Player Watch #7: Zane Duursma - out for 2024, undergoing shoulder surgery

There' not much of him and yes he does have to put on some weight but I don't think he's going to be that Charlie Dixon type but who knows, with his agility and aerial ability to move around anything's possible. Either way he is another important piece of the puzzle and another lad who's going to be a ripper. He reminds me of Darryl Sutton, Tassie boy, geez he was a good player, six years ago he passed away, 65 I think he was, good grief, seems like only the other day I was watching him shift between fullback and full forward, great mark, could play either end at the top level and was a very good kick. If you could merge 2 players together that really remind me of the player young Zane is like, its Darryl Sutton and Bayley Fritsch, I do feel at times Fritsch is very underrated and if given a chance he will make you pay, big time, both great kicks for goal.

Fritsch also only weighed 80kg when he was drafted, and he played a full debut season. Though he is a couple CM shorter I guess. In any case, its hard for me to imagine that Duursma's going to spend most of 2024 in the VFL, his size notwithstanding.

He was 21 when he got drafted wasn’t he?

For now I'm more interested in his 2km time than his bench press. Especially when you look at Stephenson and Taylor as his slender competition for a spot. As long as he isn't first-year Bergman skinny, and can survive a game, he has enough tricks to contribute while getting pushed around.

Long term, I'm very curious at what his playing weight ends up as. I find these things close to impossible to gauge without seeing them in-person, but if he has the genetics to play at 90+kg, then it would massively increase his potential.

That's the thing isn't it, fine tune his craft in the reserves and see how he goes or because of his class, aerial ability, deadly shot for goal and be a marking threat in the forward 50, play him first game. Remembering Nick Larkey spent an awful amount of time in the reserves fine tuning his game, when a lot of people were saying "promote him" because of the goals he was kicking, it didn't do him any harm. My guess is that he will start in the reserves and they will go the same way with Zane as they did with Nick, they won't rush him, as proven this year we don't need him, yet.

I don’t think he needs to put on much size at all. I’m not sure it suits his strengths, body comp and his game style. Similar to Jayden Stephenson, Will HE and Lachie Whitfield. Nimble, quick and evasive.

That's the thing isn't it, fine tune his craft in the reserves and see how he goes or because of his class, aerial ability, deadly shot for goal and be a marking threat in the forward 50, play him first game. Remembering Nick Larkey spent an awful amount of time in the reserves fine tuning his game, when a lot of people were saying "promote him" because of the goals he was kicking, it didn't do him any harm. My guess is that he will start in the reserves and they will go the same way with Zane as they did with Nick, they won't rush him, as proven this year we don't need him, yet.
For a pick 4 compared to pick 73 I think he'll be given a chance round 1 depending on his pre season games form. If he looks the goods then he plays round 1. That goes for all the draftees.

Nick spent an awful lot of time in the VFL because Brad Scotts didn't rate him, the benefit was he was able to fine tune his game but the reality is he could have made his debut a lot earlier than he did.

I did lol when some people suggested he would be a CHF

He’ll be a third tall at most, more likely medium half forward
Do these category roles even exist in this strict sense anymore? CHF in particular is about being a linking player that works up the ground and uses elite marking to provide options. Dogs played Murphy who is thinner than Crocker's hair coverage to reasonable effect.

From the bits of footage I have seen of Zane he might become our Jack Gunston , Luke Bruest type . So if he gets anywhere near their output we have fixed another area.

Do these category roles even exist in this strict sense anymore? CHF in particular is about being a linking player that works up the ground and uses elite marking to provide options. Dogs played Murphy who is thinner than Crocker's hair coverage to reasonable effect.
No one kicks it long to CHF anymore, because if it gets turned over you are exposed to a quick counter. You need an aerial presence on the wings more for the dump kicks out of defence. That's where you need your ruck and the 2nd tall to do some work.

Nick spent an awful lot of time in the VFL because Brad Scotts didn't rate him, the benefit was he was able to fine tune his game but the reality is he could have made his debut a lot earlier than he did.
Totally disagree Scott did the exact right thig and that is why he is the player he is now. and Nick 100% agrees on this point.

Year 1 and 2 sure. Year 3, he shouldn't have had to wait until round 6. He tired Campbell as a forward for 2 failed games before Larkey.

No one kicks it long to CHF anymore, because if it gets turned over you are exposed to a quick counter. You need an aerial presence on the wings more for the dump kicks out of defence. That's where you need your ruck and the 2nd tall to do some work.
Agree. It stopped because teams got so good at double and triple teaming via zones, arguably a response to that Carey prototype that could break you open. Now that role is only useful when you break a team elsewhere and the player at CHF ends up one out, arguably a role that faster more mobile types with good aerial presence can operate. I can see a real value in players like Duursma in the next 5 years of the game.

Yep, this retroactive Brad bashing is getting silly now. Larkey had one of the worst debuts of all time, didn’t get a touch but Brad waxed lyrical about how important he was structurally. Larkey simply wasn’t ready to be played earlier as his confidence would’ve taken a battering. Instead he got to win the Frosty Miller medal and develop his craft to help become the dominant player he is now.
Brad’s biggest strength (which became a double edged sword at times) was backing in his players to a fault.
Yes he was a snake oil salesman and left the club in a bad place but it’s now made out like he’s the most responsible for being the worst team in AFL history when he wasn’t even here for it.

Anyway it’s wonderful to think of the natural improvement Larkey is going to have by just being in a competent team. Hopefully that starts next year.

I reckon it will depend on how good he is. If he is outplaying Stevo or Ford then he should be in the side round 1. But if he's not ready then don't play him and let him develop.

A midfielder?
No I’m thinking someone with size and bulk which he doesn’t have and likely won’t

But others stupidly thought he could be
Rest your little head Nostra.

Big game Zane this year.. Your boi Caddyshack Cadman next year.

Walter White Wink GIF by Breaking Bad

Year 1 and 2 sure. Year 3, he shouldn't have had to wait until round 6. He tired Campbell as a forward for 2 failed games before Larkey.

When you have players (some high quality ones at that) asking why he's not getting a crack it is more than just he's not ready.

Also both things can be true.

Playing in the VFL can have helped Larkey in the long run.
Brad should have transitioned him into the AFL earlier than he did.

not everything is bashing Brad Scott.

As much as he backed his players to a fault, he also overlooked VFL form consistently.

He is a really nice size. Wide shoulders on him. Just looks like one of those people that has the frame that will hold the weight.
Was chatting to someone in front of me today and had to do a double take, didnt expect that frame.

This kid was built like Duursma, with quite a similar athletic profile and game style.

1574498047869_GD92GVD4I.1-0.jpg

and then he wasn't.....

Talking about lack of bulk as a 18 year is ridiculous.

c6ongf24e3a91.jpg

Player Watch #7: Zane Duursma - out for 2024, undergoing shoulder surgery