Player Watch #7 Rhyan Mansell - Re-Signed Until 2026

Yes I have some information. When you have played footy for 5 minutes and start spraying a bloke going on 300 games, also one of the nice guys of footy with 3 premiership medals hanging in the pool room, and both he and Mansell are indigenous, so that brotherhood thing is happening, you deserve what you get. Take it and play footy, especially when Rioli gives you a football lesson. Ginnaven had 5 possessions, 2 clangers, 0 tackles and 1 x 1%er. That is dropping material.
Maybe next time we play them all the Indigenous lads (Edwards, Mansell, Pickett, Bolton, Rioli x2) can sandwich him. Throw in Stack and Parker too if they're playing.

Conversely, Nank could just flatten him into next week.

As to why he would mouth off to Edwards, I have nfi. Edwards seems to be one of the nicest, humblest guys going around.

Yes I have some information. When you have played footy for 5 minutes and start spraying a bloke going on 300 games, also one of the nice guys of footy with 3 premiership medals hanging in the pool room, and both he and Mansell are indigenous, so that brotherhood thing is happening, you deserve what you get. Take it and play footy, especially when Rioli gives you a football lesson. Ginnaven had 5 possessions, 2 clangers, 0 tackles and 1 x 1%er. That is dropping material.
You're forgetting the three goals he kicked

As to why he would mouth off to Edwards, I have nfi. Edwards seems to be one of the nicest, humblest guys going around.
He's obviously one of those loose cannon types that just shoots his mouth off at anyone. No logic or reason for the shite coming out of his mouth, just mentally unstable. Would probably give a seagull a barrage if there was no one around.

I could hav kicked two of them. Mansell's was well Mansell's, he did bend over and pick up a ball when Mac coat hangered him, can't remember his first, maybe he earned it.
His one goal from play was a rudimentary chest mark that he converted from 30 in front. He's just another Cody Wankman professional free-kick milker. Admittedly, Kmac genuinely clotheslined him, that was fair enough.

Was going to say I could have kicked all three. Mind you these days on the big stage, slippery ball, I may not have made the distance.

Maybe next time we play them all the Indigenous lads (Edwards, Mansell, Pickett, Bolton, Rioli x2) can sandwich him. Throw in Stack and Parker too if they're playing.

Conversely, Nank could just flatten him into next week.

Edwards was talking to the umpire saying Ginnivan raises his shoulder and ducks to draw free kicks and Ginnivan was right next to him lol

Another rule that was brought in that could be adjudicated a hell of a lot better. I guess Shedda was highlighting that.... I think it was the first. Couldn't have been the second when Macca spun him for a full sault nearly.

Yeah he isn’t going to be a beat 22 footballer. But he’s gone well up in my book.

Loved the elbow on that little shit gingivitises.
Actually it was really dumb. It's not 1980 anymore. These days your asking for that to be a free kick against or a 50m against, especially against us...

We'd be rightly livid and so would the coaching staff if that gave up a goal in a close game.

Thats exactly what happened and i firmly believe the coat hanger by forest was also intentianal
The Richmond players were always going to smash him at any opportunity. Lucky for him it was not Pickett

Flogs like ginnivan, ko-dee wait man (admits to doing it), flopiver stage week in week out with no repurcussions from fans or media. ko-dee even admitted to doing it in the media but there was barely a friggin peep from anyone in the media.

Rance did it and the world nearly ended - how does rance get crucified but flogman is accepted for staging?

Exhibit A - AFL tightens up rules after Rance gets fined for staging - wasn't an issue until Rance did it.

Exhibit B - Lloyd says Rance should be embarassed

The umpires fall for these flogs antics every week, so I don't know who's worse, the players for doing it or the umpires being dumb enough to swallow the hook line and sinker.

I for one salute Mansell for getting one, no two on that grub.

Looks like they're going to trial Mansell as a small forward in the VFL this week. Not a bad idea considering he's struggling to break into our stacked backline.

He'll no doubt be a tackling machine up forward, but can he offer us enough offensively? I'm not sure.

Looks like they're going to trial Mansell as a small forward in the VFL this week. Not a bad idea considering he's struggling to break into our stacked backline.

He'll no doubt be a tackling machine up forward, but can he offer us enough offensively? I'm not sure.
Has he played as a forward at all? As in before we drafted him when he was playing down in Tassie?

Worth a shot to get him into the 22. He's good enough.

Dunno why they don't try him as a tagger and defensive mid

He's obviously one of those loose cannon types that just shoots his mouth off at anyone. No logic or reason for the shite coming out of his mouth, just mentally unstable. Would probably give a seagull a barrage if there was no one around.
ahhhh.. he took one for the team. Love the way he goes about it. will be back in the side soon.

Has he played as a forward at all? As in before we drafted him when he was playing down in Tassie?
10:30am Sunday 7 July 2019 – Twin Ovals, Kingston

This match will be streamed live via the NAB League Official App with updated statistics. A live stream will also be available on YouTube.

Tasmania Devils Selected side:

B:
58. Zach Adams (Tigers FC), 38. Oscar Shaw (Lauderdale), 21. Lachlan Gadomski (Tigers FC)

HB: 22. Nic Baker (Lauderdale), 7. Matt McGuinness (Lauderdale), 13. Sam Collins (North Hobart)

C: 14. Ben Simpson (North Launceston), 3. Oliver Davis (Clarence), 17. Patrick Walker (North Hobart)

HF: 12. Isaac Chugg (Launceston), 9. Joseph Chaplin (Launceston), 4. Will Peppin (North Hobart)

F: 20. Will Harper (Launceston), 25. Jackson Callow (North Launceston), 27. Rhyan Mansell (North Launceston)

FOLL:
23. Harrison Ireland (North Hobart) 2. Oliver Burrows-Cheng (Tigers), 35. Liam Viney (Penguin)

Rhyan Mansell (14 disposals, eight marks, two tackles)

"Moved up forward and I thought he played his role really well. He probably should have ended up with two goals which would have been a good return, but it was a really good start and we certainly saw his trademark fight up forward.”

That sounds good for his first game in the new role. 8 marks seems a lot for a defensive forward. Looking forward to what he can do when he gets his chance in this role in the AFL. Good move by the club this I think.

Rhyan Mansell (14 disposals, eight marks, two tackles)

"Moved up forward and I thought he played his role really well. He probably should have ended up with two goals which would have been a good return, but it was a really good start and we certainly saw his trademark fight up forward.”

That sounds good for his first game in the new role. 8 marks seems a lot for a defensive forward. Looking forward to what he can do when he gets his chance in this role in the AFL. Good move by the club this I think.
8 marks... hes potentially playing castagnas role.

I've never understood any wraps on this kid. 2021 when he played 13 games on the trot I was perplexed how he held his spot as I didn't rate him. Our kids have some genuine talent and excitement about them and we need to get games into them. I'm generally not a big believer in dropping a kid after one game but I'd drop him 100%. Barring massive injuries or 5 bog's on the trot in the Magoo's I'd put a pencil through his name for senior selection. Our forward line was the envy of the comp last year. Thursday it was completely dysfunctional and Mansell added nothing whatsoever. Cumberland, Judson, Banks and Sonsie are the future stars of our club we need to get them to 50 games and watch them blossom. Playing Mansell ahead of them achieves nothing but detracts heaps. Aarts and Castagna were 10x better forwards than Mansell and they were universally acknowledged as 🥔🥔's. Did fu@k all in preseason too so if Cumberland is being held back for some unknown bullsh1t reason move on. Experiment failed. I personally think Mansell is lucky to still be on the list and not sure if I'd have in in our best 35 players.

Last year the forward line formed part of an unacceptably leaky team defence. We are not winning shit playing like that. If you want forwards to supply pressure as a priority, then you might want to reward players who have that intent first so that other more dangerous players might follow. Even if Mansell achieved that much for us he will have served a useful purpose that could help the club win one or more Premierships. But to write off a 22yo 3rd year player - who must be doing something right or he wouldn't be in the team - you are jumping way ahead of the gun. If Mansell doesn't work out on the forward line then at worst he would be useful backline depth.

Of our Premiership players, several were on the list as long or longer than Mansell without nailing down a spot, or even necessarily looking like they were up to making it.

Butler, Short, Castagna, Soldo, Townsend, Bolton, Balta, Edwards and others. Give the guy a decent chance to fail at least.

Player Watch #7 Rhyan Mansell - Re-Signed Until 2026