals on their performance. Of course, it's difficult when most of it is invisible to us fans.
Looking at the rebuild strategy and the changes to the coaching team, I reckon Gardiner is going OK. Our team appears to be a happy bunch and everyone seems to be pulling in the same direction.
If another poster knows stuff contrary to this view please share the details with us.

The head of the Football Department position was first filled by Andrew Ireland who took up after leaving Brisbane until he became our CEO, then Dean Moore took up the role having worked at the AFL House since the '80s (having worked at the club for a period before that) before he left the football industry after his time in the role. From there Tom Harley took over until Ireland stood down as CEO and took up the position, which saw Gardiner took over.

Never has the position been filled by a former coach. This role is an administrative role as intended by the person who set the position up in the first place - Andrew Ireland.

Neil Balme by streets. But really I think the role is designed for wise experienced former coaches or assistant coaches, ie people with a lot of experience in Clubland. In our situation I think it important we have a FD head who is tough and wise enough to take on the CEO and hold senior Footy Dept staff to account when this is necessary. The role also requires some media management abilities inc crisis management.

People like Alan Richardson and even Vossy would have been great.

From my exposure to Gardiner, Harley and pridham the culture of the club is that everyone has their job to do. If they are no good then they get respectfully let go, eg Stevie J. There is not a lot of fighting or standing up. The goals are clearly articulated, win games and premierships, create a strong loyal supporter base. Do very good sponsorship and commercial deals, and create the infrastructure and framework for the future.
Longmire is a very experienced and forceful coach, who doesn’t need babying. Harley is a very competent and effective CEO who needs people around him who can help and add value. Gardiner fits in neatly as he is a capable person able to execute, and can look after the myriad of commercial and contractural aspects. All in all an effective team.

A footy club has a huge number of big egos. Gardiner is effective because he can manage those egos and get things done.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

From my exposure to Gardiner, Harley and pridham the culture of the club is that everyone has their job to do. If they are no good then they get respectfully let go, eg Stevie J. There is not a lot of fighting or standing up. The goals are clearly articulated, win games and premierships, create a strong loyal supporter base. Do very good sponsorship and commercial deals, and create the infrastructure and framework for the future.
Longmire is a very experienced and forceful coach, who doesn’t need babying. Harley is a very competent and effective CEO who needs people around him who can help and add value. Gardiner fits in neatly as he is a capable person able to execute, and can look after the myriad of commercial and contractural aspects. All in all an effective team.

A footy club has a huge number of big egos. Gardiner is effective because he can manage those egos and get things done.

Thanks mate, respect your opinion on this subject.

If that is what he is doing I am really mystified. I think all coaches need accountability. Experienced coaches set in their ways need challenge. Limp Charlie Corporate is not going to cut that mustard.

Well said Ralphyboy.

Why not? What evidence do you have for this belief?

What evidence do you have for any of the sh*t you spread on this forum?

FmWxnNO.png

This is true for 99.98% of people everywhere.

If that is what he is doing I am really mystified. I think all coaches need accountability. Experienced coaches set in their ways need challenge. Limp Charlie Corporate is not going to cut that mustard.
Why do you think he's "limp"? He's a boring speaker - so what? Should he start doing the coach's job? Nah.

B
The head of the Football Department position was first filled by Andrew Ireland who took up after leaving Brisbane until he became our CEO, then Dean Moore took up the role having worked at the AFL House since the '80s (having worked at the club for a period before that) before he left the football industry after his time in the role. From there Tom Harley took over until Ireland stood down as CEO and took up the position, which saw Gardiner took over.

Never has the position been filled by a former coach. This role is an administrative role as intended by the person who set the position up in the first place - Andrew Ireland.
Bang on. Swans have done it well for quite a while. Not the overlap in responsibilities we have seen in a few clubs in recent years.

What’s the shock he’s an ordinary footy player and close to 30 , won’t get any better. I wish him all the best. But he is average

I mean just a shame others duds like Clarke Reid and COR seem to remain on the list but making some progress at least chopping dead wood
He's less than a year older than Daniher and appears to be far more robust. Age is not an issue with Robbie.

I am really happy that Fox is going to remain at the club.

This season he was usually marking one of the best two opposition forwards and holding his own. He also combined well within the defensive unit and showed some nice attacking moves at times.

I feel he deserved to stay on the list due to his consistently good performances. There is no guarantee that our other fringe defenders will reach that level of performance.

I am really happy that Fox is going to remain at the club.

This season he was usually marking one of the best two opposition forwards and holding his own. He also combined well within the defensive unit and showed some nice attacking moves at times.

I feel he deserved to stay on the list due to his consistently good performances. There is no guarantee that our other fringe defenders will reach that level of performance.
Fair call. Even if he plays mainly in the ressies his leadership and the way he goes about things will be useful in developing the younger players.

Sorry mate, I do enjoy reading your posts more often than not, but I have to call this out. What you are saying is totally without foundation or basis of truth. It just seems very obvious that you simply don't like Harley and Gardiner simply because you just don't like them, without having any idea of what they actually do or even what their job description is.
I don't know them either, but what I see is a very well run club that is the envy of the competition, so unless you have something that these guys have actually done wrong then I suggest you leave it alone for a while.

You measure the success of club administration by what doesn't happen. We don't go bust. We manage our salary cap. We retain key players. We have stability in the management and coaching ranks. We do good trades and player development. My favourite metric is the Scandalometer: the well-run clubs don't make headlines. The badly-run clubs make news all the time.

How you would evaluate the performance of an individual staff member I really have no idea.

BUt I came here to congratlualte Robbie Fox in his 50th. A fringe player for a time who has become a fixture in our backline. Like a good club management his job is to be hardly be noticed. He doesn't make many mistakes, runs to the right places and works well with the rest of the back six. A valuable part of the team. Deserves recognition.

Player Watch #42 Robbie Fox - The Fantastic Mr Fox