Traded 44. Matt Owies

Best of luck to Owies.

Admire his work ethic. Has given 100% since he came to the club.

My kids (6 and 8) were upset to hear he was traded. They love "The Mattys". Owies, Kennedy, Cottrell. Always celebrated when one of the Mattys snagged a goal.

Hope you kill it at West Coast. Will be weird seeing you play in different colours

😢

Audio:

Owies told Wide World of Sports he was simply unlucky to be out of contract at the wrong time, express his thanks to the Blues for taking a risk on him as a category B rookie.

“It became clear I was out of contract at the wrong time. I’m sad to leave and really enjoyed my time at Carlton and loved playing in front of the supporter base.”

Thanks Owies for giving it your all and playing for the jumper with heart and passion. You could see your love for the club as you clutched the jumper logo outwards after kicking a goal many times. Unfortunate timing for you having to go despite playing at your peak and I wish you all the best at WC. 💙

I'm really sad to see him leave.

He did all the things you'd expect from a professional sportsperson. Trained hard, worked hard and learned the small forward/med forward caper really well.

Kicking 30 goals per season across two consecutive seasons - he will definitely be missed.

On top of that he was a very good club man and seems like a terrific team mate.

He always gave his best.

All the best Owies.

Hope there's no booing next year, this is a win-win for both Matt and the club and i respect him immensly for forging the career he has so far as an undersized medium forward without the traditional pathway into the AFL
Unfortunately, if you go to the WC board thread, it looks like most of the booing might be coming from their side.
Hopefully the unwarranted vitriol is restricted to these types of forums and doesn't spill to games and the training track at open sessions.

If you break the deals down, they basically got him for pick 63, but they refuse to separate him from the deal for pick 3.

All the best Matt. Will miss seeing you out there in Navy. People can talk about his limitations all they want, but he still played 41 games in a back to back top 8 side and showed no signs of being pushed out of the 23 next year if he'd stayed.

We've effectively reduced the pressure on Durdin and Motlop, who both need the pressure to perform IMO (not to mention lack of availability through injury) and while Moir looks very promising and I hope he gets plenty of games, he only has a couple games under his belt.

Big loss IMO. Wish him well.

Came on more than I expected and now appears to be cashing in. Good for him.

In my eyes, looks to be someone we can do without/cover... but the stats sheet he sure did kick a fair number of goals. Someone's gonna need to step up.
Between him, Kennedy and Martin, there's over 50 goals we need to make up next year.

I reckon we can cover Jack Martin's three goals fwiw

I admire players like Owies.

Improved every year, gave his all, made the most of his opportunities and loved being a blue.

He was an accurate set shot, scored in most games he played and found space in our forward line when most couldn’t.

I wasn’t sure why we didn’t offer him a new contract but he provided us with some ammunition to get pick 3 so was astute management by Austin.

I don’t think Matt would be offended if I said he had some obvious deficiencies and I think he will be covered easily by a match fit Moir, Kemp and Williams but I will miss him and hope he gets to play lots of games for WC and endears himself to the club/supporters.

I reckon we can cover Jack Martin's three goals fwiw
Fair. My inclusion of him was more about him being another best 23 forward, rather than the 3 goals he kicked this year (in only 3 games). He's been a goal a game player in his time with us (52 from 54 games).
That's more than Fog has averaged in any one given season.
Something Fantasia hasn't done since 2021.
Something Durds has only managed once, last year, in 11 games.
Something that Mots has basically done every season so far, but he needs to stay out on the park.
Williams might be able to cover the gap if he plays forward permanently next year and can put a full season together.

The potential is there to cover it, but we need guys to realise that potential, while remaining healthy.

watched a few highlights vids, and there's plenty of bits where owies and kennedy combine. aww shucks.

keep up the good work that lead to your new 3 year contract despite maybe looking like a DFA. you also know this going by his comments he understands the footy business and given his position on the fringe, coming in as a rookie, will never take anything for granted. good luck!

Traded 44. Matt Owies